
Verdant
Modern permitting and planning software for local government.
By Verdant · 0.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Small and mid-size city or county planning and permitting departments
- Agencies moving off paper or legacy one-size-fits-all permitting systems
- Jurisdictions that need intake, plan review and commission decisions in one system
- Teams that want modular configuration to their own ordinances, forms and workflows
- Planning departments doing ordinance research and peer-jurisdiction benchmarking
Ideal size: 3–50 planning/agency staff people · Small municipal agency modernising paper-based permitting
Not for
- Large agencies with formal procurement, security attestation and reference requirements
- Private-sector developers, architecture firms or construction companies
- Organisations that need a published price list, SLA or certified compliance today
- Agencies needing a broad, documented integration catalogue
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Not stated by vendor
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
On request
Modular: buy only the modules you need, configured to your jurisdiction, ordinances, workflows and forms — 'pay only for what you use'. No public price list.
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not stated
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind Verdant, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsNot listed
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
The support page offers a 'send us a message' form; no phone line, chat, ticket portal, published hours or SLA is stated.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Verdant sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Verdant
- Abel
- GovWell
- GovPilot
- Citibot
- Clariti
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Verdant. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Verdant ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
The vendor privacy page states that AI (OpenAI and Claude) is used to analyse applications against local ordinances, parse PDFs and triage communications, with Reducto named as an AI/PDF-parsing subprocessor. No AI governance, audit logging or model-selection details are published.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- OpenAI, Anthropic
- AI pricing
- Not recorded
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Verdant is a modern permitting and planning platform for local government, covering resident intake, plan review and markup, hearings and commission decisions, plus ordinance research that benchmarks a city's code against peer jurisdictions. It is modular: agencies buy only the modules they need, configured to their own ordinances, forms and workflows. Backed by Y Combinator, it is very early — its marketing site launched in July 2026 — and publishes no pricing, security certifications or integration list.
Frequently asked questions
What does Verdant cost, and how is it priced?
Verdant publishes no price list. The vendor says agencies buy only the modules they need — intake, plan review, constituent communication, report generation, ordinance research — configured to their jurisdiction, and 'pay only for what you use'. Budget discussions require a demo and a scoped quote.
How mature is the product and the company?
Very early. The changelog's first entry is v0.1, dated July 3, 2026, which launched the marketing site; the team lists two co-founders with public-service backgrounds and is backed by Y Combinator. There are no published customer references, case studies or uptime history.
Is Verdant secure and certified?
Verdant publishes no security, trust or compliance page, so SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, FedRAMP and similar attestations cannot be confirmed. The privacy page states that subprocessors — including AI/PDF-processing vendors — are bound by data protection addenda and confidentiality agreements, which is a contractual control rather than a certification.
Does Verdant use AI, and is our data used to train models?
The privacy page says AI such as OpenAI and Claude is used to analyse applications against local ordinances, parse PDFs and triage communications, with Reducto also named as a subprocessor. The vendor does not state whether customer data is used to train or improve models, so that question must be put to them contractually.
What support is available?
Support is a message form on the vendor's support page. No phone line, live chat, ticket portal, published support hours, response-time commitment or dedicated account manager is stated, and there is no enterprise SLA published.
Does Verdant integrate with our existing systems?
No integrations are documented on the site, and no public API or MCP server is referenced. Any integration with finance, GIS, document management or identity systems would need to be confirmed with the vendor before purchase.