
Impel
Automotive AI Operating System unifying marketing, sales and service across the dealer customer lifecycle
By Impel · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Franchise and independent auto dealerships running an internet sales or BDC team
- Multi-rooftop dealer groups standardizing marketing, sales and service AI
- OEMs and agencies needing brand-consistent messaging across dealer networks
- Specialty vehicle dealers (RV, powersports, marine, commercial truck)
Ideal size: 20–500 (single store to dealer group) people · Dealer or dealer group with an existing CRM/DMS and a BDC or internet sales desk
Not for
- Non-automotive businesses — built specifically for car retail
- Dealers with no CRM, DMS or website platform to integrate
- Teams that need transparent self-serve pricing and same-day signup
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
3–6 weeks
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$36,000/yr
Starts at $12,000 · Quote-based enterprise pricing; not published on the website — buyers are routed to a demo request
Implementation Friction
3/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not published; scoped per rooftop or dealer group
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind Impel, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2014 · 12 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsNot listed
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Contact page lists a support mailbox ([email protected]) and a contact form with Customer Support and Technical Support subject options. No support tiers, hours or SLAs are published.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Impel sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Impel
- RainFocus
- PrestaShop
- WooCommerce
- Loop Returns
- Recharge
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Impel. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Impel ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Vendor brands the product an 'Automotive AI Operating System' with Sales, Service, Chat, Voice, Marketing and Merchandising AI modules plus an AI Command Center and a team 'Copilot'. No model provider, training-data policy or AI-specific pricing is published.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Not recorded
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Impel sells an automotive AI 'Operating System' that unifies marketing, sales, service and merchandising for dealerships, dealer groups and OEMs. Modules include Sales AI, Service AI, Chat and Voice AI, Marketing AI, Merchandising AI and 360 Manager. The vendor reports 8,000+ clients in 51 countries and double-digit lifts in conversion, service ROs and repeat purchase. Pricing is quote-based and unpublished; 100+ website, CRM/DMS and marketplace integrations ease rollout.
Frequently asked questions
What business problem does Impel solve?
Impel automates the dealership customer lifecycle — responding to and following up on leads, booking showroom and service appointments, running marketing and merchandising, and driving repeat purchase. The vendor reports a 26% lift in sales conversion, 27% more service ROs from existing customers and 24% more repeat purchases.
How is Impel priced and what does it cost?
Impel does not publish pricing; the website routes buyers to a demo request, so commercial terms are quote-based and scoped per dealership or dealer group. Budget for per-rooftop subscription pricing, with possible OEM co-op offsets since Impel is certified for OEM co-op programs.
How long does implementation take?
No standard timeline is published. Impel emphasises 100+ pre-built website, CRM/DMS and marketplace integrations intended to minimise implementation friction and connect data from day one; enterprise dealer groups should plan a phased, rooftop-by-rooftop rollout.
Which systems does Impel integrate with?
Impel lists 100+ integrations across website platforms, dealer CRM/DMS platforms and marketplaces, with named partnerships including CDK, Tekion, Cox Automotive's Xtime, FordDirect, TrueCar, ProMax, Cars.com, KBB and WhatsApp messaging.
Is Impel secure and compliant?
Impel states on its site that it is certified and compliant with SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, CCPA and TCPA, and it operates a Trust Center covering security controls. Buyers should request current audit reports and a DPA during evaluation, since those pages were not available to review here.
Does Impel train AI models on our customer data?
The pages available do not state whether customer data is used to train Impel's models. Ask the vendor for its AI data-use and sub-processor terms and review its Privacy Notice and Trust Center before signing.