Skip to main content
Contrast Security logo
Risk & ComplianceEstablished · 10 yrs on market

Contrast Security

Runtime application security that sees what AI-generated code actually does and blocks live attacks from inside running applications.

By Contrast Security · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Security and engineering teams that need runtime detection and blocking of live attacks inside production applications
  • Enterprises with large Java estates trying to cut CVE triage workload and scanner false positives
  • Organisations consolidating application security testing and detection-and-response on one platform
  • DevSecOps teams that want findings delivered into IDEs, CI/CD, Jira and Slack

Ideal size: 50–5,000 developers people · Enterprise or scale-up with a dedicated AppSec or DevSecOps function

Not for

  • Teams whose main need is scheduled static analysis or pre-deployment source review only
  • Estates dominated by .NET, Python or non-Linux runtimes today, because CVE Shield launches on Java
  • Buyers needing published, self-serve enterprise pricing
  • Small teams that need production blocking straight away, since blocking starts on the paid Pro tier

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

1–2 weeks

~14 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$9,000/yr

Starts at $0 · Free tier $0; Pro $750/month billed annually ($9,000/yr); Enterprise annual consumption pricing by production host, custom quote.

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.0

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Free: 1 user; Pro: up to 5 users; Enterprise: unlimited users. Plans are also metered by services.

Add-on costs

  • None

Company & support

Who is behind Contrast Security, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhoneEnterprise only
  • EmailPaid plans
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumAll plans
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
24/7
Response time
Not stated

Site states 'Global 24/7 support'; the plan is not named. Pricing lists community support on Free, email support on Pro, and standard support with SLA guarantees on Enterprise.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Contrast Security sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$3/yr$33/yr$1k/yr$62k/yr0d3d10d19d37dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyContrast SecuritySemgrepGitGuardianComplyAdvantageFlagrightTaktile

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

Contrast Security is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Contrast Security
  • Semgrep
  • GitGuardian
  • ComplyAdvantage
  • Flagright
  • Taktile
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Contrast Security. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSIntegration
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackIntegration

AI & MCP readiness

What Contrast Security ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

We haven’t recorded AI capabilities for Contrast Security yet. Nothing here means unverified — not absent.

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not heldISO 27001 — not heldGDPR — not heldHIPAA — not heldFedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Contrast Security sells runtime application security: in-app sensors that watch execution, map reachable vulnerabilities and block live attacks, paired with application security testing. It positions itself for the AI-coding era, where AI-generated code ships fast and AI-launched attacks probe it. Buyers get a free CVE Shield tier for two applications, a $9,000-per-year Pro tier with production blocking, and enterprise pricing with SLA, RBAC, SAML SSO and compliance reporting. Strongest proven fit is financial services.

Frequently asked questions

What does Contrast Security do?

Contrast Security is an application and API security platform. Its runtime sensors instrument applications from the inside, observing real execution to show which vulnerabilities are reachable and under active attack, and it can block exploitation at runtime. It also provides application security testing. The vendor says this removes scanner noise and lets teams fix only verified, exploitable issues.

How much does Contrast Security cost?

The CVE Shield Free tier costs $0 with no credit card, covering about two applications (up to 12 services) in observation mode with a single user. Pro is a flat $750 per month billed annually ($9,000 per year) for about eight applications and up to five users, and was listed as releasing soon. Enterprise moves to annual consumption pricing based on production hosts with a custom quote from sales.

How long does implementation take?

CVE Shield uses the Contrast ADR agent, which the vendor says is installed once and requires no code changes or application restarts after initial setup. Coverage for a new application takes effect once the agent is reporting, so a free-tier evaluation can start quickly. Enterprise rollouts across many applications, CI/CD pipelines, SIEM and ticketing integrations will take longer.

Does Contrast integrate with our existing toolchain?

Yes. Contrast documents integrations for SIEM, SOAR and incident management platforms, CI/CD and build systems, IDEs and code editors, vulnerability consolidation, security training platforms, and custom work through SDKs and webhooks. Customer quotes mention findings flowing into Jira, Slack and the IDE. Enterprise plans add SIEM and ticketing integrations plus compliance reporting, RBAC and SAML SSO.

Which languages and platforms are supported?

At launch CVE Shield supports Java applications on Linux, with broader platform support and additional runtimes including .NET and Python planned for later phases. Contrast's hosted data sits on an AWS instance in the United States regardless of user location, and the vendor lists sub-processors that may be located in additional jurisdictions.

How should we test the vendor's claims?

Run a proof of concept. The supplied pages describe the AI-era threat context rather than specific built-in AI features, and the vendor publishes a case study in which Backbase used Application Detection and Response to expose a SQL injection that legacy scanning had missed for years. Ask for reachability and exploitation evidence on your own applications before committing to enterprise pricing.

Contrast Security Review: TTV, TCO & Best Fit (1–2 weeks to value) | Value-Position