Skip to main content
Intuit Inc. logo
Ops EfficiencyFounded 1983 · 43 yrs

QuickBooks Online

Cloud accounting for small business: cleaner books, faster payments and confident decisions, powered by Intuit Intelligence.

By Intuit Inc. · HQ Mountain View, US · 4.3/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Small businesses and solopreneurs who want bookkeeping, invoicing, payments, payroll and inventory in one cloud platform
  • Growing firms that want an accountant-collaboration model plus one vendor for payroll, time and bill pay
  • Buyers who want AI-assisted bookkeeping: auto-categorisation, reconciliation, anomaly flagging and cash-flow forecasting
  • Teams that need 800+ third-party app connectors (Shopify, Amazon, PayPal, Square, Mailchimp and others)

Ideal size: 1–25 people · Small business or scale-up without a dedicated finance team

Not for

  • Large multi-entity groups needing full ERP consolidation out of the box (Intuit points those to Intuit Enterprise Suite)
  • Buyers who need unlimited users on low-cost tiers (seats are capped at 1, 3, 5 and 25 by plan)
  • Organisations that require published AI model providers, bring-your-own-key or per-action AI audit logs
  • Highly regulated buyers that need FedRAMP or HIPAA attestations published on a vendor security page

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

Under a day (vendor says ~5 minutes to set up)

~1 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$1,680/yr

Starts at $0 · Per company, tiered by user count, billed monthly or annually; 50% off for the first 3 months; no annual contract, cancel anytime

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.3

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Free 1 user; Simple Start 1 user; Essentials 3 users; Plus 5 users; Advanced 25 users, each with 2–3 accountant seats

Add-on costs

  • Payroll, QuickBooks Time and Bill Pay sold as add-ons or included only on higher tiers
  • QuickBooks Payments and e-invoicing: usage-based processing fees
  • Bill Pay: $0.50 per standard ACH transaction above the monthly allotment
  • Intuit Experts bookkeeping, cleanup and business tax sold separately

Company & support

Who is behind QuickBooks Online, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
1983 · 43 yrs in business
Headquarters
Mountain View, US

How you get support

  • PhonePaid plans
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatAll plans
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumAll plans
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Free plan lists chat support. The pricing FAQ says phone support is included with paid Simple Start and above (and free during the 30-day trial). Advanced adds Priority Circle priority support and training. No support hours or response SLA are published.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where QuickBooks Online sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$480/yr$980/yr$2k/yr$11k/yr$69k/yr0d2d4d6d8dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyQuickBooks OnlineKreoFieldwireBitrix24SimplyBook.meClockify

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

QuickBooks Online is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • QuickBooks Online
  • Kreo
  • Fieldwire
  • Bitrix24
  • SimplyBook.me
  • Clockify
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including QuickBooks Online. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceIntegration
Microsoft 365Integration
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What QuickBooks Online ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Copilot / assistantAgentic workflowsPredictive analyticsDocument processingAnomaly detectionNLP automation

Intuit Intelligence is the umbrella brand. Vendor pages describe AI chat over live data, learning and automating recurring tasks, cash-flow and what-if forecasting, invoice and bill creation from notes, PDFs, photos and forwarded email, anomaly flagging, and AI-drafted customer responses. Model providers, key ownership and AI audit logging are not stated on these pages.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Included in the plan

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedCMMC — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

QuickBooks Online is Intuit's cloud accounting platform, used by more than 10 million businesses. It combines bookkeeping, invoicing and payments, bill pay, payroll, time tracking, inventory and customer tools in one product, with Intuit Intelligence AI handling categorisation, reconciliation, forecasting and document capture. Plans run from a free tier to Advanced at 25 users, with 800+ third-party integrations and self-serve setup in minutes. Heavier finance operations and multi-entity groups are pointed to Intuit Enterprise Suite.

Frequently asked questions

What does QuickBooks Online cost and how is it priced?

Pricing is per company and tiered by user count, billed monthly or annually. A free tier covers tracking income and expenses, two invoices a month and one connected bank account. Paid plans are Simple Start ($38/mo list, 1 user), Essentials ($85/mo, 3 users), Plus ($140/mo, 5 users) and Advanced ($340/mo, 25 users, 3 accountant seats). Intuit advertises 50% off for the first three months. Payroll, QuickBooks Time and Bill Pay are add-ons or higher-tier features, and payment processing, e-invoicing and extra ACH transactions carry usage fees.

How long does it take to get QuickBooks Online running?

QuickBooks is cloud-hosted, with nothing to download, and Intuit's pricing FAQ says it takes about five minutes to get up and running once you sync your bank or credit card transactions. There is no mandatory implementation fee and no annual contract. The practical catch is data quality: the value depends on how clean your historical books are, and Intuit sells Expert cleanup and full-service bookkeeping separately if you need help.

Does QuickBooks Online include payroll, workforce tools and AI?

Yes. Payroll and team management sync directly with the accounting records, with auto payroll for salaried employees on direct deposit, time tracking, contractor payments, benefits and HR onboarding. AI ships as Intuit Intelligence across the tiers: chat for insights, automated and categorised bookkeeping, reconciliation, anomaly detection, cash-flow forecasting, invoice and bill creation from photos, PDFs or forwarded email, and Business Tax AI deductions on higher plans. Individual AI features vary by tier and several are still beta.

How does QuickBooks Online fit our existing stack?

Intuit advertises over 800 third-party integrations, with connectors for Shopify, Amazon, eBay, Etsy, Square, PayPal, Mailchimp, Gusto, BigTime and Buildertrend, plus Gmail and Outlook integration for Customer Hub. Advanced users get Spreadsheet Sync to move data to Excel and back. There is no published MCP server, and the vendor does not document AI model providers, bring-your-own-key support or per-action AI audit logging, so buyers with strict AI governance requirements should validate those gaps directly.

Can we switch plans or cancel?

Intuit states that customers can upgrade between Simple Start, Essentials and Plus, switch plans or cancel at any time, with no annual contract. Cancellation takes effect at the end of the monthly billing period and no pro-rated refund is given, so access continues for the remainder of the period you have paid for. Discount offers apply only to the first three months and cannot be combined with other QuickBooks promotions.

Is QuickBooks Online right for our industry?

The vendor positions it broadly, but names construction most explicitly through Advanced project financials, job costing and a construction financials solution, with Intuit Enterprise Suite reserved for heavier multi-entity project costing. Ecommerce and retail businesses benefit from the sales-channel connectors and inventory tracking on Plus and above, and professional-services firms from time-to-invoice and project profitability. Anything needing deep ERP, MRP or multi-entity consolidation should be treated as out of scope for QuickBooks Online.