
Apptega
Continuous compliance and GRC platform built for MSSPs, MSPs and in-house security teams
By Apptega, Inc. · HQ Atlanta, US · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- MSSPs and MSPs productizing continuous compliance as a service
- In-house security teams managing multiple frameworks such as NIST, CMMC, ISO and PCI DSS
- Mid-market organizations replacing spreadsheets with an affordable GRC platform
- Providers that need multi-tenant client workspaces and framework crosswalking
- vCISO and advisory practices delivering recurring assessment engagements
Ideal size: 10–500 people · Scale-up, MSP/MSSP or security team formalizing multi-framework compliance
Not for
- Buyers needing FedRAMP authorization or sovereign on-premises deployment
- Teams that require fully published, transparent list pricing per seat
- Enterprises looking for a broad ERP or IT service management suite
- Organizations wanting bespoke quantitative cyber-risk modelling out of the box
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
2–4 weeks (14-day free trial)
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$12,000/yr
Starts at $0 · Annual subscription in three tiers: Essentials (free), Plus and Premium (quote-based), with add-on modules priced separately
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
No published seat minimum; Essentials free, Plus and Premium by quote
Add-on costs
- Audit Manager
- Third-party risk manager
- Integrations
- Custom branding
- Sub-accounts and multiple workspaces
- Additional frameworks and larger document storage
Company & support
Who is behind Apptega, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2018 · 8 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Atlanta, US
How you get support
- PhonePlan not stated
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Contact page lists Product Support email and a support phone line (+1 888-221-3911); the site footer links a support request form and a Knowledge Base. No support tiers, hours or SLA are published.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Apptega sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Apptega
- Automox
- JumpCloud
- Playroll
- Convera
- Mitratech
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Apptega. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Apptega ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Homepage states questionnaire-based automation highlights risk with AI-driven remediation advice, and the pricing page lists AI-Powered Remediation Recommendations as a plan feature. The vendor also announced AI-powered vCISO services in 2023. No model-provider, key-management or per-action AI audit logging details are published.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Apptega is a continuous compliance and GRC platform aimed at MSSPs, MSPs and in-house security teams. It automates questionnaire-based assessments across 30+ frameworks, crosswalks controls to cut duplicate work, and manages risk, policy, audit and third-party risk in one place. Founded in 2018 and headquartered in Atlanta, it supports 15,000+ compliance programs. Essentials is free with a 14-day trial; Plus and Premium are quote-based.
Frequently asked questions
How quickly can we reach first value with Apptega?
The vendor offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card, and assessments are questionnaire-based, so a first framework score can be produced within days. Apptega markets a 75% reduction in time to compliance and an average of three months to recoup the initial investment, which typically implies first production value within a few weeks rather than a multi-quarter rollout.
What does Apptega cost?
Pricing is tiered and partly quote-based. Essentials is free and covers one framework with assessment, program manager, risk manager, reporting, tasking, a document repository and SSO. Plus (three frameworks plus crosswalking and audit manager) and Premium (five frameworks, custom dashboards, third-party risk, multiple workspaces) require talking to sales. Modules such as Audit Manager, Third-Party Risk Manager, integrations and custom branding are add-ons.
How does Apptega fit an MSSP or MSP delivery model?
It was built for service providers: a multi-tenant portal, Partner Solutions Hub for mapping services to controls, framework crosswalking, and sub-accounts and multiple workspaces on higher plans. Apptega cites 1,000+ MSSPs, MSPs and businesses and partner results such as 110% growth in managed compliance customers and 45% average partner ROI.
Which compliance frameworks does Apptega cover?
The site advertises automated assessments against 30+ frameworks, with popular ones including NIST 800-171, NIST 800-53, CMMC 2.0, CIS, PCI DSS, GLBA, NIST CSF, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001. Framework crosswalking lets a team manage several frameworks as a single program instead of collecting the same evidence repeatedly.
What security and compliance certifications does Apptega hold?
Apptega's Trust Center displays a SOC 2 Type II badge plus PCI, NIST CSF, NIST 800-171 and CMMC Level 2 badges, and states one or more annual third-party audits, annual penetration testing, a disaster recovery plan, a subprocessors list, cyber insurance, DPA availability and deletion of customer data on request. It also notes reliance on AWS GovCloud (US). No ISO 27001 or FedRAMP claim is published.
Does Apptega include AI, and can we bring our own model?
Sources describe AI-driven remediation advice inside questionnaire-based assessments and list AI-Powered Remediation Recommendations as a plan feature; an AI-powered vCISO service was announced in 2023. The vendor does not state whether its model is bundled or customer-supplied, or whether AI actions are logged, so those details should be confirmed during evaluation.