
Illumio
Breach containment platform that stops lateral movement across hybrid, multi-cloud and data center environments.
By Illumio, Inc. · HQ Sunnyvale, US · 4.8/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Security teams that must stop lateral movement and contain breaches across hybrid, multi-cloud and data center environments.
- Zero Trust programs that need microsegmentation of workloads, containers and endpoint devices from one console.
- Regulated enterprises in banking, insurance, healthcare and manufacturing with audit and breach-containment drivers.
- Security operations teams facing alert fatigue who need prioritised, context-rich threat analysis and one-click containment.
Ideal size: 500+ employees (enterprise security org) people · Mature security organisation with a Zero Trust or cyber-resilience program
Not for
- Small or mid-market teams without a dedicated security function or a breach-containment mandate.
- Buyers who want transparent public list pricing and self-serve sign-up; Illumio routes buyers to a live demo request.
- Organisations looking for an endpoint EDR or antivirus replacement rather than network microsegmentation.
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
About 3 months (phased rollout)
~90 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
On request
Quote-based enterprise subscription. Illumio publishes no list pricing; the pricing page is a demo request form.
Implementation Friction
4/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not published
Add-on costs
- Professional services and named support roles (Customer Success Advisor, Resident Engineer, Technical Account Manager); pricing not published
Company & support
Who is behind Illumio, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Sunnyvale, US
How you get support
- PhoneAll plans
- EmailAll plans
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumAll plans
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerPlan not stated
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
Support page advertises 24/7 phone support (US, UK, AU, FR, NZ, SG numbers), email support, an Illumio community, a knowledge base and named service roles such as Customer Success Advisor, Resident Engineer and Technical Account Manager. Plan tiers are not stated.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Illumio sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Illumio
- Kiteworks
- Claroty
- Zasio Versatile
- Gimmal
- Proofpoint
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Illumio. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Illumio ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
The vendor describes an AI security graph and a named AI teammate, Insights Agent, that prioritises threats and offers one-click containment, plus AI-powered cloud detection and response. No statement on AI model providers, per-action AI logging or customer-data training is published.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Not recorded
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Illumio is an American cybersecurity vendor behind a self-described breach containment platform built on microsegmentation. It maps workload dependencies, sets policy and blocks lateral movement across data centers, endpoints and hybrid multi-cloud estates; an AI security graph and the Insights Agent add detection and one-click containment. It is an enterprise sale with no public list pricing, quote-based contracts and services-led rollouts. Regulated organisations with a Zero Trust mandate and a dedicated security team fit best; small, self-serve buyers do not.
Frequently asked questions
What does Illumio actually do?
Illumio sells a breach containment platform built on microsegmentation. It maps application and workload dependencies, lets teams set policy, and blocks lateral movement across data centers, endpoint devices and hybrid multi-cloud environments. Illumio Insights adds detection and one-click containment on top of an AI security graph. The vendor positions this as shifting from prevention to cyber resilience, and was named a Leader in The Forrester Wave: Microsegmentation Solutions.
How much does Illumio cost?
Illumio does not publish list pricing. The pricing page on the vendor site is a demo request form, and deployments are sold as quote-based enterprise subscriptions with associated professional services. Buyers should budget for a security platform contract plus services rather than a per-seat self-serve plan, and should ask for a written scope covering the environments to be segmented.
How long does implementation take?
No published timeline exists. Illumio's support page describes services tailored to each customer: onboarding, planning workshops, custom deployment project plans and named roles such as Customer Success Advisor, Resident Engineer and Technical Account Manager. Microsegmentation in general requires dependency mapping before enforcement, so plan a phased rollout starting with visibility and policy modelling in a limited environment.
Does Illumio offer 24/7 support?
Yes. The vendor support page advertises 24/7 support by phone, with toll-free numbers for the US, UK, Australia, France and New Zealand and an international number, plus an email support address. Customers also get access to the Illumio community, a self-serve knowledge base and training resources. The support page does not state which plan tiers include each channel or publish an SLA response time.
Is Illumio SOC 2 compliant?
Yes. Illumio's trust page states that the company has successfully completed SOC 2 Type 2 compliance and operates an information security program aligned to common security standards, audited by internal and external parties. The same page does not claim ISO 27001, FedRAMP or ISO 42001 certification, so buyers should request current reports and scope directly for those frameworks.
Does Illumio use AI, and does it train models on our data?
Illumio markets an AI security graph and a named AI teammate, Insights Agent, that prioritises threats and supports one-click containment. The vendor pages reviewed do not state which AI model providers are used, whether customers supply their own keys, whether it is part of the plan price, or whether customer data is used to train or improve models. Treat data-training terms as unknown and confirm them in writing with the vendor.