Skip to main content
Octane AI, Inc. logo
Revenue VelocityEstablished · 8 yrs on market

Octane AI

AI product-recommendation quiz builder and zero-party-data analytics for Shopify brands.

By Octane AI, Inc. · HQ San Francisco, US · 4.5/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Shopify and DTC brands that want an AI-built product recommendation quiz to lift AOV and email opt-ins
  • Ecommerce marketing teams collecting zero-party data to power Klaviyo, Attentive, Postscript and Shopify segmentation
  • Brands with complex catalogs such as skincare, supplements, hair care, apparel and jewelry that need guided selling
  • Teams that want per-answer, per-product and per-shopper revenue and drop-off analytics

Ideal size: Ecommerce team of 2-50 people · DTC brand on Shopify with steady traffic and an email/SMS program

Not for

  • B2B or services businesses without a consumer product catalog
  • Retailers not on Shopify that need checkout-level catalog and selling-plan sync
  • Companies looking for a full CMS, POS or portal rather than a quiz and personalization layer
  • Buyers who require published SOC 2 or ISO 27001 attestations today

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

Same day (hours to first quiz)

~1 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$2,040/yr

Starts at $516 · Credit-based subscription: 1 credit = 1 quiz engagement, AI features consume extra credits; monthly or yearly billing with 15% annual discount.

Implementation Friction

1/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.5

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Credit tiers: 400 (Basic), 2,200 (Plus), 7,250+ or unlimited (Enterprise); no seat minimums stated.

Add-on costs

  • Overage credits billed at $0.10 per credit
  • AI usage consumes additional credits: Smart Products ~0.3, Smart Copy ~0.1, Image Analyzer ~0.4 per interaction

Company & support

Who is behind Octane AI, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
San Francisco, US

How you get support

  • PhoneEnterprise only
  • EmailAll plans
  • Live chatPlan not stated
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Email support is listed on every plan, including Basic. The contact page offers live chat, a message form and a help centre. Enterprise adds a dedicated account manager, monthly strategy calls, custom onboarding, and Slack channel plus phone support.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Octane AI sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$270/yr$610/yr$1k/yr$3k/yr$9k/yr0d2d4d10d16dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyOctane AIRewardfulRefersionMadgicxBuiltWithRebuy

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

Octane AI is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Octane AI
  • Rewardful
  • Refersion
  • Madgicx
  • BuiltWith
  • Rebuy
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Octane AI. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Octane AI ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Document processingNLP automationAnomaly detection

Phoenix builds quizzes from a prompt or an uploaded Word/Excel/PDF, generates missing quiz images, and walks every quiz path to flag broken logic or out-of-stock products. Image Analyzer reads a shopper selfie for skin tone and undertone. AI features (Smart Products, Smart Copy, Image Analyzer) are available on all plans and consume extra credits.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Included in the plan

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedCMMC — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Octane AI's Phoenix is an AI quiz maker and analytics platform for Shopify brands. Merchants describe a quiz or upload a document and AI drafts the questions, product matrix and results pages; shoppers get personalized recommendations while every answer builds a zero-party-data profile. Credit-based pricing starts at $50/month (400 credits), AI features are on all plans, and deep Klaviyo, Shopify, Attentive and subscription integrations plus a REST API and MCP server round it out. 5,000+ brands.

Frequently asked questions

What does Octane AI cost and how is usage billed?

Basic is $50/month (or $43/month billed yearly) with 400 credits, Plus is $200/month (or $170/month yearly) with 2,200 credits, and Enterprise/Unlimited starts at $500/month with 7,250+ credits. One credit equals one quiz engagement; AI features use extra credits (Smart Products ~0.3, Smart Copy ~0.1, Image Analyzer ~0.4). Overage credits cost $0.10 each and unused credits roll over 30 days. There are no setup fees.

How long does it take to get a quiz live?

Most brands launch their first quiz within a few hours. The builder is no-code, AI can produce a working first draft from a sentence or an uploaded spreadsheet/Word/PDF, and Octane AI will migrate an existing Typeform, Digioh or custom quiz for you. Every plan includes a 14-day free trial, and Enterprise adds custom onboarding plus a dedicated account manager.

Which tools does it integrate with?

Native integrations include Klaviyo, Attentive, Postscript, Recart, Gorgias, Google Analytics, Meta, Tapcart and Shopify (Customers, Flow, Markets, selling plans, Metafields, Shop Pay). Subscription apps Recharge, Skio, Loop, Stay AI and Smartrr work via Shopify selling plans. A REST API, webhooks, a storefront JS API and an MCP server cover everything else.

Does Octane AI offer an API or MCP server for AI assistants?

Yes. The developer platform offers a REST API for quizzes, analytics, shopper profiles, exports and experiments, webhooks for quiz and profile events, a storefront JS API, and a cookbook of 40+ recipes. Octane AI also ships an MCP server (mcp.octaneai.com/mcp) you can add to Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor or Codex, signing in with no API keys and choosing which store it can reach.

Is Octane AI secure and certified?

The vendor publishes a security and vulnerability disclosure policy with defined remediation targets (critical findings mitigated within 24 hours, permanent fix within 7 days) and a [email protected] contact. The security page does not publish SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, FedRAMP, ISO 42001 or CMMC attestations, so buyers with hard certification requirements should request documentation during procurement.