Skip to main content
DeskTime logo
Ops EfficiencyFounded 2011 · 15 yrs

DeskTime

Automatic time tracking software for productivity insights

By DeskTime · 4.5/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Remote and hybrid teams needing automatic time tracking without timers
  • Agencies and consultancies billing client hours from tracked time
  • IT and software teams tracking project time against estimates
  • Managers who want objective productivity data instead of check-ins
  • Teams from 3 to 3,000+ employees that want self-serve setup

Ideal size: 3–3,000 people · Any size, from freelancers to distributed enterprises

Not for

  • Teams that will not accept any employee activity monitoring
  • Organisations requiring HIPAA or FedRAMP authorisation
  • Buyers looking for AI-native predictive workforce analytics
  • Companies that need on-site implementation and heavy services

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

Within days, not weeks

~3 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$5,500/yr

Starts at $77 · Per user, per month; annual billing includes one month free

Implementation Friction

1/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.5

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Pro and Premium self-serve; Enterprise for 200+ users

Add-on costs

  • None

Company & support

Who is behind DeskTime, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2011 · 15 yrs in business
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailPlan not stated
  • Live chatPlan not stated
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
  • In person / on-siteEnterprise only
Hours
Business hours
Response time
Not stated

Email support and live chat are staffed Mon–Fri 9:00–22:00 EEST. The Enterprise tier adds an account manager and personalised employee training sessions; a Help Center and contact form are available on all plans.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where DeskTime sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$390/yr$2k/yr$6k/yr$9k/yr$13k/yr1d3d7d16d39dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyDeskTimeFinancial CentsShareFileBufferRocket MatterSimplyBook.me

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

DeskTime is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • DeskTime
  • Financial Cents
  • ShareFile
  • Buffer
  • Rocket Matter
  • SimplyBook.me
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including DeskTime. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNative
Microsoft 365Native
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What DeskTime ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
NLP automation

The only AI feature documented is AI Summary, which produces instant text descriptions of daily and weekly work activity. No model provider, training or logging details are published.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Included in the plan

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 GDPR HIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

DeskTime is automatic time-tracking and productivity software for remote, hybrid and in-office teams. It runs on Windows, Mac and Linux, logging apps, URLs, documents and project time without timers, then turns that data into productivity calculations, reports and AI summaries. Pricing starts at $6.42 per user per month billed annually, Premium is $9.17, and Enterprise is custom for 200+ users. A 14-day free trial requires no credit card.

Frequently asked questions

How much does DeskTime cost?

DeskTime offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card required. Pro is $6.42 per user per month billed annually and Premium is $9.17 per user per month billed annually; monthly billing is also available, and annual billing includes one free month. Enterprise pricing is custom for organisations with more than 200 users. Listed prices exclude VAT.

How long does it take to get DeskTime running?

Setup is self-serve: create an account, download the desktop app, add employees individually or in bulk, and tracking begins automatically. DeskTime describes onboarding as minimal, and customers report going live in days rather than weeks, so a small team can usually see usable data in the first week. Enterprise buyers can request personalised onboarding and training.

Is DeskTime GDPR and ISO 27001 compliant?

Yes. DeskTime states on its security page that its practices align with ISO 27001 and ISO 27701 and that the services and the data generated comply with GDPR. Data is encrypted in transit and at rest by default, two-factor authentication is available, and the primary data centre is in Germany with additional services on AWS in Ireland.

Does DeskTime respect employee privacy?

DeskTime includes Private time, which lets employees pause tracking for non-work activity, plus screenshot blur and role-based access controls. The vendor positions the product as transparent monitoring rather than a spy tool, and employees can review the data collected about their own work activity.

What integrations does DeskTime offer?

Time is captured at the operating system level, so app and website activity is recorded without per-app integrations. Native integrations sync structure and time for Google Calendar, Outlook Calendar, Jira, Asana, Trello and GitLab; Zapier connects to 9,000+ tools; and a documented API supports custom connections, with custom API work available on Enterprise.

Is DeskTime suitable for large enterprises?

Yes. DeskTime says it scales from teams of 3 to organisations of 3,000+, and the Enterprise tier for 200+ users adds a custom API on request, an account manager and personalised employee training. Customers cite it for payroll automation, compliance reporting and productivity benchmarking across multiple countries and departments.