
Uptycs
AI-native CNAPP that secures cloud workloads from development to runtime
By Uptycs · 4.2/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Consolidating cloud, container and endpoint security onto one data model and console
- Security teams that need runtime detection and response plus posture and vulnerability management in one CNAPP
- Lean teams that want optional 24/7 managed detection and response alongside the platform
- Enterprises standardising hybrid and multi-cloud (AWS, Azure, GCP, Kubernetes) security operations
Ideal size: Security teams of 10–200 people · Mid-market to enterprise with hybrid or multi-cloud workloads
Not for
- Small organisations with security budgets below the $12K annual minimum order
- Buyers who need published, self-serve list pricing for the full runtime/threat-detection tier (Secure is quote-only)
- Teams looking for a general-purpose GRC or IT compliance suite rather than cloud-native security
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
~30 days with guided onboarding
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$12,000/yr
Starts at $12,000 · Per-workload subscription billed annually; $12K minimum order per year
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
No seat tiers — licensed per workload or cloud workload, up to 8 processing cores per unit
Add-on costs
- Secure (Threat Operations) tier is quote-only and sits above the published Discover and Audit tiers
- Optional Professional Services: deployment assistance, custom dashboards, SQL/data modelling, SIEM/SOAR integrations, REST API development
- Optional tiered support plans and Managed Detection & Response (MDR) services
Company & support
Who is behind Uptycs, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsNot listed
- Dedicated account managerPlan not stated
- In person / on-sitePlan not stated
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
Support is sold in tiers; 24/7 round-the-clock assistance and assigned Technical Managers are advertised, and optional Professional Services and Managed Detection & Response (MDR) are available. Exact entitlements per tier are not published.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Uptycs sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Uptycs
- Infisical
- Whistic
- Sonatype
- Contrast Security
- Descope
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Uptycs. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Uptycs ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Uptycs markets "Verifiable AI" and an "AI-Native CNAPP". Juno AI Analyst is described as an integrated security analyst that interprets detection data, accelerates investigations and verifies conclusions; Ask Uptycs provides AI-based search over security infrastructure, and the Secure tier lists anomaly-based threat detection. No source documents model providers or AI usage logging.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Not recorded
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Uptycs is an AI-native CNAPP for hybrid and multi-cloud environments, unifying asset inventory, posture management, vulnerability management, runtime detection and response, and compliance across cloud, containers and endpoints in one data model. Its Juno AI Analyst and Ask Uptycs AI search help teams interpret detections and investigate faster. Pricing starts at a $12K annual minimum, licensed per workload, with SOC 2 Type II compliance, tiered support and optional 24/7 MDR services.
Frequently asked questions
What does Uptycs cost and how is it licensed?
Uptycs publishes a $12K minimum order per year and per-workload licensing: Discover starts at $3/month per workload and $5/month per cloud workload, and Audit at $6 and $10 respectively, billed annually. The Secure (Threat Operations) tier covering runtime protection and cloud detection and response is quote-only. Volume discounts and custom pricing are available for large deployments, and integrations with other security tools are included in the licence.
How long does implementation and onboarding take?
Uptycs emphasises fast onboarding: agentless asset discovery, cloud and Kubernetes deployment setup, and a Customer Experience team that handles initial configuration. The vendor offers a free 35-day trial using synthetic data before live deployment, and says setup involves "no heavy lifting". Professional Services can accelerate implementation. Budget roughly 30 days to first production value for a typical mid-market deployment.
Is Uptycs SOC 2 compliant, and how is customer data protected?
Yes. Uptycs states it maintains active SOC 2 Type II compliance. Customer data is treated as confidential, protected in transit with TLS 1.2 and encrypted at rest with AES-256, access is restricted and MFA-protected, and contracts can require deletion or return of personal data at termination. The company also publishes a sub-processor list and a security disclosure process.
What AI capabilities does Uptycs actually ship?
Uptycs markets "Verifiable AI" and describes Juno AI Analyst as a fully integrated security analyst that interprets complex detection data, accelerates investigations and verifies conclusions with evidence rather than a black box. Ask Uptycs provides AI-based search over your security infrastructure, and anomaly-based threat detection is part of the Secure tier. The company does not publish which third-party model providers it uses.
How does Uptycs fit our existing tooling?
The platform is designed to work alongside your current stack. The pricing page lists integrations with SOAR, SIEM and ticketing systems plus Slack and Jira, alert and risk forwarding to destinations such as Slack, Jira and SIEM, posture management for Okta, GitHub and Azure AD, and support for AWS, Azure and Google Cloud. REST APIs are available for application development.
What support and services come with the platform?
Uptycs sells tiered support plans, with round-the-clock 24/7 assistance and assigned Technical Managers advertised on higher tiers, plus regular operational reviews. Optional Professional Services cover end-to-end deployment, custom reports and dashboards, SQL and data modelling, SQL/API work and SIEM/SOAR integrations. Fully managed MDR services are also offered for teams that want to extend in-house security.