Skip to main content
Afi.ai logo
Risk & ComplianceEstablished · 5 yrs on market

Afi

Backup and recovery for Microsoft 365, Google Workspace, Azure, AWS and Kubernetes

By Afi.ai · HQ Coral Springs, US · 4.5/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Mid-market and enterprise IT teams protecting Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace data
  • Organizations needing Teams, SharePoint, OneNote and Power Platform coverage many backup tools skip
  • Regulated buyers that must choose backup data residency in the US, EU, UK, Canada or Australia
  • Admins who want full-text search, instant preview and end-user self-service restore
  • Teams consolidating SaaS and cloud-infrastructure backup (Azure, AWS, Kubernetes) in one portal

Ideal size: 50-5,000 people · Scale-up to enterprise with compliance or long-term retention needs

Not for

  • Consumers or very small teams with no retention or compliance requirement
  • Buyers who need transparent list pricing and instant self-serve checkout at large scale
  • Organizations required to keep backup infrastructure on-premises in their own data centre
  • Pure database or data-warehouse shops with no SaaS application footprint

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

1-3 days (self-serve trial)

~2 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$18,000/yr

Starts at $180 · Per protected user account, monthly or annual; from about $3 per user/month with a 5-user minimum; no forced multi-year renewals

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.5

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

5-user self-serve minimum; custom quotes above 500 users

Add-on costs

  • Data Platform tier for AWS, Azure and Kubernetes workloads is quoted separately from SaaS Backup
  • SharePoint- or Shared-Drive-heavy protection requires a custom pricing plan

Company & support

Who is behind Afi, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Coral Springs, US

How you get support

  • PhonePlan not stated
  • EmailAll plans
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsAll plans
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
24/7
Response time
Not stated

Pricing page lists 24/7 email support, a support ticketing system and emergency admin phone support; the site also offers a support ticket portal and product documentation. No tier gating or SLA response time is published.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Afi sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$2k/yr$5k/yr$9k/yr$13k/yr$20k/yr0d1d2d3dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyAfiDNSFilterOysterTwingateNordLayerCrashPlan

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

Afi is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Afi
  • DNSFilter
  • Oyster
  • Twingate
  • NordLayer
  • CrashPlan
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Afi. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNative
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNative
Microsoft 365Native
SAPNot supported
SlackIntegration

AI & MCP readiness

What Afi ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

Anomaly detectionPredictive analyticsNLP automationAI governance tooling

Pricing page lists AI-based ransomware detection with pre-emptive backups, an AI monitoring and failure-prediction engine, AI data governance and reporting, and a natural-language interface. No model-provider, key-handling or AI audit detail is published.

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 ISO 27001 — not heldGDPR HIPAA FedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Afi is a cloud-native data protection service for SaaS and cloud infrastructure, backing up Microsoft 365, Google Workspace, Azure, AWS and Kubernetes. It stands out for full-text search, instant preview and export, Teams and SharePoint coverage, automated archiving of deleted users, immutable ransomware-resistant backups and selectable storage regions. Deployment is fully hosted and self-serve, priced per protected user from about $3 per user per month with a 5-user minimum.

Frequently asked questions

How is Afi priced?

Afi licenses per protected user account. Self-serve SaaS Backup starts at about $3 per user per month with a 5-user minimum, billed monthly or annually, and you only license users you actually protect. Data Platform workloads (AWS, Azure, Kubernetes) and SharePoint-heavy deployments are custom-quoted; volume discounts apply above 500 users, and subscriptions are cancellable with no forced multi-year renewal.

Which workloads can Afi protect?

Microsoft 365 (Exchange, OneDrive, SharePoint, Teams, Planner, OneNote, Calendars, Contacts, Entra ID, Power Platform, Power BI, Copilot) and Google Workspace (Gmail, Drive, Shared Drives, Calendar, Contacts, Chats, Google Sites, Classroom), plus cloud infrastructure: Azure VMs and databases, AWS EC2 and RDS/Aurora PostgreSQL, and Kubernetes across Azure, AWS, GCP and on-premises clusters.

How long does implementation take?

Afi is deployed as a hosted application in Google Cloud with no on-premises components, and the vendor promotes a one-minute trial start. Customers describe setup as easy and fast, so most teams reach first production backup within days; backup frequency, retention and roles are configured from a single management portal for all workloads.

Does Afi satisfy security and compliance reviews?

Afi is SOC 2 Type II audited (report under NDA, SOC 3 report public), states GDPR and HIPAA compliance and will sign a BAA. It is in the CSA STAR registry, holds NHS DSPT and Cyber Essentials certifications, follows the EU-US Data Privacy Framework and PIPEDA/PHIPA, and encrypts data with AES-256 at rest and TLS 1.3 in transit, with customer-managed keys via Google, AWS or Azure KMS.

Where is our backup data stored?

You select the storage region at sign-up: US (Iowa), Canada (Montreal), UK (London), Netherlands, Germany, Switzerland and Australia, with multi-region storage and replication on the Data Platform tier. Retention can be unlimited, and deleted Microsoft 365 or Google Workspace accounts move to an archived state that is retained indefinitely without an extra licence.