
Dropbox Sign
An easier way to manage agreements: send, sign and track eSignatures from the tools your team already uses.
By Dropbox Sign · 4.7/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Sales, legal and HR teams that need contracts, NDAs and offer letters signed quickly
- SMB and mid-market companies already using Dropbox, Google Workspace or Microsoft 365
- Product teams embedding white-labelled signing through the Dropbox Sign API
- Recruiting and onboarding teams that send offer letters and paperwork in bulk
- Organisations that need an auditable, HIPAA-listed eSignature vendor
Ideal size: 10–500 people · SMB to mid-market teams with established document workflows
Not for
- Enterprises needing full contract lifecycle management with redlining and negotiation
- Buyers that require FedRAMP authorisation
- Teams that need in-person notarisation or court e-filing built in
- Very small teams that will not pay per-user subscription pricing
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Same day
~1 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$4,500/yr
Starts at $180 · Per user per month billed yearly ($15/user/month entry) and API plans priced per request volume ($75 per 50 requests/month), both billed yearly.
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
No published seat minimum; 30-day free trial that can be cancelled anytime, plus a free tier.
Add-on costs
- SMS tools add-on
- Premium branding
Company & support
Who is behind Dropbox Sign, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumAll plans
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Vendor help centre offers self-serve articles, a contact-support/ticket flow and a user community. Plan-level support entitlements and response SLAs are not published on the pages reviewed.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Dropbox Sign sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Dropbox Sign
- OnceHub
- LearnWorlds
- Spekit
- Proposify
- Calendly
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Dropbox Sign. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Dropbox Sign ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Dropbox Sign's help centre documents an 'AI Auto-place Fields' capability, the only sign-specific AI feature named in the supplied pages. Group-level Dropbox AI resources (AI Principles, AI FAQ, AI whitepaper) cover Dash rather than Dropbox Sign, so no sign-specific model-hosting or audit details are published.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Dropbox Sign is a cloud eSignature service from Dropbox, formerly HelloSign. Teams send signature requests from Dropbox, Google Workspace, Microsoft 365, Salesforce, HubSpot or Slack, or embed signing with a documented REST API and SDKs. Pricing starts around $15 per user per month billed yearly, with API plans from $75 per 50 requests per month and a 30-day free trial. The vendor advertises a 4.7/5 G2 rating, and the Dropbox Trust Center lists SOC 2, ISO 27001/27017/27018/27701, HIPAA, PCI DSS, GDPR and CCPA.
Frequently asked questions
How long does it take to get Dropbox Sign into production?
Vendor copy says teams can start in minutes and that the product is easy to adopt. Published API case studies describe integrations completed in about three hours to one week with a single developer, and no mandatory implementation fee is published, so time-to-value is short for standard sending and modest for embedded API work.
What does Dropbox Sign cost?
The site lists eSignature sending from $15 per user per month billed yearly, and API plans from $75 per 50 requests per month, also billed yearly. A 30-day free trial is offered and can be cancelled at any time; SMS tools and premium branding are sold as add-ons.
Which compliance certifications does Dropbox Sign hold?
The Dropbox Trust Center lists SOC 2, including a specific Dropbox Sign SOC 2 and SOC 3 report, plus Dropbox Sign ISO 27001 and ISO 27018. Group-wide listings include GDPR, HIPAA, CCPA, PCI DSS, ISO 27017, ISO 27701 and ISO 22301. FedRAMP is not listed.
Does Dropbox Sign fit our existing stack?
Yes. The vendor's integrations page lists Salesforce, Salesforce CPQ, HubSpot, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Slack, Google Workspace, Google Drive, Google Docs, Microsoft OneDrive, Microsoft Word, Procore, Greenhouse, PageUp, Recruitee, Ironclad, Zapier and more, alongside a documented REST API and SDKs.
Do signers need a Dropbox Sign account?
No. The vendor states recipients review and sign securely without needing an account, and signed documents can be saved automatically to your preferred storage account.