
PreVeil
End-to-end encrypted email and file sharing that makes CMMC, NIST 800-171, ITAR and HIPAA compliance affordable.
By PreVeil · HQ Boston, US · 4.2/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Small and mid-size defense contractors pursuing CMMC Level 2 who must protect CUI without moving to GCC High
- Organizations that share ITAR, DFARS 7012 or HIPAA-regulated data with partners, suppliers and clients
- Lean IT teams, including two-person teams, that need assessment-ready CMMC documentation plus guided modules for all 110 controls
- Law firms, universities, tax practices and healthcare providers needing encrypted email and file sharing
- Buyers replacing GCC High or legacy secure-file tools to cut licensing and support costs
Ideal size: 3-700 people · SMB or mid-market with active CMMC, DFARS, ITAR, HIPAA or CJIS obligations
Not for
- Teams looking for a full productivity suite to replace Microsoft 365 or Google Workspace
- Companies needing deep CRM, data-warehouse or ERP integrations such as Salesforce, Snowflake or SAP
- Organizations with no regulatory driver for end-to-end encryption and no appetite for a separate secure enclave
- Enterprises with global data-residency mandates; Gov Cloud hosting is limited to the Gov Community tier
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Under an hour to deploy
~1 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$5,400/yr
Starts at $0 · Free individual tier; Individual $25/month; Business $30/user/month; Gov Community custom; PreVeil Pass $450/month for 3 licenses. Annual payment required on the Individual plan.
Implementation Friction
1/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Free (5 GB), Individual (5 TB), Business (10 TB, per user), Gov Community (custom, AWS GovCloud), PreVeil Pass (3 Gov Community licenses).
Add-on costs
- Guided onboarding is shown as a separately priced item ('$') on the pricing table
- The NIST 800-171/CMMC pre-filled documentation package is listed as an additional charge on Gov Community
- Compliance Accelerator modules and 1:1 compliance support are bundled into PreVeil Pass at $450/month
Company & support
Who is behind PreVeil, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2015 · 11 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Boston, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerPlan not stated
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Support portal offers ticket submission, a documentation knowledge base, product updates and a status page. Priority support and a dedicated customer success team are listed on the Business and Gov Community plans; guided onboarding is priced separately.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where PreVeil sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- PreVeil
- EasyLlama
- NordLayer
- Passbolt
- Material Security
- Virtru
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including PreVeil. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What PreVeil ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
PreVeil provides end-to-end encrypted email and file sharing for defense contractors and regulated industries. Its CMMC Compliance Accelerator supplies assessment-ready documentation for all 110 NIST 800-171 controls, including a pre-filled SSP, SOPs and a shared responsibility matrix; the vendor reports 100+ customers with perfect 110/110 CMMC scores. Deployment takes under an hour alongside Microsoft 365 or Google Workspace. Pricing is free for individuals, $30 per user per month for Business, or a $450/month PreVeil Pass bundle.
Frequently asked questions
How long does PreVeil take to deploy?
Vendor materials state deployment takes under an hour alongside existing Microsoft 365, Exchange or Google Workspace infrastructure, and that businesses onboard in hours without a disruptive rip-and-replace migration. Full CMMC certification projects are a separate timeline; PreVeil cites customers cutting preparation from the DoD-estimated 12-24 months to 3-6 months using Compliance Accelerator.
What does PreVeil cost for a small defense contractor?
A free tier covers individuals; Individual is $25/month and Business is $30 per user per month. For contractors handling CUI, PreVeil Pass bundles three Gov Community licenses, Compliance Accelerator documentation and 1:1 compliance support starting at $450/month, which PreVeil positions as roughly 75-77% less than a GCC High path.
Can PreVeil replace GCC High for CMMC Level 2?
PreVeil positions its Gov Community tier as a FedRAMP Moderate equivalent option for CMMC Level 2, DFARS 7012 and ITAR, and cites customers who avoided or left GCC High with reported savings of 50% to 90%. Note the vendor states FedRAMP Moderate equivalent, not a formal FedRAMP authorization, so authorization-dependent buyers should verify requirements first.
Does PreVeil support HIPAA, FERPA and other regulations?
PreVeil states the Business tier supports named requirements under HIPAA, FERPA, SOC 2, the FTC Safeguards Rule (Gram-Leach-Bliley) and IRS Publication 4557, including encryption, access control and audit logging, and that the same architecture supports CJIS. Gov Community adds CMMC Level 2, DFARS 7012 and ITAR, plus AWS GovCloud hosting and FIPS 140-3 validated modules.
Can PreVeil read our data or use it to train AI models?
PreVeil states that encryption keys exist only on user devices, never on its servers, and that nobody, not even PreVeil, can read user messages and files. The vendor pages reviewed for this profile do not state whether customer data is used to train or improve AI models, so that question should be confirmed directly with the vendor.
What support is included with PreVeil?
All users can use the support portal for ticket submission and the knowledge base, plus the status page and product updates. Business and Gov Community add priority support and a dedicated customer success team, and guided onboarding is priced separately. No 24/7 commitment or contractual response-time SLA is published on the pages reviewed.