
nPlan
AI that forecasts and de-risks large construction projects using 750,000 historical schedules and $2Tn of past project data.
By nPlan Limited · HQ London, UK · 4.2/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Owner-operators and Tier 1 contractors running large capital programmes: rail, highways, energy, utilities, data centres, public and commercial buildings.
- PMO, planning and risk teams that need activity-level probabilistic forecasts and schedule integrity checks, not just rolled-up CPM dates.
- Portfolio directors who must spot systemic risk and target interventions across dozens of concurrent projects.
Ideal size: 10–100+ planners, risk and PMO staff people · Enterprise owner-operator or contractor with an established scheduling and PMO practice
Not for
- Small builders, fit-out contractors and residential remodelers without dedicated planners or schedulers.
- Teams unwilling to upload full current and historical project schedules to a third-party AI platform.
- Buyers looking for field-crew task management, permitting, bid capture or construction accounting.
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
~3 months, vendor-led onboarding
~90 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
On request
Enterprise annual subscription, quote-based; nPlan publishes no public price list and routes buyers to a demo.
Implementation Friction
4/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not published; enterprise/portfolio-level licensing
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind nPlan, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2017 · 9 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- London, UK
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Site navigation includes a Knowledge Base and an nPlan Academy of user courses; no support hours, SLA or named support tiers are published.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where nPlan sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- nPlan
- Lytx
- LCPtracker
- Nauto
- Origami Risk
- Axon
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including nPlan. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What nPlan ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
AI is the core of the product: models trained on 750,000+ past schedules covering $2Tn of construction spend. Four use cases: Plan (generative schedule creation from scope documentation), Assure (activity-level uncertainty forecasting), De-risk (flag risky activities, gap-check risk registers) and Deliver (portfolio control rooms). The site also names a project-controls AI assistant, Barry.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Anthropic, OpenAI
- AI pricing
- Not recorded
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
nPlan is an AI project-controls platform for large capital construction. Its models are trained on 750,000+ historical schedules representing over $2Tn of construction spend, and the vendor says it has $500bn of projects under active management. Four use cases — Plan, Assure, De-risk and Deliver — cover generative schedule creation, activity-level uncertainty forecasting, risk identification and portfolio control rooms. It works with existing schedules rather than replacing them. Pricing is quote-based and not published.
Frequently asked questions
What problem does nPlan solve?
nPlan targets construction overruns. The vendor says 6 of every 7 large projects are delivered late and the average project takes 43% longer than planned. Its AI forecasts uncertainty at activity level and flags risky activities before they become issues, using a dataset of 750,000+ historical schedules.
Does nPlan replace Primavera P6 or Microsoft Project?
No. The vendor states that nPlan's AI works with your existing schedules, and a case study notes Schedule Studio can export an updated XER. It layers forecasting, schedule assurance and risk insight on top of the scheduling tools your planners already use.
How is nPlan priced?
nPlan publishes no public price list. Commercially it is an enterprise engagement: the site routes buyers to a demo and 'talk to us' rather than self-serve checkout, so expect a quote-based annual subscription scoped to projects or portfolios. No implementation fee is published.
How long until we see value?
nPlan publishes no time-to-value figure. Published case studies (HS2 London Tunnels, LNG Canada, Network Rail, Transpennine Route Upgrade, Suffolk and a highways tender review) show value on live programmes once schedules are loaded, and the vendor runs an nPlan Academy of user courses.
Does nPlan hold SOC 2, ISO 27001 or other certifications?
None of the sources reviewed publish a security, trust or compliance page, and nPlan makes no SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA or FedRAMP claim on its public site. Ask the vendor directly for security documentation before sharing sensitive schedule data.
Can we use our own AI models with nPlan?
The sources do not say. nPlan describes a Schedule Studio link to Claude and ChatGPT that lets users ask questions, make edits and run health checks from chat, but no page states whether customers may supply their own model provider keys.