Skip to main content
runZero, Inc. logo
Risk & ComplianceFounded 2018 · 8 yrs

runZero

Agentless exposure management that finds every IT, OT, IoT, and cloud asset others miss

By runZero, Inc. · 4.8/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Security teams that need agentless, credential-free discovery of unknown IT, OT, IoT, cloud, and remote assets
  • Organizations proving asset-inventory and vulnerability-enumeration controls for NIS2, DORA, NYDFS, PCI DSS, or NIST
  • Incident response and M&A due diligence where full-network inventory is needed in hours, not weeks
  • OT operators that must safely discover fragile industrial devices without disrupting production

Ideal size: Security team of 3–50; enterprise-wide rollout people · Mid-market to large enterprise with an existing security program

Not for

  • Teams looking for endpoint EDR, SIEM, or SOAR rather than discovery and exposure management
  • Cloud-only estates with no internal or OT network to scan
  • Very small environments (under 100 assets) can use the free Community Edition instead of paying
  • Buyers who want a fully managed security service rather than a platform

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

Same day (visibility in minutes)

~1 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$5,000/yr

Starts at $5,000 · Asset-count based Platform license starting at $5,000; free Community Edition up to 100 assets

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.8

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Unlimited users on both editions; licensing is by asset count, not seats

Add-on costs

  • Self-hosted console requires a Platform license plus the runZero Care support package

Company & support

Who is behind runZero, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2018 · 8 yrs in business
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Support is reached through the in-console Support link or the Contact Us form; self-hosted deployments require the paid runZero Care support package.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where runZero sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$3k/yr$4k/yr$7k/yr$18k/yr$54k/yr0d1d2d3dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyrunZeroBlumiraAfiStackHawkNordLayerKeeper

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

runZero is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • runZero
  • Blumira
  • Afi
  • StackHawk
  • NordLayer
  • Keeper
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including runZero. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNative

Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSIntegration
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceIntegration
Microsoft 365Integration
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What runZero ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
AI searchNLP automation

runZero 5.1 adds AI workflows: natural-language search, AI-assisted dashboard and report creation, autonomous discovery, and AI-assisted custom integrations that turn prompts into data connectors. The pricing page lists AI-assisted custom reports and AI-assisted custom integrations as Platform plan features; no model vendor or key arrangement is named.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Included in the plan

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Official MCP server
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

runZero is an agentless attack surface and exposure management platform from runZero, Inc. (founded 2018, now part of Dragos). It combines active scanning, passive discovery, and API integrations to inventory IT, OT, IoT, cloud, mobile, and remote assets, then prioritizes exploitable exposures. A free Community Edition covers up to 100 assets; the paid Platform starts at $5,000 and adds unlimited organizations, three-year retention, and AI-assisted reports and integrations.

Frequently asked questions

How long does runZero take to deploy?

runZero is agentless and credential-free, so you deploy lightweight Explorers at your points of presence and begin scanning immediately; the vendor says visibility arrives in minutes. A full-featured 21-day trial is available, and self-hosted consoles are supported for organizations that need them.

How is runZero priced?

There are two editions. The Community Edition is free for environments with 100 or fewer assets. The runZero Platform starts at $5,000 and is licensed by asset count, with unlimited users, unlimited organizations and projects, and three-year data retention. Self-hosting requires a Platform license plus the runZero Care support package.

Is runZero safe to run on OT and ICS networks?

Yes. runZero markets proprietary scanning that is designed and proven safe for even the most sensitive devices, and it uses passive traffic sampling alongside active scanning to discover OT, ICS, SCADA, PLC, and building-automation assets without agents or credentials.

Which compliance frameworks does runZero help with?

runZero publishes alignment guidance for CSRB, DORA, NIST CSF and 800-171, NIS2, NYDFS, and PCI DSS, and its docs include mappings to ISO/IEC 27001:2022, CMMC, NERC CIP, CIS CSC, and CISA BOD 23-01. These are compliance-alignment resources rather than statements of certification; certifications and audit reports are published in the runZero Trust Center.

Does runZero use AI, and is it included in the price?

Since runZero 5.1 the Platform includes AI workflows such as natural-language search, AI-assisted dashboard and report creation, autonomous discovery, and AI-assisted custom integrations. The pricing page lists the AI-assisted reporting and integration features as part of the runZero Platform plan.