
dLocal
One API to accept and disburse the local payment methods and currencies consumers prefer across 60+ emerging markets
By dLocal · 4.2/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Global merchants expanding into Latin America, Africa, the Middle East and Asia that need local payment methods without building country-by-country integrations
- Marketplaces and platforms that must onboard users and split funds across borders (dLocal for Platforms)
- Digital, subscription, travel, retail, remittance and ride-hailing businesses with high cross-border payment volume
- Finance and payments teams that want payins, payouts, fraud management and invoice collection behind one integration
Ideal size: 50+ (payments, finance or platform team) people · Scale-up or enterprise with existing cross-border payment volume
Not for
- Domestic-only merchants that never transact outside their home market
- Buyers who need published self-serve pricing or per-seat plans before committing to an evaluation
- Companies in card-saturated markets that are already well served by a single global acquirer
- Teams that want payments bundled with a full accounting/ERP suite rather than as a standalone rail
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Weeks (API integration plus market onboarding)
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
On request
Transaction-based: per-payment processing fees quoted per merchant, market and payment method. No public list pricing or platform subscription fee is published.
Implementation Friction
3/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not seat-based; commercial terms are tied to transaction volume and coverage.
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind dLocal, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhonePlan not stated
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Self-serve Help Center and FAQ at support.dlocal.com. The Brazilian payment entity lists a consumer SAC line (0800 700 0080) advertised as 24h daily. No merchant-facing SLA is published on the pages reviewed.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where dLocal sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- dLocal
- Iterable
- Nuvei
- Bloomreach
- Finix
- Ventrata
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including dLocal. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What dLocal ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
dLocal is a Uruguayan fintech that lets global merchants accept and disburse payments in 60+ emerging markets through a single API. It covers payins, payouts, fraud management (Defense Suite), marketplace fund splitting and invoice collection, with 1,000+ local payment methods and a Merchant-of-Record offering (dMoRe). It reports $41bn processed in 2025 and 760+ merchants. Value comes from higher conversion where cards are rare. Pricing is transaction-based and quoted per merchant; no public rate card or SLA is published.
Frequently asked questions
What does dLocal actually replace for a global merchant?
It replaces the patchwork of local acquiring relationships, payment-method integrations and cross-border settlement you would otherwise build country by country. The company positions one API across five core products: Payins, Payouts, Defense Suite (fraud management), dLocal for Platforms (marketplace onboarding and fund splitting) and Invoice Collection.
How is dLocal priced?
No public rate card is published on the pages reviewed. The model is transaction-based rather than per seat, with fees quoted per merchant, market and payment method. Budget for an implementation and compliance effort, and ask for per-country method coverage, settlement timelines, FX spreads and any minimum volume commitments before signing.
How long does it take to go live?
dLocal describes a single API integration, but production value also depends on market-by-market onboarding, compliance review and method certifications. Plan on weeks rather than days for a first live market; treat any estimate as conservative until dLocal confirms onboarding timelines for your specific countries.
Which markets and payment methods are covered?
Coverage spans 60+ countries across Latin America, Africa & the Middle East, and Asia, with 1,000+ payment methods including cash, bank transfer, digital wallets, mobile money, real-time payments such as Pix, BNPL, interoperable QR and stablecoin settlement. Coverage and method mix vary by country, so validate the exact list for your target markets.
Is dLocal a Merchant of Record?
Yes, through dMoRe, which dLocal markets as a Merchant of Record for emerging markets covering payments, tax, invoicing and compliance. That is separate from the standard gateway-style integration, so buyers should confirm which of the two commercial constructs applies to their contract.
What regulatory or security assurances exist?
Public pages name licensed entities, including dLocal Limited authorised by the Malta Financial Services Authority for e-money, an EPSP licence in Ghana, and MSB registration in the United States. The pages reviewed do not publish SOC 2, ISO 27001 or similar certifications, so request the current security and compliance documentation directly.