Skip to main content
Ordway Labs logo
Revenue VelocityEstablished · 5 yrs on market

Ordway

Recurring billing and revenue automation: quote-to-cash for SaaS, AI and subscription businesses

By Ordway Labs · HQ Washington, DC, US · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • SaaS, cloud and AI companies with usage-based, hybrid or consumption pricing
  • Finance teams replacing spreadsheet billing runs and multi-tab revenue close workbooks
  • Scale-ups that need ASC 606 / IFRS 15 schedules, deferred revenue and a revenue subledger
  • Businesses with complex contracts: parent-child hierarchies, prepaid credits, rollovers, overages, minimums
  • Companies migrating off Zuora, Recurly, QuickBooks or SaaSOptics

Ideal size: 20-500 employees people · Scale-up with a dedicated finance/accounting function

Not for

  • Simple single-price subscription businesses with low monthly invoice volume
  • Pre-revenue startups looking for a free tier or instant self-serve signup
  • Retail POS, inventory, merchandising or one-time transactional commerce
  • Teams unwilling to run a guided implementation with professional services

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

About 90 days

~90 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

On request

Quote-based annual subscription; vendor publishes no list pricing on its site

Implementation Friction

3/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.0

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Not listed

Add-on costs

  • None

Company & support

Who is behind Ordway, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Washington, DC, US

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsNot listed
  • Dedicated account managerPlan not stated
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

The company page says a customer success team provides high-touch support after go-live. No support portal, SLA or support hours are published; the phone number and email on the contact page are for demos and sales, not support.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Ordway sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$1/yr23d45d68d81d94dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyOrdwayNarvarAirshipOutreachAvisoGainsight

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

Ordway is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Ordway
  • Narvar
  • Airship
  • Outreach
  • Aviso
  • Gainsight
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Ordway. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceIntegration
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Ordway ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Agentic workflowsNLP automation

The vendor site advertises AI agentic workflows for billing and accounting and natural language interfaces for SaaS metrics reporting. No page reviewed names a model provider, states how AI is priced, or documents per-action AI logging. No training-data statement was available, so training use is treated as unknown.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Not recorded

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedCMMC — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Ordway is a quote-to-cash billing and revenue automation platform for SaaS, AI and subscription businesses. It covers subscription, usage-based and transaction pricing, accounts receivable and dunning, ASC 606 / IFRS 15 revenue recognition, and SaaS metrics such as ARR, NRR and churn. The vendor says most customers invoice and close their books in Ordway within 90 days, replacing spreadsheet-driven billing. Public customers include Vestwell, Ocrolus, Paubox and Casepoint. Pricing is quote-based and not published.

Frequently asked questions

How long does an Ordway implementation take?

Ordway states that most of its customers are generating invoices from the billing engine and closing their books on Ordway within 90 days. The vendor keeps an in-house professional services team and implementation partners, which it says jumpstarts customer implementations. After go-live, a customer success team supports new product launches, pricing changes, ERP upgrades and capital raising. Expect a guided project rather than self-serve onboarding.

What does Ordway cost?

Ordway does not publish list pricing or seat tiers on its site; the primary call to action is a 30-minute demo with a sales engineer. Pricing appears to be a custom annual quote that depends on modules and billing volume. Budget for a paid implementation and for a quote-based contract, and ask suppliers to compare against Zuora and Recurly, which Ordway customers cite as migration sources.

Which pricing models does Ordway support?

Subscription pricing (fixed monthly fees per user, multi-tiered, free trials), usage-based pricing (rollovers, overage fees, monthly minimums, prepaid credits with drawdowns) and transaction pricing (a percentage of dollar value processed), including pay-as-you-go and prepaid models. The platform is also positioned for parent-child account hierarchies and multi-jurisdiction sales tax calculation.

Does Ordway handle ASC 606 and IFRS 15 revenue recognition?

Yes. Ordway tracks deferred and recognized revenue schedules, standalone selling prices and contract modifications under ASC 606 and IFRS 15, and provides a revenue subledger plus automatic journal entry creation based on revenue recognition rules. Customers such as CaliberMind and SmartEquip cite automated deferred revenue schedules and faster closes as outcomes.

How does Ordway integrate with our CRM, ERP and accounting stack?

Ordway provides APIs and connections to third-party CRM, ERP, tax and accounting applications, and markets a no-code / low-code configuration layer so customers can push usage data from their product into Ordway through the API. Published case studies cite Salesforce CRM feeding order-to-revenue flows and QuickBooks for accounting. Integration depth for specific systems should be confirmed in a technical evaluation.

What AI does Ordway include, and is our data used to train models?

The vendor site advertises AI agentic workflows for billing and accounting and natural language interfaces for SaaS metrics reporting, but does not name model providers, state whether AI is included or an add-on, or describe AI audit logging. The pages reviewed contain no statement about whether customer data is used to train models, so buyers should get that in writing during contracting.