Skip to main content
ZoomShift logo
Ops EfficiencyFounded 2009 · 17 yrs

ZoomShift

A work schedule maker and time clock app designed for hourly employees.

By ZoomShift · 4.3/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Restaurants, retail shops and hospitality teams scheduling hourly staff
  • Small businesses moving off Excel, Google Sheets or paper schedules
  • Multi-location operators who need one schedule and timesheet per site
  • Managers who want scheduling, PTO, shift swaps and payroll exports in one tool
  • Teams that want a genuinely free tier for up to 20 active team members

Ideal size: 5–200 hourly employees people · Small to mid-size operator; first scheduling tool or spreadsheet replacement

Not for

  • Salaried, project-based teams with no shift structure
  • Enterprises needing deep HRIS, ERP or custom SSO integrations
  • Organizations that must see published SOC 2 or ISO 27001 attestations
  • Complex workforces with union rules, skills-based routing or advanced demand forecasting
  • Buyers wanting AI-driven forecasting or agentic scheduling out of the box

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

1–3 days (self-serve trial)

~3 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$2,400/yr

Starts at $0 · Per active team member per month, billed monthly or annually (annual is discounted). Free Essentials tier for up to 20 users; Starter $2–$2.50 and Premium $4–$5 per member/month.

Implementation Friction

1/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.3

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Essentials is free up to 20 active members; Starter and Premium are billed per active team member spot with unlimited users and locations.

Add-on costs

  • None

Company & support

Who is behind ZoomShift, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2009 · 17 yrs in business
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatPlan not stated
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Support centre provides self-serve help guides plus a contact channel; Premium adds priority support, personalised onboarding and manager/supervisor training calls.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where ZoomShift sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$990/yr$2k/yr$3k/yr$5k/yr0d3d5d10d15dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyZoomShiftWhen I WorkHomebaseOnPaySlingPlanday

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

ZoomShift is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • ZoomShift
  • When I Work
  • Homebase
  • OnPay
  • Sling
  • Planday
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including ZoomShift. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What ZoomShift ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

We haven’t recorded AI capabilities for ZoomShift yet. Nothing here means unverified — not absent.

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

ZoomShift is a self-serve employee scheduling and time-clock app for hourly-workforce businesses such as restaurants, retail shops, clinics and hospitality operators. Plans start free for up to 20 active team members, with paid tiers at $2–$4 per active member per month on annual billing. Core features cover drag-and-drop schedules, templates, availability, PTO tracking, shift swaps, GPS time clock and payroll exports. It is light on enterprise compliance documentation and deep integrations, so it best fits small and mid-size operators replacing spreadsheets.

Frequently asked questions

What does ZoomShift actually cost for a 50-person hourly team?

ZoomShift publishes per-active-team-member pricing: Essentials is free up to 20 users, Starter is about $2 per member per month on annual billing ($2.50 monthly) and Premium is about $4 annually ($5 monthly). Fifty active members on Premium therefore runs roughly $2,400 per year, while Starter would be about $1,200. Managers and employees both count as active members, and you can add or reduce spots at any time with prorated billing.

How long does it take to get a team live?

It is a self-serve product: a 14-day free trial needs no credit card, schedules are built with drag-and-drop templates, and the vendor positions it as a replacement for Excel and Google Sheets. Most teams can publish a first working schedule within days. Paid plans include migrating assistance and onboarding, and Premium adds personalised onboarding plus manager training calls if you want help.

Does ZoomShift integrate with our payroll, HR or calendar systems?

The public integrations page was not available at the time of review (it returns a 404), so integration depth could not be verified from vendor sources. What is documented is functionality rather than connectors: timesheets can be exported via customisable payroll reports, and paid plans include calendar app sync. Buyers should confirm their specific payroll provider and HRIS integrations directly with the vendor before committing.

Is ZoomShift secure and compliant enough for a regulated business?

No vendor security, trust or compliance page was available in the supplied sources, and no SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA or FedRAMP claim could be verified. The product does provide operational controls such as role permissions, IP whitelisting and geofenced clock-ins. Organisations in healthcare, finance or public sector work should request the vendor's current security documentation and data processing terms before adopting.

Which AI features are included?

No substantive AI capability is evidenced in the material reviewed. The site mentions 'AI powered capabilities' in applicant tracking, but gives no detail on model, data handling or governance, and no other AI feature is described. Assume AI is not a reason to buy ZoomShift today; ask the vendor for specifics if hiring automation matters to you.

Can we pause or cancel if our headcount is seasonal?

Yes. ZoomShift states there are no long-term commitments or cancellation fees, and that subscriptions can be upgraded, downgraded or cancelled at any time. It also allows pausing a subscription for months when the tool is not needed and reactivating later with data intact, which suits seasonal retail, hospitality and events businesses.