
HoneyBook
AI-powered client relationship platform: proposals, contracts, payments, and client management in one place
By HoneyBook Inc. · 4.5/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Service-based small businesses (photographers, planners, consultants, coaches, marketers, caterers) that sell client projects
- Solo founders and teams of 1–10 replacing four or five disconnected tools with one CRM
- Studios and agencies that need proposals, contracts, invoices, and online payments in a single client flow
- Event and venue businesses managing inquiries, bookings, deposits, and event logistics
Ideal size: 1–10 people · Solo founder or small team replacing manual client admin
Not for
- Enterprises needing ERP, PSA time tracking, procurement, or multi-entity accounting controls
- Regulated buyers (healthcare, financial services) requiring published HIPAA, SOC 2, or FedRAMP attestations
- Product, e-commerce, or marketplace businesses without a client-project sales cycle
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
1–2 weeks on the free trial
~14 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$588/yr
Starts at $348 · Per-account subscription billed monthly or yearly; annual billing saves up to 18%
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Starter: 1 user; Essentials: up to 2 team members; Premium: unlimited team members and collaborators
Add-on costs
- Card processing fees from 2.9% + 25¢ per transaction (FAQ quotes 2.7% + 10¢)
- ACH bank transfer processing fee of 1.5%
- Instant deposit 1% fee, pending eligibility
- HoneyBook Capital loans, fixed-fee, pending eligibility
Company & support
Who is behind HoneyBook, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2013 · 13 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhonePlan not stated
- EmailAll plans
- Live chatAll plans
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumAll plans
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
Pricing lists 24/7 email and live chat support 7 days a week; the contact FAQ gives chat/email coverage of Mon–Fri 6am–6pm PT and Sat–Sun 8am–5pm PT. Help Center is 24 hours a day. Premium adds priority support and a 90-day onboarding specialist. Contact page lists a billing phone line.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where HoneyBook sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- HoneyBook
- folk
- Regiondo
- Checkfront
- StackAdapt
- Anchor
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including HoneyBook. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What HoneyBook ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
HoneyBook AI covers AI chat, an AI automations builder, email drafts, meeting notetaker, meeting prep, project recaps, priority lead notifications, business trends, lead enrichment, and a Gmail lead finder; it is listed in every plan tier. HoneyBook also ships a ChatGPT app that answers questions from account data. Vendor pages do not state which LLMs are used or whether customer data trains…
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- OpenAI
- AI pricing
- Included in the plan
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
HoneyBook is an AI-assisted client relationship platform for service-based small businesses such as photographers, event planners, consultants, marketers, and caterers. One subscription covers lead capture, proposals, contracts, scheduling, invoicing, payments, and a client portal, from $29/month billed yearly. HoneyBook AI adds email drafts, meeting notes, project recaps, and predictive lead alerts. Best for solo operators and small teams consolidating point tools; too light for enterprises needing ERP, PSA time tracking, or deep compliance controls.
Frequently asked questions
How much does HoneyBook cost per year?
Plans start at $29/month billed yearly (about $348/year) for Starter, $49/month (about $588/year) for Essentials, and $109/month (about $1,308/year) for Premium; monthly billing costs more. Every tier includes HoneyBook AI. Payment processing is charged separately: the pricing table shows card fees starting at 2.9% + 25¢ per transaction, the FAQ quotes 2.7% + 10¢, and ACH bank transfers cost 1.5%.
How long does implementation take and is there a setup fee?
All plans start with a 30-day free trial with no credit card, and HoneyBook will convert your existing contracts, forms, questionnaires, invoices, and pricing lists into ready-to-use templates at no charge, so there is no mandatory implementation fee. Most businesses run their first lead-to-payment cycle during the trial; heavier template libraries and finance setup take longer.
Does HoneyBook integrate with our existing stack?
Yes for common small-business tools: Gmail and Outlook email, Google and Outlook calendars, Zoom, Slack, QuickBooks Online, Canva, Calendly, Squarespace, Wix, Stripe, Square, FreshBooks, Wave, Zoho, and Zapier for thousands more apps. A HoneyBook API reference exists at honeybook.com/docs. There is no native Salesforce, HubSpot, NetSuite, or SAP connector in the vendor's integration list.
Is HoneyBook's AI included, and which model providers does it use?
HoneyBook AI is listed as included in every plan tier, including the $29/month Starter plan, so it is not a separate add-on. Vendor pages describe AI chat, an automations builder, email drafts, meeting notetaker, project recaps, business trends, and predictive lead alerts, plus a ChatGPT app. HoneyBook does not publish which LLM providers power its AI or whether customer data is used for training, so confirm that in contracting.
What support is included?
Members get email and live-chat support plus a 24-hour Help Center, the HoneyBook Community, webinars, and a free file-setup service. Premium adds priority support and a one-on-one onboarding specialist for the first 90 days. The pricing page advertises 24/7 email and chat support seven days a week, while the contact FAQ states chat and email coverage of Mon–Fri 6am–6pm PT and Sat–Sun 8am–5pm PT; a billing phone line is also listed.
Is HoneyBook suitable for regulated or enterprise buyers?
Based on the vendor pages reviewed, HoneyBook does not publish SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, FedRAMP, or ISO 42001 certifications, and its security page was not among the pages provided. Buyers in healthcare, financial services, or government should request the trust documentation, data-processing terms, and subprocessor list directly before adopting it.
HoneyBook in our guides

Best CRM Software with an AI Assistant (2026)
Six CRM platforms that record AI assistant features are compared on typical annual cost, time-to-value and implementation effort, alongside what each vendor publishes about the AI models behind them.