
Dotdigital
Cross-channel marketing automation that unites customer data, AI agents and campaign tools in one platform
By Dotdigital · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Mid-market retail and ecommerce teams running email, SMS, WhatsApp and web personalisation from one platform
- Marketing teams that want AI agents to build segments and draft on-brand content without data-team help
- Brands that value 24/7 live chat support, a named CSM, and included onboarding and training
- Organisations that need 200+ integrations across CRM, commerce and advertising platforms
Ideal size: 10–100 marketers people · Scale-up or mid-market with an established lifecycle marketing function
Not for
- Buyers who need published self-serve list pricing before talking to sales
- Enterprise stacks requiring SOC 2, HIPAA or FedRAMP attestation evidence
- Teams wanting deep ERP, field-service or manufacturing workflow coverage
- Very small teams looking for a free-forever starter plan
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
~30 days with guided onboarding
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
On request
Tailored annual quote based on number of marketable contacts and message volume; no public price list
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Priced by contacts and send volume rather than seats; no published tiers
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind Dotdigital, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneAll plans
- EmailAll plans
- Live chatAll plans
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerPlan not stated
- In person / on-sitePlan not stated
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Phone calls typically answered in under 20 seconds during office hours
24/7 live chat and email support are stated for Dotdigital customers; phone support runs in office hours. Every customer gets bespoke live onboarding training plus access to the Dotdigital Academy, and a Customer Success Manager or Account Manager.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Dotdigital sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Dotdigital
- Instapage
- GoTo Webinar
- Ontraport
- Pearl
- Ordway
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Dotdigital. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Dotdigital ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Homepage describes a Segment Agent (natural-language audience building) and a Content Agent (on-brand copy for any channel), plus an MCP server that lets external AI tools query Dotdigital data. The privacy policy states AI supports human decision-making, that all AI outputs get human review, and that no automated decision-making takes place.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Never trains on your data
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Not recorded
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Dotdigital is a cross-channel marketing automation platform for mid-market brands, combining customer data, email, SMS, WhatsApp, web personalisation and loyalty in one system. Two AI agents build segments and draft campaign content, and an MCP server lets external AI tools query Dotdigital. Pricing is a tailored quote based on contacts and send volume, with onboarding, training, 24/7 live chat and a named CSM included.
Frequently asked questions
How does Dotdigital price its platform?
Dotdigital does not publish list prices. The about page states pricing is tailored per customer based on the number of marketable contacts in the database and the number of messages you plan to send, and asks buyers to book a call for a quote. Budget should therefore be scoped in a sales conversation; a message-volume allowance for SMS, MMS and WhatsApp will influence the quote.
What AI capabilities does Dotdigital include today?
The homepage describes two AI agents: a Segment Agent that builds audiences from a plain-language description without filter logic or data teams, and a Content Agent that drafts on-brand messaging for any channel. Dotdigital also ships a Model Context Protocol (MCP) server so external AI tools can check results or add leads to a list without leaving their chat. The privacy policy states AI outputs are subject to human review and no automated decision-making takes place.
How is Dotdigital supported after purchase?
Dotdigital customers get 24/7 live chat inside the platform, phone support during office hours with calls typically answered in under 20 seconds, and email support at [email protected]. Each account has a Customer Success Manager or Account Manager, onboarding includes a bespoke live training session, and the Dotdigital Academy provides further training videos and certified courses at no extra cost.
Which security and compliance certifications does Dotdigital hold?
The trust centre states that Dotdigital's information security management system is ISO 27001 certified (Certificate 18479, audited by Alcumus ISOQAR) and that it has expanded this with ISO 27701 for privacy information management. Dotdigital is also Cyber Essentials Plus certified, operates an ISO 14001 environmental management system, and puts GDPR data processing agreements and EU Model Clauses in place. No SOC 2, HIPAA, FedRAMP or ISO 42001 claim appears on the trust centre.
How long does implementation take and is there a setup fee?
Onboarding is included rather than sold as a mandatory paid project: every customer gets a bespoke live training session plus Academy access, and no implementation fee is published. Teams can typically run first production campaigns within about a month, helped by a no-code journey builder, 200+ pre-built integrations and a Customer Success Manager for the initial rollout.
Does Dotdigital train AI models on our data?
The privacy policy states that Dotdigital takes steps to ensure personal data is not used to train third-party AI models and that providers incorporating AI must process personal data only on documented instructions. It also confirms that when Dotdigital SaaS applications connect to Google Workspace via OAuth, those APIs and the data passed within are not used to develop, improve or train generalised AI or ML models.