
OneSignal
Customer engagement platform: AI-orchestrated push, email, SMS/RCS and in-app messaging that onboard, engage and retain users.
By OneSignal · HQ San Mateo, US · 4.7/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Product and growth teams that need push, email, SMS/RCS and in-app messaging from one platform.
- Mobile-first apps that want fast SDK integration and autonomous, AI-orchestrated lifecycle campaigns.
- Companies that want a free tier and usage-based pricing that scales with active users and sends.
- Teams connecting engagement data to warehouses, CDPs, analytics and CRM tools already in their stack.
Ideal size: 5–500 people · Product-led app team with a mobile or web audience and basic analytics in place
Not for
- Organizations looking for a full CRM, sales pipeline or revenue-operations suite.
- Buyers requiring on-premise deployment or a heavy consulting-led implementation.
- Teams that need fully published, transparent annual list pricing at Professional and Enterprise tiers.
- Enterprises whose procurement requires verified security certifications on a public trust page before sign-off.
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Same day
~1 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$228/yr
Starts at $0 · Free tier; paid plans combine a fixed platform fee with usage fees based on monthly active users, web push subscribers and email/SMS send volume. Growth starts at $19/mo.
Implementation Friction
1/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not seat-based; priced by monthly active users, web push subscribers and message send volume.
Add-on costs
- Email: 20,000 free sends per month on Growth, then $1.50 per 1,000 sends.
- Mobile push on Growth: $0.012 per monthly active user.
- Web push on Growth: $0.004 per subscriber.
- Premium integrations and dedicated email IPs available for purchase on annual plans.
- SMS/RCS priced by volume with volume-based discounting; talk to sales.
- Enterprise adds a security and compliance package, reporting history and a custom SLA.
Company & support
Who is behind OneSignal, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- San Mateo, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatPlan not stated
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsNot listed
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Contact page routes technical or payment issues to the Support Team by chat. Prioritized support starts on the Growth plan, dedicated success management on Enterprise, which also lists a custom SLA. No response-time figure is published.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where OneSignal sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- OneSignal
- Landbot
- VWO
- Tapfiliate
- Mollie
- Ortto
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including OneSignal. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What OneSignal ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Homepage describes autonomous lifecycle marketing where OneSignal AI drafts, sends, tests and optimizes campaigns; pricing lists a OneSignal AI Agent and OneSignal MCP on all plans. No reviewed page states how model keys are handled or whether AI actions are logged per action.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
OneSignal is a customer engagement platform for push, email, SMS/RCS, in-app messaging and Live Activities, used by 200k+ apps and over a million businesses. It pairs SDK-based messaging with OneSignal AI, an autonomous lifecycle engine that drafts, sends, tests and optimizes campaigns, plus an MCP server that lets assistants such as Claude and ChatGPT manage audiences, campaigns and analytics. Free tier; paid plans add a platform fee plus usage-based MAU, subscriber and send fees. Most app stacks integrate the same day.
Frequently asked questions
What does OneSignal cost for a mid-market app team?
There is a free plan at $0/mo. Growth starts at $19/mo and adds a platform fee plus usage: mobile push at $0.012 per monthly active user, web push at $0.004 per subscriber, and email at $1.50 per 1,000 sends above 20,000 free sends. Professional and Enterprise are annual, custom-priced plans with volume discounts, and SMS/RCS is purchased separately by volume.
How long does implementation take?
OneSignal publishes SDKs for Android, iOS, Flutter, React Native, Expo and Unity, and states that integration can get lifecycle messaging live the same day, so most teams reach first production value within days. Professional and Enterprise tiers add Jump Start onboarding support for more complex rollouts.
Does OneSignal support MCP and external AI assistants?
Yes. The pricing page lists OneSignal MCP on every plan, including Free, and the integrations page includes Claude (Anthropic) and OpenAI (ChatGPT) so teams can manage audiences, campaigns and analytics from those assistants, alongside the OneSignal AI Agent.
What data-protection and compliance commitments are documented?
The pricing page documents GDPR compliance, with a DPA on paid plans, plus two-factor authentication, role-based user permissions and audit-log retention (48 hours on lower plans, 90 days on Enterprise). Enterprise adds a security and compliance package and a custom SLA. Certification details were not published on the pages reviewed.
Can we start free and upgrade later?
Yes. The Free plan includes all channels, basic automation and analytics, and OneSignal AI and MCP. Growth is month-to-month and can be upgraded in the dashboard, while Professional and Enterprise are annual contracts with volume-based pricing, payable by card, wire or ACH on annual plans, or through the GCP Marketplace.