
Stripe
Financial infrastructure to grow your revenue
By Stripe, Inc. · HQ South San Francisco, US · 4.5/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Businesses of any size that need to accept online and in-person payments in 135+ currencies and 100+ payment methods
- SaaS and subscription companies needing billing, invoicing, usage-based pricing, tax and revenue recognition
- Platforms and marketplaces embedding payments, payouts, card issuing and treasury through Connect
- Enterprise engineering and finance teams that want pay-as-you-go pricing with no setup or monthly fees
Ideal size: 1–10,000+ people · Startup to global enterprise; engineering or finance-led payments ownership
Not for
- Companies that must self-host payments infrastructure or run it entirely on-premise
- Buyers who want one fixed annual software fee rather than per-transaction pricing
- Merchants that only take cash or offline payments and have no online sales channel
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
10 minutes to first payment; longer for enterprise
~1 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$7,440/yr
Starts at $0 · Pay-as-you-go per successful transaction (2.9% + 30¢ domestic cards) with no setup or monthly fees; optional monthly subscriptions for Billing, Tax, Sigma and Data Pipeline
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
No seat licensing; pricing is per transaction and per product volume tier
Add-on costs
- Billing subscription starting at $620.00/month on a 1-year contract, or 0.7% of Billing volume
- Tax starting at $90.00/month on a 1-year contract, or per-transaction tax pricing
- Sigma $15.00/month monthly plan (from $10.00/month annual); Data Pipeline $65.00/month (from $50.00/month annual)
- Terminal hardware from $59.00 (Reader M2) to $329.00 (Reader T600), plus $10.00 per reader per month for cellular data
- Managed Payments 3.5% per successful transaction in addition to Payments fees
- Radar from $10.00/month or $0.05 per screened transaction
- Custom domain for payment pages and customer portal $10.00/month
Company & support
Who is behind Stripe, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- South San Francisco, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumAll plans
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Stripe publishes docs and API references at stripe.com/docs, runs an official Discord server for developer chat, and sells tiered managed support plans plus professional services.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Stripe sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Stripe
- Landbot
- Razorpay
- seoClarity
- Madgicx
- SimpleTexting
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Stripe. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Stripe ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Radar applies network-wide AI to fraud and abuse; AI-powered acceptance optimization (Authorization Boost) and the Optimized Checkout Suite model select payment methods; Sigma supports natural-language prompts; agentic commerce and an official MCP server support AI agent workflows. No source names the underlying model providers or states how AI is billed.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Not recorded
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Stripe is payments and financial infrastructure for online and in-person commerce. More than 5 million businesses use it to accept 100+ payment methods, run subscriptions and usage-based billing, automate tax and revenue recognition, embed payouts and issuing, and manage fraud. Pricing is pay-as-you-go from 2.9% + 30¢ per domestic card transaction with no setup or monthly fees, plus optional paid products for billing, tax, data and analytics. Integration ranges from no-code links to SDKs, APIs and an official MCP server.
Frequently asked questions
How quickly can we go live, and what does implementation involve?
Stripe says you can get up and running in as little as 10 minutes using no-code payment links or prebuilt Checkout, and Le Monde reported going live in under three months. Buyers choose between no-code setup, pre-integrated platforms, or an SDK and API build, and Stripe offers professional services plus certified consulting partners for complex integrations and migrations. Most teams start with one integration and add Billing, Tax or Radar later.
What does Stripe cost and are there hidden fees?
Standard pricing is pay-as-you-go at 2.9% + 30¢ per successful domestic card transaction, with no setup fees, monthly fees or hidden fees per Stripe's pricing page. Surcharges apply for international cards (1.5%), currency conversion (1%) and manually entered cards (0.5%). Optional products are subscription-based, for example Billing from $620/month, Tax from $90/month, Sigma $15/month and Data Pipeline $65/month, and card readers start at $59.
Which payment methods, currencies and markets are supported?
Stripe supports 135+ currencies and payment methods, including cards, wallets, bank debits and local methods such as Pix, UPI, BLIK, Klarna and Zip, online and in person through Terminal. Customer stories reference operations in 160 countries, and Stripe reports $1.9T in payments volume processed in 2025 with 99.999% historical uptime for its services.
Does Stripe use our data to train AI models?
Stripe's privacy policy lists training artificial intelligence models to power its services and protect against fraud as a use of personal data, and the page does not state an opt-out in the excerpts provided. Stripe's security page separately describes network-wide AI for fraud prevention, AI-powered acceptance optimization, and annual SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II audits of its controls. No source names the underlying model providers.
Which compliance certifications does Stripe hold?
Stripe's security page states it is PCI Service Provider Level 1 certified, produces SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II reports annually, publishes a SOC 3 report, is EMVCo Level 1 and 2 certified for Terminal, and aligns its security program with the NIST Cybersecurity Framework. Its privacy practices comply with CBPR and PRP and the EU-US, UK and Swiss Data Privacy Frameworks. No ISO 27001, HIPAA, FedRAMP or ISO 42001 claim appears.
Can Stripe support marketplaces and platform businesses?
Yes. Stripe Connect covers embedded payments, payouts, onboarding and platform management, and Stripe also sells Issuing, Treasury for platforms and Capital for platforms for embedded financial services. Platform customers such as Shopify, Lightspeed and Mindbody use Connect, Treasury and Terminal to embed financial products, and Stripe charges a starting 0.25% fee for platforms that deploy their own payments pricing to earn revenue per transaction.