Skip to main content
Flint logo
Ops EfficiencyNew to marketNewest entrant

Flint

Personalized learning built for schools

By Flint · 4.5/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

ServesEducation

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • K-12 schools (grades 3 and up) rolling out AI with teacher control and educator oversight.
  • Teachers who want differentiated practice, tutoring and writing feedback grounded in their own class materials.
  • Schools and districts that need FERPA-aligned, COPPA-compliant and GDPR-compliant AI with a signed DPA.
  • International schools connected to Google Classroom, Canvas, Schoology, Blackbaud or PowerSchool.

Ideal size: School-wide rollout: 80-5,000+ users people · School with an AI policy or committee and an admin owner for rollout

Not for

  • Universities and higher-education programs (product is built for K-12).
  • Individual tutors or consumers buying outside a school rollout.
  • Organizations that require published SOC 2, ISO 27001 or FedRAMP attestations.
  • Teams wanting a bring-your-own-model or fully open AI stack.

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

About a week to first classroom use

~7 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$6,500/yr

Starts at $3,000 · Per-school user bands billed annually or month-to-month; free for up to 80 users

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.5

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Up to 150 users $3,000/yr; up to 250 users $4,000/yr; up to 500 users $6,500/yr; 500+ users custom

Add-on costs

  • None

Company & support

Who is behind Flint, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatPlan not stated
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerPaid plans
  • In person / on-sitePaid plans
Hours
Business hours
Response time
Not stated

Live chat stated as 9:00 AM-9:00 PM U.S. Eastern; one pricing FAQ mentions 24/7 chat. Paid licenses include unlimited PD, 1-1 onboarding, bookable support calls and a dedicated customer success manager.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Flint sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$2/yr$9/yr$620/yr$39k/yr1d2d5d14d42dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyFlintMagicSchoolBrisk TeachingClassLinkAddigyCuripod

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

Flint is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Flint
  • MagicSchool
  • Brisk Teaching
  • ClassLink
  • Addigy
  • Curipod
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Flint. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceIntegration
Microsoft 365Integration
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Flint ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI-native
Copilot / assistantDocument processingAI governance tooling

Teachers choose the AI's role and rules per activity; replies are grounded in teacher-uploaded class materials (slides, worksheets, links). Every student AI interaction is logged and visible to teachers and administrators, who can export student data. AI components are audited under the EU AI Act.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Never trains on your data
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Not recorded

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Full audit trail

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR HIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedCMMC — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Flint is a K-12 AI learning platform used by 200,000+ teachers to build teacher-controlled AI tutoring, practice and feedback activities. Teachers set the AI's role and rules, ground it in their own class materials, and see every student interaction. Sold in per-school user bands from $3,000/year, free for up to 80 users, with SIS/LMS sync via Edlink, included PD and a dedicated CSM on paid plans. GDPR compliant and FERPA aligned, with COPPA-compliant access for students under 13.

Frequently asked questions

How is Flint priced, and what does the free tier cover?

Flint is free for up to 80 users, who can be students, teachers or administrators. Paid plans are annual per-school bands: $3,000/year up to 150 users, $4,000 up to 250 users, $6,500 up to 500 users, and custom above that. Paid plans add SIS/LMS integration, school-wide analytics and a dedicated customer success manager, and can be billed month-to-month.

Is student data used to train AI models?

No. Flint's security page states student data is never shared with third parties and never used to train AI models, is kept separate for each school, and is not accessible to the AI providers Flint runs on. It says the same rules apply to teacher and administrator data.

Which compliance standards does Flint meet?

Flint states it is GDPR compliant and FERPA aligned, and supports COPPA-compliant use by students under 13 through a school technology waiver that Flint reviews. It also audits its AI components under the EU AI Act. No SOC 2, ISO 27001 or FedRAMP attestation is published.

How long does rollout take and what support is included?

Rosters sync in one click from Google Classroom, Canvas, Schoology, Blackbaud, PowerSchool and dozens of other LMS/SIS systems through Edlink. Paid licenses include unlimited professional development, bookable 1-1 onboarding and support calls, and a dedicated customer success manager; live chat is offered 9:00 AM-9:00 PM U.S. Eastern.

Does Flint just give students the answer?

Teachers control the AI's behavior for each activity. By default Flint's AI challenges students with hints and steps rather than handing over answers, nudges them back to the teacher's learning objective, and grounds replies in teacher-uploaded materials. Every student AI interaction is logged and visible to teachers and administrators.