Skip to main content
Sprout Social, Inc. logo
Ops EfficiencyFounded 2010 · 16 yrs

Sprout Social

Social media management platform for publishing, engagement, analytics and social listening

By Sprout Social, Inc. · HQ Chicago, US · 4.4/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Marketing and social teams that need publishing, engagement, analytics and listening in one platform
  • Mid-market and enterprise brands running high-volume social customer care across many profiles
  • Organizations that want one Smart Inbox to unify social messages and cut response times
  • Teams already on Salesforce, HubSpot or Zendesk that want social data flowing into CRM and helpdesk

Ideal size: 5–100+ seats people · Mid-market to enterprise brand with a dedicated social or customer-care team

Not for

  • Solo creators or very small businesses on a tight budget, since entry pricing starts near $79 per seat per month
  • Companies looking for a free or low-cost social scheduling tool
  • Buyers who need on-premise deployment or heavy custom development
  • Teams that only need basic post scheduling and no analytics, listening or care workflows

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

1–2 weeks

~14 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$23,880/yr

Starts at $948 · Per seat, billed annually: Essentials $79/seat/mo, Standard $199, Professional $299, Advanced $399, Enterprise custom. Typical annual cost assumes 10 seats on Standard.

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.4

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Per-seat pricing; Essentials and Standard include 5 social profiles, Professional and above get unlimited profiles.

Add-on costs

  • Social Listening add-on (Standard plan and up)
  • Premium Analytics add-on (Standard plan and up)
  • Employee Advocacy add-on (Standard plan and up)
  • Professional Services packages for implementation and strategy (Standard plan and up)
  • Influencer Marketing platform (no Sprout plan required)
  • Monthly AI agent credits per seat: 100 on each listed plan

Company & support

Who is behind Sprout Social, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2010 · 16 yrs in business
Headquarters
Chicago, US

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumPlan not stated
  • Help centre / docsNot listed
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Sprout points customers to its community, The Arboretum. Enterprise adds priority customer support and white-glove onboarding, and the Professional Services add-on provides guided implementation, training and strategy sessions.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Sprout Social sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$4k/yr$9k/yr$13k/yr$20k/yr$27k/yr12d13d14d23d33dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceySprout SocialTalentLMSBetterCloudArticulate 360AirtableMRPeasy

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

Sprout Social is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Sprout Social
  • TalentLMS
  • BetterCloud
  • Articulate 360
  • Airtable
  • MRPeasy
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Sprout Social. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceIntegration
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotIntegration
Google WorkspaceIntegration
Microsoft 365Integration
SAPNot supported
SlackIntegration

AI & MCP readiness

What Sprout Social ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

Copilot / assistantAgentic workflowsAI search

Sprout ships Trellis, described as an AI agent and AI teammate, plus AI Assist for enhancing posts and replies. Listening uses AI and machine learning for topic categories, sentiment scoring and spike alerts. Each seat includes 100 monthly AI agent credits. No model-sourcing or AI audit detail is stated on the pages reviewed.

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not heldISO 27001 — not heldGDPR — not heldHIPAA — not heldFedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Sprout Social is a social media management platform covering publishing, engagement, analytics and social listening. Its Smart Inbox unifies social messages and reviews, with AI Assist drafting, Trellis AI agent credits, and integrations into Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk, Slack and BI tools. Plans run $79–$399 per seat per month billed annually; listening, premium analytics and employee advocacy are paid add-ons, and Enterprise adds white-glove onboarding and priority support.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Sprout Social cost per year?

List pricing is per seat, billed annually: Essentials is $79 per seat per month ($99 if billed monthly), Standard $199, Professional $299 and Advanced $399, with Enterprise priced custom. Annual commitments are required for the listed rates. Add-ons such as Listening, Premium Analytics, Employee Advocacy and Professional Services cost extra.

How long does it take teams to get value from Sprout Social?

There is no software to install and a 30-day free trial with no credit card required, so most small and mid-market teams are publishing, monitoring and answering messages within a week or two. Deeper work such as helpdesk, CRM or BI integration sits on the Advanced plan and typically takes longer.

Does Sprout Social meet enterprise security and compliance requirements?

Sprout publishes a Security Center describing 24/7/365 monitoring, annual security and privacy training, encrypted and tested backups, third-party penetration tests and incident response aligned to ISO 27001 requirements, with a 99.9% uptime target and public status pages. SOC 2, HIPAA, FedRAMP and privacy certifications are not explicitly claimed on the pages reviewed, so buyers should request documentation directly.

What AI features are included?

Sprout describes Trellis as an AI agent and AI teammate, AI Assist for enhancing posts and replies, and AI or machine-learning driven listening for topic categories, sentiment scoring and spike alerts. Each seat includes 100 monthly AI agent credits on the listed plans. It does not state whether customers can bring their own model, and no AI activity logging or export is documented.

Which systems does Sprout Social integrate with?

Social networks include Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, TikTok, X, YouTube, Pinterest, Threads, Reddit, Snapchat and Bluesky, plus Messenger and WhatsApp. Business integrations include Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Marketo, Slack, Tableau, Salesforce Marketing Cloud Intelligence, Shopify, Google Drive, Dropbox, Canva, Adobe and Bynder, with helpdesk and CRM connections limited to the Advanced plan.

Is Sprout Social suitable for small teams?

The Essentials and Standard plans start at $79 and $199 per seat per month and cover up to five social profiles, so small teams can start lean with the free trial. However, per-seat pricing scales quickly with headcount, and unlimited profiles, message tagging and AI Assist for posts require the Professional plan.

Sprout Social Review: TTV, TCO & Best Fit (1–2 weeks to value) | Value-Position