
Caspio
No-code and AI platform for building custom business applications with unlimited users and annually certified compliance.
By Caspio, Inc. · HQ Sunnyvale, US · 4.2/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Ops and IT teams replacing spreadsheets or MS Access databases with governed custom apps
- Regulated healthcare, education and financial services teams that need HIPAA, SOC 2 or FERPA controls
- Organizations with large external user bases, thanks to unlimited users on every plan
- Teams that want AI-assisted app building without maintaining a generated codebase
- Buyers who need an MCP server plus REST API so AI agents can work with live data
Ideal size: 5-500 builders; unlimited end users people · Ops- or IT-led mid-market to enterprise with compliance requirements
Not for
- Companies that need a free tier or headcount-based per-seat pricing
- Teams expecting a fully done-for-you product with no internal builder at all
- Workloads requiring FedRAMP-authorized hosting or residency outside US, CA, IE, UK, AU, BR
- Enterprises wanting an ERP or CRM system of record rather than an app platform
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Same day to about 2 weeks
~14 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$6,480/yr
Starts at $3,240 · Flat monthly platform fee per account with unlimited app users; 10% discount for annual billing.
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Unlimited app users on all plans; app authors: 5 on Team, unlimited on Business and Enterprise.
Add-on costs
- HIPAA/Compliance edition add-on: $500/month on a one-year term
- Jumpstart Onboarding: $600 one-time
- Enterprise Onboarding: $1,800 one-time
- Capacity add-ons: data records, DataPages, integrations, emails, file storage
- Caspio Credits: 1,000 credits $20/month; 10,000 credits $180/month
Company & support
Who is behind Caspio, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2000 · 26 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Sunnyvale, US
How you get support
- PhonePlan not stated
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatAll plans
- Support portal / ticketsAll plans
- Community forumAll plans
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Ticket response within 24 hours (Team/Business) and 2 hours (Enterprise); 99.9% uptime SLA on Enterprise.
Support is in-house: 24/7 live chat and 24/5 phone (+1 650 691 0900). Phone support starts on the Business plan; an assigned customer success manager is listed for Enterprise/Ultimate.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Caspio sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Caspio
- Assembled
- Retool
- BetterCloud
- Supabase
- Cal.com
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Caspio. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What Caspio ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Four documented AI capabilities on one governed platform: Caspi (builds apps from a description), an in-app AI chat agent for end users, AI Connector Extensions that enrich, classify, summarize and extract inside workflows, and the Caspio MCP Server for ChatGPT/Claude plus a documented REST API for agents. AI ships on every plan tier; HIPAA-eligible AI runs under Caspio BAAs with its model…
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- OpenAI, Google, Anthropic
- AI pricing
- Included in the plan
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Either
- AI usage audit
- Basic visibility
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Caspio is a no-code and AI platform for building custom business applications on a governed, annually certified foundation (HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR). AI ships on every plan: Caspi builds apps from a description, an in-app chat agent answers end-user questions, AI Connector Extensions add model steps to workflows, and a native MCP server connects ChatGPT or Claude to your data under role-based permissions. Plans start at $270 per month billed annually with unlimited users, 24/7 human support and no per-seat fees.
Frequently asked questions
What does Caspio cost, and how does the pricing model work?
Published plans are Team at $300 per month ($270 billed annually) and Business at $600 per month ($540 annually), with Enterprise quoted. Pricing is a flat platform fee with unlimited app users, so headcount does not drive cost; Team includes 5 app authors. The HIPAA/Compliance edition is a $500 per month add-on on a one-year term, and GovCloud is a separate edition. Optional onboarding is $600 (Jumpstart) or $1,800 (Enterprise). There is no free plan, only a 14-day free trial of the full platform.
How quickly can we get a first application into production?
Caspio offers a 14-day full-platform trial, and customers report building a functional app in a day or two; compliance capabilities are pre-built, so regulated apps often deploy in weeks rather than months. Optional Jumpstart Onboarding ($600 one-time) provides setup and technical assistance for a first app, and certified partners or Caspio Professional Services can deliver end to end. Our conservative planning figure is about two weeks to first production value.
Is Caspio credible for regulated or sensitive data?
Yes. HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II and GDPR compliance are independently certified annually, with full audit reports shared under NDA through the Trust Center. PCI DSS Level 1 is included in all paid plans, FERPA safeguards and WCAG/ADA/Section 508 support are stated, and ISO 27001/27017/27018 are inherited through AWS. The HIPAA Edition adds dedicated infrastructure, signed BAAs and a full audit trail. FedRAMP is not offered; the closest path is the AWS GovCloud FIPS 140-2 edition.
Can AI agents or assistants work with our Caspio data?
Yes. Caspio ships a native MCP server so MCP-capable assistants such as ChatGPT and Claude can query, insert, update and delete records in Caspio tables and views in natural language. Access is scoped through an API profile that starts with no permissions until you grant them table by table, and a documented REST API supports custom agent integrations. Caspio recommends starting read-only, and role- and record-level security continues to apply to agent traffic.
Which AI models does Caspio use, and is AI included in the plan?
AI capabilities are available on every plan tier, so no separate AI license is required; usage runs on Caspio Credits (100 included per month for testing, with purchasable blocks). The documented AI connectors name OpenAI GPT, Google Gemini and Anthropic Claude, and Caspio holds signed BAAs with those providers for HIPAA-eligible use. Some Enterprise plans support bringing your own OpenAI account under your own BAA. Caspio does not state on these pages whether customer data is used to train models, so confirm that under NDA.