
Fergus
Job management software for tradies: quote, schedule, invoice and get paid.
By Fergus · 4.6/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Trade and field-service businesses (electrical, plumbing, HVAC, building, landscaping, cleaning) with roughly 1-30 staff
- Owner-operators who want quoting, scheduling, job costing, timesheets and invoicing in one mobile-first app
- Teams trying to cut office admin, track materials and get paid faster from site
Ideal size: 2-30 people · Owner-operated trade business moving off spreadsheets and paper
Not for
- Large construction or enterprise operations needing BIM, deep procurement or ERP-grade finance
- Buyers who require annual contracts, formal SLAs, on-premise hosting or heavy custom integration work
- Non-field-service businesses with no site visits, materials or timesheet-driven work
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
About 2 weeks (14-day free trial)
~14 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$3,708/yr
Starts at $636 · Per-user monthly subscription (no annual plans): Basic from $53/user/mo, Pro from $75/user/mo; timesheet users from $26/mo. Currency not stated on the pricing page.
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
No minimum seats; month-to-month per user. Custom Enterprise pricing for teams of 10+; contractor users $4/user/day.
Add-on costs
- Certificates: $30 for 1-9 staff, $80 for 10+ staff
- SMS alerts & reminders: $15 for 100 texts
- Credit card payments: 2.95% + $0.30 per transaction
- Contractor users: $4 per user/day
- Timesheet users: from $26 per month
Company & support
Who is behind Fergus, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhonePaid plans
- EmailAll plans
- Live chatAll plans
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
Basic includes email & chat support only; Pro adds phone. Vendor says support is local across New Zealand, Australia and the UK and available around the clock at no added cost. A free 1-hour onboarding session with a product specialist is included.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Fergus sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Fergus
- Wagepoint
- Resource Guru
- Harvest
- Fieldwire
- Service Fusion
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Fergus. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Fergus ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Fergus Assistant is embedded in the platform and uses existing job, quote, cost and invoice context. It creates jobs from a sentence, turns supplier PDFs into quotes, answers job and margin questions, builds reports and supports voice-to-text. Records it creates or changes need user confirmation and follow that user's permissions. Models and training terms are not stated.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Not recorded
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Fergus is job management software for trade and field-service businesses: enquiry to quote to schedule to invoice, with job costing, timesheets and payments in a mobile-first app. Plans start at $53 per user per month with no lock-in contracts, a free 14-day trial and no setup fees. It integrates with Xero, QuickBooks, MYOB, Zapier and 100+ trade suppliers, and an AI Assistant handles job creation, quote drafting and reporting prompts.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Fergus cost, and is there a lock-in contract?
Basic starts at $53 per user per month and Pro at $75, with additional timesheet users from $26. Billing is month-to-month per user with no lock-in contracts and no annual plan option; you can add or remove users and upgrade or downgrade mid-cycle with pro-rata billing. Optional paid add-ons include Certificates ($30 for 1-9 staff, $80 for 10+ staff), SMS packs ($15 per 100 texts) and credit-card payments at 2.95% + $0.30 per transaction. Teams of 10+ can request custom Enterprise pricing.
How long does it take to get up and running?
Fergus offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card required, plus a free one-hour onboarding session with a product specialist and self-serve walkthroughs, videos and help documentation. There are no setup fees, and quoting, scheduling, job cards and invoicing are usable from day one, so most small crews are productive within days rather than months.
What AI features does Fergus include, and does it act on its own?
Fergus Assistant works inside the platform using your existing customer, site, job, schedule, quote, cost and invoice data. It can create jobs from a sentence, turn a supplier PDF into a quote, answer questions such as which jobs are under 30% margin, build reports and accept voice input on web and mobile. It never creates, changes or sends anything without a confirmation step, and it follows each user's existing Fergus permissions. The sources reviewed do not state which models power it or how AI is billed.
Which accounting, supplier and other systems does Fergus integrate with?
Fergus syncs with accounting software including Xero, QuickBooks and MYOB for contacts, invoices and payments, and offers a Zapier integration covering 3,000+ apps. It also has premium supplier integrations for automatic price-book updates, purchase orders and invoice reconciliation (for example Reece, Bunnings Trade NZ, Corys Electrical, Ideal Electrical, Mico and Tradelink), plus email-based invoice ingestion for other suppliers.
What support is available, and when?
Basic includes email and chat support; Pro adds phone support. The vendor says its team is based in New Zealand, Australia and the United Kingdom and is available around the clock at no added cost, with help documentation, videos and setup resources included. A free one-hour onboarding session with a product specialist is included.