Skip to main content
Recurly, Inc. logo
Revenue VelocityEstablished · 15 yrs on market

Recurly

Subscription management and recurring billing platform for high-volume digital commerce

By Recurly, Inc. · 4.3/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Subscription and membership businesses (SaaS, media, DTC) billing $1M+ a year
  • Finance teams needing automated ASC-606 / IFRS-15 revenue recognition alongside billing
  • Shopify merchants launching native subscription apps
  • Global brands requiring 140+ currencies, 20+ gateways and 10+ payment methods
  • Retention-focused teams wanting dunning, cancel-save flows and churn modelling

Ideal size: 10–200+ employees people · Scale-up or enterprise with a billing, finance ops or RevOps function

Not for

  • Businesses selling one-off products with no recurring revenue
  • Very small teams wanting a free or sub-$100/month billing tool
  • Companies looking for an all-in-one ERP, inventory or POS system
  • Organisations requiring on-premise deployment

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

2–4 weeks

~30 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$30,000/yr

Starts at $2,988 · Starter: $249/month plus 0.9% of billing volume; All-Access: from under 1% of billing volume, billed annually

Implementation Friction

3/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.3

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Not seat-based; priced on billing volume and products selected

Add-on costs

  • Engage: from $1,600/month billed annually, based on prompt volume and capability needs
  • RevRec: from $850/month billed annually, based on billing volume

Company & support

Who is behind Recurly, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Recurly publishes a self-serve documentation hub with API references per product. Vendor pages describe a Customer Experience team but do not itemise support channels, hours or SLAs.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Recurly sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$710/yr$4k/yr$17k/yr$110k/yr$820k/yr6d10d14d23d33dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyRecurlyAirshipCampaign MonitorTwilioKlaviyoNosto

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

Recurly is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Recurly
  • Airship
  • Campaign Monitor
  • Twilio
  • Klaviyo
  • Nosto
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Recurly. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceIntegration
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Recurly ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Copilot / assistantAnomaly detectionPredictive analytics

Recurly Compass AI is described as combining subscription expertise with subscriber data: natural-language creation of plans and add-ons, generated API snippets, anomaly detection for fraud, declines and spikes, and automation of revenue-recognition close work. Engage adds an AI propensity-to-churn model. Model providers, key handling and data-training terms are not disclosed on the pages…

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Included in the plan

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedCMMC — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Recurly is a subscription management and recurring billing platform used by thousands of global brands. It covers plan setup, checkout, payment recovery, retention and revenue reporting, plus add-on Engage (retention and upsell), RevRec (ASC-606/IFRS-15 revenue recognition) and a native Shopify app. Pricing starts at $249/month for Starter plus 0.9% of billing volume, with volume-based All-Access plans above it. Recurly Compass adds AI-assisted configuration, anomaly detection and churn prediction.

Frequently asked questions

How is Recurly priced?

Recurly publishes a Starter plan at $249 per month plus 0.9% of billing volume, with the first $40,000 of monthly billings included at no charge. The All-Access tier is quoted as low as under 1% of billing volume, billed annually, with a $1M billing-volume minimum. Engage starts at $1,600 per month and RevRec at $850 per month, billed annually, sold as add-ons. Final commercial terms are custom and quoted by Recurly's team based on volume.

How much implementation effort should we plan for?

Recurly is cloud-only with a free sandbox, a public API reference, webhooks, pre-built gateway/tax/ERP/CRM integrations and no-code plan configuration, and no mandatory implementation fee is published. Buyers should still budget effort for payment gateway, tax and revenue-recognition integration work. The vendor pitches its Customer Experience team as an onboarding partner rather than quoting a fixed timeline.

Is Recurly secure and compliant?

The security page states Recurly is PCI-DSS Level 1 compliant and recognised on the Visa Global Registry of Service Providers, with TLS 1.2+ encryption in transit, segmented private networks, daily key rotation and 24x7 physical security. SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA and FedRAMP are not claimed on that page, so regulated buyers should request the security whitepaper and validate certifications directly.

What AI capabilities does Recurly provide?

Recurly Compass is described as AI that combines 15+ years of subscription expertise with subscriber data: natural-language creation of plans and add-ons, generated API snippets, anomaly detection for fraud, declines and spikes, and automation of ASC-606/IFRS-15 close work. The Engage product includes an AI propensity-to-churn model. The pages reviewed do not name model providers or state how customer data is used for model training.

Which systems does Recurly integrate with?

Recurly publishes pre-built integrations plus APIs, webhooks and custom checkout. Named partners include payment gateways Stripe, PayPal Complete, Worldpay, Checkout.com, Cybersource and GoCardless; tax providers Vertex and Avalara; CRM and engagement tools such as Salesforce, Zendesk, Braze and Mailchimp; accounting via QuickBooks and Xero; and a native Shopify subscription app.