Skip to main content
Buffer, Inc. logo
Ops EfficiencyFounded 2010 · 16 yrs

Buffer

Social media management for everyone

By Buffer, Inc. · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Creators and solo operators scheduling posts across many networks
  • Small marketing teams that need approvals, drafts and a shared calendar
  • Agencies managing many client channels with per-channel pricing
  • Teams that want social publishing driven from Claude, ChatGPT or other AI tools

Ideal size: 1–50 people · Solo creator through growth-stage marketing team or boutique agency

Not for

  • Enterprises requiring published SOC 2, ISO 27001 or FedRAMP evidence
  • Teams that need phone support or contractual response-time SLAs
  • Buyers wanting social listening, PR monitoring or enterprise social suites
  • Organizations needing on-premise or self-hosted deployment

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

Same day

~1 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$1,200/yr

Starts at $60 · Per connected channel, billed monthly or yearly; yearly billing saves 20%. Free plan available forever.

Implementation Friction

1/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.0

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Free and Essentials include 1 user; Team includes unlimited team members.

Add-on costs

  • None

Company & support

Who is behind Buffer, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2010 · 16 yrs in business
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailAll plans
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumPlan not stated
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Homepage describes a global Customer Advocacy team spread across time zones plus a public Discord community; the pricing page lists email support and a self-service Help Centre on every plan. No SLA is published.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Buffer sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$5k/yr$6k/yr0d4d14d17d22dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyBufferMyCaseUkuFinancial CentsLiscioAgencyAnalytics

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

Buffer is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Buffer
  • MyCase
  • Uku
  • Financial Cents
  • Liscio
  • AgencyAnalytics
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Buffer. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNative

Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceIntegration
Microsoft 365Integration
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Buffer ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

Copilot / assistantAgentic workflows

AI Assistant drafts, rewrites and repurposes copy on every plan including Free, and AI replies suggest comment responses. Through the MCP server, external AI agents can create posts, schedule them and read insights, with everything landing in the Buffer queue for human review before publishing.

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Official MCP server
Model key
Vendor's key
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not heldISO 27001 — not heldGDPR — not heldHIPAA — not heldFedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Buffer is a self-serve social media management tool for creators, small businesses and agencies. It schedules and publishes to Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, LinkedIn, Threads, Bluesky, YouTube, Pinterest, Google Business, Mastodon, Substack and X, plus a shared comment inbox and analytics. Paid plans start at $5 per channel per month billed yearly, with a free plan covering up to three channels. A native MCP server lets Claude, ChatGPT and other assistants draft, schedule and query content, included on every plan.

Frequently asked questions

How is Buffer priced for a team managing several brands?

Buffer bills per connected social channel, not per brand or per user. The Free plan covers up to 3 channels with 10 scheduled posts each; Essentials is $5 per channel per month and Team is $10 per channel per month when billed yearly, and annual billing saves 20% versus monthly. Volume discounts apply above 10 channels, so the average cost per channel falls as you add more. Unlimited users, approval workflows and branded reports are on the Team plan only.

How quickly can a team get value from Buffer?

Buffer is fully self-serve: sign up with an email, connect channels and schedule the first post the same day, with no implementation fee and no credit card needed for the Free plan. Paid plans start with a 14-day trial, and most integrations connect in one click, so most teams are publishing within a day or two.

Does Buffer support AI assistants and MCP?

Yes. Buffer runs an official MCP server, so Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, Raycast, Perplexity and similar tools can draft posts, schedule them, save ideas and pull performance data from your Buffer account. MCP access is included on every plan including Free, and anything created by an assistant lands in the queue for human review before it publishes.

What security and compliance certifications does Buffer publish?

Buffer's public security and legal pages cover its terms of use, privacy policy and API usage policies, but they do not publish SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA or FedRAMP certifications. Buyers in regulated industries should ask Buffer directly for current attestations and contractual commitments rather than assume them.

What support is included, and on which plans?

Email support and the self-service Help Centre are listed as included on every plan, including the Free plan. Buffer also runs a public Discord community and describes a global Customer Advocacy team spread across time zones, but publishes no 24/7 commitment or response-time SLA.