Clearbrief
AI-assisted legal drafting in Word that backs every claim with clickable, verifiable citations.
By Clearbrief · HQ Seattle, US · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Litigation teams that must cite-check briefs, exhibits and fact sections against the underlying record before filing.
- AmLaw, boutique and solo firms handling document-heavy trials, appeals and investigations in Microsoft Word.
- In-house legal teams and courts that need verifiable, hyperlinked citations and tables of authorities.
- Practice groups that want faster timelines, fact sections and investigation reports without leaving Word.
Ideal size: 1–200 legal professionals people · Firm or legal department with an active Word-based brief-writing workflow
Not for
- Teams looking for a full e-discovery, document review or matter-management platform.
- Non-legal teams that do not draft briefs or cite source records.
- Buyers who need the tool to run outside Microsoft Word.
- Organisations that require FedRAMP or CMMC authorisation today, which is not evidenced by the vendor.
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
2–4 weeks
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$36,000/yr
Starts at $3,600 · Per user, per month: Solo $300/user/month; Enterprise Unlimited is custom-priced with volume discounts.
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Solo is priced per user; Enterprise Unlimited custom with volume discounts. No published minimum seat count.
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind Clearbrief, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Seattle, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Customer experience team reachable at [email protected]; user guides and legal AI resources are published on the site. Enterprise Unlimited includes the vendor's 1:1 training.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Clearbrief sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Clearbrief
- Paxton
- Eudia
- CosmoLex
- Filevine
- Rocket Matter
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Clearbrief. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Clearbrief ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Clearbrief describes AI fact-checking of citations, AI-generated investigation reports, fact extraction from large document sets, timelines, tables of authorities and exhibit hyperlinking, plus a LexisNexis link that flags hallucinated case citations. The vendor says customers control whether generative AI is used. No model provider, bundling or BYOK option is named on the pages reviewed.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Never trains on your data
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Included in the plan
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Clearbrief is a legal AI add-in for Microsoft Word that links every factual and case citation in a brief to its source, so litigators can verify claims before filing. It also generates timelines, tables of authorities, exhibits and investigation reports from large document sets. Used by AmLaw firms, in-house legal teams, courts and arbitrators. Solo costs $300 per user per month; Enterprise Unlimited is custom-priced. The vendor states SOC 2 Type 2 controls and that customer data is never used to train LLMs.
Frequently asked questions
What problem does Clearbrief solve for a legal team?
It embeds in Microsoft Word and hyperlinks every factual and case citation in a draft to the source document or record, so reviewers can verify each claim before filing instead of trusting AI-generated text. It also builds timelines, tables of authorities, exhibits, fact sections and AI-generated investigation reports from large document sets.
How is Clearbrief priced?
The Solo plan is $300 per user per month. Enterprise Unlimited is custom-priced with volume discounts and includes the vendor's 1:1 training. Multi-year agreements can reduce Solo pricing; the vendor asks buyers to email [email protected].
Will our client documents be used to train AI models?
The vendor states on its site that "Your data is never used for training large language models" and offers Bring Your Own Storage so documents can stay in the customer's own cloud. It also says customers control if and how generative AI is used.
What does Clearbrief integrate with?
Clearbrief runs inside Microsoft Word and is installed from the Microsoft Store. The vendor says it works with the tools teams already use and highlights a LexisNexis link that flags potentially hallucinated case citations. No public API or MCP server is documented on the pages reviewed.
How long does implementation take and what does it cost?
Clearbrief is self-serve: teams download the Word add-in and run it on live matters, with no published implementation fee. Enterprise Unlimited includes the vendor's 1:1 training to upskill the team on responsible AI use.
How secure is Clearbrief for confidential client material?
The vendor states on its site that it is SOC 2 Type 2 certified with data hygiene controls and enterprise-grade confidentiality, and cites adoption by AmLaw firms, in-house legal teams, courts and the American Arbitration Association. Public FedRAMP or CMMC authorisation is not stated.