Skip to main content
CodeLathe Technologies Inc. (dba FileCloud) logo
Risk & ComplianceEstablished · 10 yrs on market

FileCloud

Hyper-secure enterprise file sharing, sync and governance — self-hosted or vendor-hosted.

By CodeLathe Technologies Inc. (dba FileCloud) · HQ New York, US · 4.6/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Regulated enterprises, government agencies and defense contractors needing HIPAA, GDPR, ITAR or NIST-aligned file sharing
  • Organizations that must keep files on their own infrastructure (on-premises, private cloud, air-gapped) while giving remote and branch staff access
  • IT teams modernizing legacy Windows file servers while preserving NTFS permissions and Active Directory groups
  • MSPs and service providers needing multi-tenant, white-label EFSS with unlimited free external user accounts
  • Security-conscious buyers wanting DLP, DRM, watermarking, ransomware protection and exportable audit trails built in

Ideal size: 100–5,000+ users people · Mid-size to large regulated enterprise, government body or MSP with an existing IT and storage team

Not for

  • Small teams or individuals wanting a free, consumer-grade cloud drive
  • Buyers who want a fully vendor-managed SaaS with zero infrastructure or admin overhead
  • Companies that only need lightweight document co-authoring and no governance, retention or DLP controls
  • Organizations unwilling to run Windows/Linux servers or manage upgrades if they choose FileCloud Server

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

2–6 weeks

~30 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$8,400/yr

Starts at $84 · Per-user subscription billed annually; FileCloud Online SaaS Essentials from $7/user/mo, Advanced from $14/user/mo; Server edition is self-hosted and quoted

Implementation Friction

3/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.6

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Minimum 10 users on Essentials and 25 users on Advanced; external user accounts are unlimited and free

Add-on costs

  • Premium live support sold at additional cost, beyond standard self-serve and limited email support
  • Professional services for system design, architecture, deployment and training, quoted separately
  • Signority e-signature available with a separate licence
  • Optimized multi-site architecture requires at least 3 days of professional services

Company & support

Who is behind FileCloud, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
New York, US

How you get support

  • PhonePlan not stated
  • EmailAll plans
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Base support is standard with all FileCloud products: self-serve online technical content plus limited email support. Premium live support and professional services (training, architecture, deployment) are paid add-ons.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where FileCloud sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$4k/yr$8k/yr$12k/yr$22k/yr$33k/yr11d21d30d31d33dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyFileCloudKnowBe4TenableJamfPersefoniHYCU

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

FileCloud is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • FileCloud
  • KnowBe4
  • Tenable
  • Jamf
  • Persefoni
  • HYCU
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including FileCloud. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNative
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceIntegration
Microsoft 365Native
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What FileCloud ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Document processing

Vendor pages describe a built-in AI classifier for automatic content classification and PII/PHI/PCI discovery within Smart Classification. No AI assistant, agentic workflow, MCP server, named model provider or customer-data training statement appears on the pages reviewed.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Not recorded

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR HIPAA FedRAMP — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

FileCloud (CodeLathe) is a hyper-secure enterprise file sharing platform, offered as vendor-hosted SaaS or self-hosted server software. It combines NTFS-compatible remote file access with governance: Compliance Centre templates for HIPAA, GDPR and ITAR, DLP, DRM, watermarking, retention and exportable audit logs. Online plans start near $7 per user per month billed annually, with a 10-user minimum; external accounts are free and unlimited. Suits regulated enterprises, government agencies and MSPs replacing FTP, VPN or legacy file servers.

Frequently asked questions

What does FileCloud cost?

Published pricing is $7 per user per month for Essentials and $14 per user per month for Advanced, billed annually. Minimum purchase is 10 users for Essentials and 25 for Advanced; external user accounts, API access and file size are unlimited at no extra licence cost. Government, education and service-provider pricing are quoted separately, and premium live support plus professional services are sold as add-ons.

Can we keep our data on our own infrastructure?

Yes. FileCloud Enterprise Server is self-hosted on Windows, Linux or Docker, on your own hardware, network shares or object storage, and can also run on AWS, Azure, Alibaba, GovCloud or air-gapped networks. FileCloud Enterprise Online is hosted by the vendor in a region you choose, with dedicated single-tenant, FedRAMP High and GovCloud options. Existing NTFS permissions and Active Directory or LDAP groups are preserved.

Which compliance standards does FileCloud support?

The vendor's security page describes Compliance Centre templates and controls for HIPAA, GDPR and ITAR, plus documentation for NIST 800-171, CMMC, FINRA and FIPS 140-2/140-3. FileCloud also markets FedRAMP High Authorized hosting for government workloads. Buyers should confirm exact scope, hosting region and evidence with the vendor before relying on any framework.

How does FileCloud use AI?

Vendor pages describe a built-in AI classifier used for automatic content classification and for finding PII, PHI and PCI content as part of Smart Classification. No AI assistant, agentic workflow, MCP server or named model provider is documented, and there is no vendor statement about whether customer data trains models, so those points remain unknown.

How long does implementation take?

FileCloud Online is advertised as needing no setup, so a hosted deployment can be live in days. A self-hosted Enterprise Server roll-out takes longer because it involves installing the server, connecting Active Directory, network shares and storage, and tuning policies. Professional services are optional but may be required for multi-site replication, so plan in weeks rather than days for on-premises.

FileCloud Review: TTV, TCO & Best Fit (2–6 weeks to value) | Value-Position