
Sumo Logic
Agentic AI-powered security and cloud analytics to automate, detect and investigate at the speed of now.
By Sumo Logic, Inc. · HQ Redwood City, US · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- SOC and SecOps teams overwhelmed by daily alert volume that need automated triage, correlation and guided investigation
- DevOps, SRE and platform teams consolidating multi-cloud log management, monitoring and troubleshooting in one platform
- Regulated organizations that must retain, search and audit logs across AWS, Azure and Google Cloud for compliance evidence
- MSSPs and service providers packaging managed detection and response offerings on a single multi-tenant platform
Ideal size: 50–2,500 people · Scale-up or enterprise with a dedicated SecOps, platform or observability team
Not for
- Small teams with no log pipeline, no security program and no appetite for consumption-based licensing
- Buyers who need on-premises or air-gapped deployment only, since Sumo Logic is a cloud SaaS platform
- Organizations looking solely for endpoint protection or EDR rather than log analytics and SIEM
- Teams that require fully published, fixed list pricing before they will evaluate a vendor
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Under a week to first value
~5 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
On request
Consumption credits (Sumo Credits / Flex): unlimited users, pay for ingest, scans or retention. Vendor does not publish list prices; sales-quoted.
Implementation Friction
3/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Unlimited users on all plans; self-serve credit-card purchase up to $25,000
Add-on costs
- SIEM, Cloud SOAR and the SOC Analyst Agent require activation and minimum volume or user commitments
- Premium support with a named Technical Account Manager is optional and priced separately
- Data retention is billed on actual stored volume configured per data source
Company & support
Who is behind Sumo Logic, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Redwood City, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumPlan not stated
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteEnterprise only
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
Essentials includes standard 8x5 support; Enterprise Suite adds 24/7 P1 support. Premium support, optional at extra cost, adds a named Technical Account Manager, recurring status calls and onsite training.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Sumo Logic sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Sumo Logic
- GitGuardian
- Taktile
- Contrast Security
- Alloy
- Flagright
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Sumo Logic. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Sumo Logic ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Dojo AI is described as a multi-agent platform with Mobot, a conversational interface capped at 10 prompts per user per day on Essentials, and a SOC Analyst Agent that autonomously investigates alerts. The platform also lists AI-driven alerting, UEBA models, anomaly detection and predictive analytics.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Not recorded
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Sumo Logic is a cloud-native log analytics, SIEM and observability platform for security and operations teams, used by more than 2,500 customers. Its Dojo AI multi-agent layer adds the Mobot conversational assistant and a SOC Analyst Agent for autonomous alert triage and investigation. Credit-based licensing keeps users unlimited while metering ingest, scans and retention. The vendor cites SOC 2 Type II and FedRAMP Moderate Authorized.
Frequently asked questions
How is Sumo Logic priced, and what will we actually pay?
Sumo Logic sells consumption credits rather than seats: unlimited users, with cost driven by ingest volume, scans and retention. Essentials is the self-serve package and can be bought by credit card up to $25,000; the Enterprise Suite, SIEM, Cloud SOAR and the SOC Analyst Agent require a sales quote and minimum volume or user commitments. A Flex option advertises $0 ingest with pay-per-scan pricing. List prices are not published, so run the Flex estimator and confirm minimums with sales.
How long does it take to get value?
The vendor says Essentials customers can onboard in minutes and start investigating quickly, and one published customer reports being fully operational in five days. Realistically, first insights from a pilot log source are fast, while full value depends on onboarding all relevant sources, building dashboards and content, and tuning detection rules. Plan on days to first value and weeks to a couple of months for broad production coverage and migration off a legacy SIEM.
What AI capabilities ship with the platform, and how are they charged?
Sumo Logic markets Dojo AI as a multi-agent platform. It includes Mobot, a natural-language interface for analyzing logs and managing content (10 prompts per user per day on Essentials), and a SOC Analyst Agent that automatically investigates alerts and returns evidence-backed findings. The platform also lists AI-driven alerting, UEBA behavioural models, anomaly detection and predictive analytics. Mobot appears in plan feature lists; the SOC Analyst Agent requires SIEM and additional activation, so commercial terms should be confirmed in the quote.
Is Sumo Logic compliant with our regulatory requirements?
The vendor's security page states SOC 2 Type 2, PCI-DSS and FedRAMP Authorized (Moderate), and its trust badge list also names ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA and CCPA. Attestation scope, regions and retained evidence change over time, so request the current reports and confirm which certifications cover the specific deployment region and products you buy before relying on them in an audit.
Does it integrate with our existing stack, including AI clients?
Yes. Sumo Logic advertises 450+ apps and integrations covering AWS, Azure and Google Cloud, Kubernetes and OpenTelemetry, with alert routing into Slack, PagerDuty and ServiceNow. It also ships a Sumo Logic MCP Server that connects preferred AI clients directly to Sumo Logic Log Analytics and SIEM context, subject to documented API limits. Log Search APIs and Terraform-style management tooling support custom automation.