Skip to main content
Sumsub logo
Risk & ComplianceFounded 2015 · 11 yrs

Sumsub

AI-powered trust infrastructure for identity verification, AML compliance and fraud prevention at scale

By Sumsub · HQ London, England · 4.5/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Regulated fintech, crypto, trading and iGaming businesses that need KYC, KYB, AML screening and monitoring in one platform
  • Compliance teams that want to cut case-resolution time and manual review with AI-assisted case management
  • Companies expanding into new markets, languages and jurisdictions
  • Teams that want no-code workflow configuration and pre-built compliance blueprints

Ideal size: 20–500 people · Regulated scale-up or enterprise with a dedicated compliance or risk function

Not for

  • Businesses with no identity-verification or AML obligations
  • Buyers who want a single flat monthly price with no per-check metering
  • Very small teams that cannot meet a monthly minimum commitment
  • Organisations looking for a purely self-serve product with no sales or support contact

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

2–4 weeks (14-day free trial available)

~30 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$3,588/yr

Starts at $1,788 · Per successful verification, billed monthly against a minimum monthly commitment; credit cards accepted for all plans

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.5

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

No seat tiers — pricing scales with verification volume. Basic $149/mo minimum, Compliance $299/mo minimum, plus a custom enterprise tier

Add-on costs

  • AML Screening and Proof of Address are selectable extra features on the pricing calculator
  • Non-Doc Verification, Database Validation, Business Verification, Transaction Monitoring, Fraud Prevention and ongoing monitoring are only available on the Custom plan

Company & support

Who is behind Sumsub, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2015 · 11 yrs in business
Headquarters
London, England

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Vendor documentation is referenced on the homepage for developer integration; no support phone line, email address, live chat, SLA or support hours are stated on the pages reviewed.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Sumsub sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$31/yr$6k/yr$21k/yr$84k/yr3d9d14d23d33dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceySumsubContrast SecuritySonrai SecurityScytaleFlagrightSemgrep

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

Sumsub is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Sumsub
  • Contrast Security
  • Sonrai Security
  • Scytale
  • Flagright
  • Semgrep
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Sumsub. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceIntegration
AWSIntegration
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotIntegration
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackIntegration

AI & MCP readiness

What Sumsub ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Copilot / assistantAgentic workflowsAnomaly detection

Sumsub describes Summy AI Copilot, AI agents that handle integration and configuration, and AI-assisted exploration of verification and case data. Its compliance page describes AI-powered case management. No source states which models are used, whether customers supply their own keys, how AI actions are logged, or how AI is billed.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Not recorded

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Sumsub is a London-headquartered identity verification and compliance platform founded in 2015. It combines KYC, KYB, AML screening and monitoring, fraud prevention, Travel Rule and case management in one platform used by 4,000+ clients. Pricing is per verification against monthly minimums of $149 (Basic) and $299 (Compliance), plus a custom enterprise tier. Salesforce, HubSpot, AWS and Slack integrations are available, and AI features include the Summy AI Copilot.

Frequently asked questions

How is Sumsub priced?

Pricing is metered per successful user verification. The Basic plan is $1.35 per verification with a $149 minimum monthly commitment, and the Compliance plan (adding AML screening, ongoing monitoring and address verification) is $1.85 per verification with a $299 minimum monthly commitment. A Custom plan covers business verification, transaction monitoring, fraud prevention and other enterprise features.

Is there a minimum commitment and can I change plans?

Yes. The commitment is the minimum amount paid each month; once you exceed it you are charged a prorated amount for all additional checks. Sumsub states you can upgrade or downgrade at any moment by contacting customer support.

Is there a free trial?

Sumsub offers a 14-day free trial with 50 free checks. Credit cards are accepted for all plans.

Am I charged if an applicant does not complete verification?

No. Sumsub states that customers are charged for successful verifications only, which lowers the cost of abandoned onboarding flows.

What systems does Sumsub integrate with?

The integrations marketplace lists Salesforce and HubSpot for CRM sync, Slack for real-time alerts, AWS for cloud infrastructure, Auth0 and Okta for identity and access, plus AML data providers, blockchain analytics and Travel Rule partners such as Chainalysis, Elliptic, ComplyAdvantage and World-Check One.

What AI capabilities does Sumsub include?

Sumsub markets Summy AI Copilot, AI agents that connect to its documentation and configure verification flows and risk scoring in natural language, and AI-powered case management. It does not state publicly which underlying models it uses or how AI usage is billed.

Sumsub Review: TTV, TCO & Best Fit (2–4 weeks (14-day free trial available) to value) | Value-Position