
Fleet
Open-source device management (MDM), patching, vulnerability and AI-tool governance for every OS
By Fleet Device Management · 4.3/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- IT and security teams that need one console for macOS, Linux, Windows, iOS/iPadOS, Android, and ChromeOS
- Organizations that want to manage devices as code (GitOps) with review, version history, and rollback
- Companies migrating off Jamf, Intune, or Workspace ONE without forcing every team to change tools
- Lean IT teams that value open source, self-hosting, and API/webhook automation
- Security teams needing CVE/vulnerability visibility, patch SLAs, and endpoint audit evidence
Ideal size: 2–50 IT/security staff people · Mid-market to enterprise with some IT engineering or platform capability
Not for
- Buyers who want a fully hands-off managed SaaS with no configuration-as-code work
- Organizations wanting vendor-delivered support on the free plan (Free is 'basic features, no support')
- Teams whose main need is cloud-workload, network, or SaaS security rather than endpoint management
- Companies without any IT/engineering capacity to run or integrate an MDM
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
~2 weeks (device migration)
~14 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$42,000/yr
Starts at $84 · Free tier at $0/host/month; Premium at $7 per host/month (~$84/host/year); Custom plan for large deployments
Implementation Friction
3/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Priced per host, not per admin seat; no minimum seat count stated
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind Fleet, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhonePaid plans
- EmailPaid plans
- Live chatPaid plans
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumPlan not stated
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-sitePlan not stated
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- 21 minutes average support response time (vendor-reported)
Premium support gives direct engineer access via email, phone, or a dedicated Slack channel; the Free plan states 'Basic features, no support'. Public community Slack channels and the GitHub issue tracker are open to all.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Fleet sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Fleet
- Caspio
- YAROOMS
- Notion
- Airtable
- Trovata
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Fleet. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What Fleet ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Fleet markets 'AI-powered IT': AI-generated report descriptions, natural-language change proposals using the customer's existing AI assistant, and AI governance for shadow AI, MCPs, and IDE extensions on endpoints. No source names the models involved or how AI usage is logged.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Not recorded
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Fleet is an open-source device management (MDM) platform for macOS, Linux, Windows, iOS/iPadOS, Android, and ChromeOS. One console covers MDM, patching, software deployment, CVE scanning, and AI-tool governance, with GitOps/infrastructure-as-code, a REST API, webhooks, and an MCP server. It can be self-hosted or vendor-hosted. Free tier; Premium is $7 per host/month. 1,300+ organizations and 2M+ devices, including Stripe, Fastly, and Foursquare.
Frequently asked questions
How is Fleet priced?
Fleet lists a Free plan at $0 per host per month with basic features and no support, and a Premium plan at $7.00 per host per month for endpoint management and protection (about $84 per host per year). A Custom plan is quoted by sales for teams with large deployments. Pricing is per host rather than per admin seat, and no mandatory implementation fee is published.
How long does it take to migrate to Fleet?
Fleet says customers can migrate some or all of their devices in as little as two weeks, and Fastly reported unified endpoint and infrastructure visibility in under 60 days. Fleet supports MDM migration from macOS, iOS/iPadOS, Windows, and Linux devices, so subsidiaries, partners, or acquired teams can enroll without migrating their existing tools first.
Can we self-host Fleet, or must we use the vendor cloud?
Both. Fleet offers managed cloud and self-hosted deployment, including air-gapped environments where technologically possible, plus pre-built Terraform modules and Helm charts. Deployment can live in your own AWS, Azure, or GCP account, and configuration can be managed as code via fleetctl, GitHub Actions, or GitLab CI.
What AI features does Fleet actually provide?
Fleet markets AI-powered IT: reports can include optional AI-generated descriptions, changes can be proposed in natural language using the customer's existing AI assistant with human review before they reach devices, and Fleet governs shadow AI on endpoints such as MCPs, IDE extensions, and browser plugins. Fleet adds AI to a device-management product rather than being an AI-native tool, and no source states which models are used or how AI activity is logged.
What support is included, and on which plans?
The Free plan states basic features with no support. Premium includes professional support with direct access to engineers via email, phone, or a dedicated Slack channel, and Fleet reports an average support response time of 21 minutes. Public community Slack channels, documentation, and the open-source GitHub issue tracker are available to everyone.
Is Fleet certified for security and compliance?
Fleet's site displays SOC 2 Type 2, and its security policy states that vulnerability issues are tracked to maintain SOC 2 compliance. Fleet also provides the controls regulated teams usually need: enforced disk encryption, OS update enforcement, CIS benchmark policies, audit logging, role-based access control, and conditional access via Okta or Microsoft Entra ID. No ISO 27001, HIPAA, FedRAMP, or ISO 42001 claim appears in the sources reviewed.