
Crisp
AI customer support platform with an omnichannel shared inbox, no-code AI agents and flat per-workspace pricing.
By Crisp IM SAS · HQ Nantes, France · 4.5/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Support, marketing and sales teams consolidating web chat, email and social messaging into one shared inbox
- SMBs that want to automate a large share of inquiries with no-code AI agents trained on their own website, PDFs and help articles
- Teams that prefer flat per-workspace pricing over per-agent or per-conversation billing
- European companies that want EU-hosted data, TLS encryption and a data processing agreement
- E-commerce and app businesses that need chat widgets, SDKs and knowledge base in one tool
Ideal size: 2–50 seats people · SMB to mid-market support org moving from a shared inbox to AI automation
Not for
- Enterprises that require on-premise deployment, FedRAMP or other certifications not evidenced on the vendor pages reviewed
- Large contact centres needing advanced workforce management, QA scoring and complex telephony routing
- Buyers who need industry-specific compliance modules (for example HIPAA workflows) advertised up front
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Minutes to a few days
~2 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$3,540/yr
Starts at $540 · Flat monthly or annual price per workspace rather than per conversation; seat allowances included, extra agents $10/month
Implementation Friction
1/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Free 2 seats; Mini 4; Essentials 10; Plus 20+; extra agents $10/month
Add-on costs
- Extra agents beyond the plan allowance: $10 per month each
- AI credits are bundled per plan and consumed by automated conversations
Company & support
Who is behind Crisp, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2015 · 11 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Nantes, France
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatPlan not stated
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsNot listed
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Contact page offers chat and email; the about page lists dedicated Customer Support and Technical Support staff. No support hours, SLA or plan-level tier is stated on the pages reviewed.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Crisp sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Crisp
- Veeqo
- Expensify
- Intercom
- Flieber
- Optmyzr
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Crisp. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Crisp ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Vendor pages describe an internal AI copilot trained on internal data, autonomous AI agents built with a no-code workflow builder, AI-powered site search and automatic AI tagging of conversations. Nothing states whether customers supply their own model keys or how AI actions are logged or exported.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Crisp is an AI customer support platform from Nantes-based Crisp IM SAS, used by 10,000+ companies. It combines an omnichannel shared inbox (web chat, email, WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram, SMS, phone), knowledge base, built-in CRM and analytics with no-code AI agents trained on your own content. Pricing is flat per workspace — free for 2 seats, then $45, $95 or $295 per month with AI credits included — and a chat widget can go live in minutes, so time-to-value is short. Data is EU-hosted.
Frequently asked questions
What does Crisp cost per year for a mid-market support team?
Crisp is priced flat per workspace, not per conversation. The Free plan is $0 for 2 seats; Mini is $45/month, Essentials $95/month and Plus $295/month, and only Plus charges extra for additional agents at $10/month each. There is a 14-day trial of all features and no mandatory implementation fee is stated; a team on Plus would pay roughly $3,540 per year before any extra seats.
How long does it take to get Crisp into production?
The website chat widget can be added to a site or web app in minutes, and all plans include a 14-day free trial with full feature access. AI agents are built with a no-code builder and templates, trained by letting Crisp browse your website or by importing PDFs and help articles, so a basic setup can be live within days. Enterprise adds dedicated onboarding where a more guided rollout is needed.
Which channels and integrations does Crisp support?
The shared inbox covers web chat, email, WhatsApp Business, Messenger, Instagram, SMS, Telegram, Line, Viber and phone calls. Integrations include Slack, HubSpot, Salesforce, Pipedrive, Zoho, Shopify, WooCommerce, Adobe Commerce, Prestashop, Stripe, Segment, Zapier, Make and n8n, with 100+ integrations listed on the Plus plan.
Does Crisp offer an MCP server or AI agent tooling?
Crisp's pricing page lists an MCP Server under its Artificial intelligence features, described as dedicated AI infrastructure for performance and privacy, alongside AI agents, AI knowledge training, an internal AI copilot, AI writing assistance and AI-powered site search. Buyers should confirm MCP scope and authentication details directly with the vendor, since no developer documentation was included in the pages reviewed.
Is Crisp certified for SOC 2, ISO 27001 or GDPR?
No SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, FedRAMP or ISO 42001 certification is stated on the vendor pages reviewed. The pricing page does confirm double-factor authentication, EU-hosted data, TLS encryption in transit, data replication and a data processing agreement. Buyers needing certified compliance should request the security documentation directly.
Who owns Crisp and where is it based?
Crisp is operated by Crisp IM SAS, founded in 2015 and headquartered in Nantes, France. The company states it is 100% bootstrapped with no venture capital, operates a remote-first distributed team, and serves 600,000+ users across 10,000+ companies.