HeyGen
AI avatar video platform: create videos with your own digital twin in 175+ languages.
By HeyGen · 4.8/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Marketing and sales teams producing personalized, multilingual video at scale without cameras or crews
- L&D and enablement teams replacing studio training video with avatar-led modules (SCORM export on Business)
- Enterprises localizing existing footage into 175+ languages with voice cloning and lip-sync
- Agent-driven workflows that generate video from prompts inside ChatGPT, Claude or Cursor via MCP
- Solo creators and SMBs starting on the free tier and scaling into paid plans
Ideal size: 5–500 seats people · Scale-up or enterprise with a content, L&D or revenue-marketing team
Not for
- Buyers who need bespoke cinematography, actors or full creative production
- Organizations that require customer data residency outside the United States
- Regulated clinical or lending workflows needing PHI-grade or FedRAMP-grade systems
- Teams expecting low-cost per-seat collaboration — workspace features start on Business
- Companies that prohibit generative-AI avatars or synthetic media
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Same day – first video in minutes
~1 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$3,900/yr
Starts at $288 · Free tier; paid per-workspace subscription with monthly credits — Creator $29/mo, Pro from $49/mo, Business $149/mo + $20/seat/mo; annual billing discount
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Creator/Pro include 1 user seat; Business includes 1 seat plus $20/seat/month; Enterprise custom
Add-on costs
- Additional credits via one-time packs or auto-reload (Business)
- Additional custom video avatars (paid add-on)
Company & support
Who is behind HeyGen, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatPlan not stated
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Pricing page lists live chat support and, on Enterprise, priority customer support, a dedicated customer success manager and tailored onboarding; the help centre is at help.heygen.com. No support SLA or 24/7 claim is published.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where HeyGen sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- HeyGen
- ActiveCampaign
- Dropbox Sign
- Close
- OnceHub
- Thinkific
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including HeyGen. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What HeyGen ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Video Agent turns a prompt into a finished video; text-, image-, audio- and PPT/PDF-to-video are documented, and translation covers 175+ languages with voice cloning and lip-sync. MCP and agent-platform integrations let ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor and similar tools call HeyGen directly. No BYOK option or per-action AI audit log is documented.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Trains by default; you can opt out
- Runs on
- Its own models
- AI pricing
- Included in the plan
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
HeyGen is an AI avatar video platform for marketing, sales outreach, training and localization. Teams create a Personal Avatar, then generate on-brand videos from scripts in 175+ languages with lip-synced translation, plus agent-driven generation through its own MCP server and direct HubSpot, Slack, Salesforce and Snowflake integrations. Self-serve from a free tier to Business at $149/mo plus $20/seat; SOC 2 Type II and GDPR are claimed, customer data is stored in the US, and enterprise data is excluded from model training by default.
Frequently asked questions
How fast can our team reach first value with HeyGen?
Very fast. There is a free plan with no credit card, and the pricing FAQ says a video typically generates within a minute, with longer or multi-scene videos taking a few minutes. Direct integrations are click-and-authenticate, and the MCP server uses OAuth with no API key. HeyGen's own ROI FAQ claims enterprises typically see ROI within a few days. Most of the effort is brand setup — brand kit, brand glossary, avatar consent — not technical implementation, which is why we rate implementation friction low.
What will HeyGen cost a mid-sized team?
Published list pricing: Free $0 (3 videos/month), Creator $29/mo (about $24/mo billed annually), Pro from $49/mo up to $4,300/mo at 100,000 credits, Business $149/mo including one seat plus $20/seat/month, and Enterprise by quote. Annual billing lowers the effective monthly rate and improves credit rollover. Credits are the single currency across features; Business users can buy top-up packs or enable auto-reload. Budget roughly $3,000–4,000 per year for a small Business-plan team before top-ups.
Does HeyGen train its AI models on our content?
HeyGen's security page states that enterprise customers' data is excluded from AI model training by default, that non-enterprise customers may opt out at any time by contacting support, and that its contracts with AI subprocessors prohibit using customer data to train their models. The privacy policy separately describes customer input being used to train and enhance models, with a right to object or opt out. Before rollout, confirm in your contract that the enterprise exclusion applies to your account.
How does HeyGen fit our existing stack?
HeyGen ships a hosted MCP server (mcp.heygen.com/mcp/v1) so video generation can be called from ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Cursor, Codex, Gemini CLI, Grok, Lovable, Manus and Superhuman. It also lists direct OAuth/API integrations for HubSpot, Canva, Adobe Express, Zapier, Make, n8n and Vimeo, with MCP workflows for Salesforce, Slack, Snowflake, Google Drive, Notion, Asana, Jira/Confluence and more. MCP renders draw on the credits already in your plan — the FAQ states there are no separate charges.
Is HeyGen appropriate for regulated industries such as healthcare or finance?
HeyGen claims SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, CCPA, EU-US Data Privacy Framework certification and EU AI Act alignment, runs annual third-party penetration tests, supports SSO/SCIM and audit logs, and stores all customer data in the US on AWS. Every custom avatar requires verified on-camera consent, and moderation combines ML scanning with human review. Note that HIPAA and FedRAMP are not claimed and no BAA is advertised, so PHI-heavy or federal work needs separate diligence.
Do the MCP and agent integrations require developer time or API keys?
No. HeyGen's MCP documentation states that remote MCP uses OAuth tied to your HeyGen account and requires no API key, and the integrations page says direct integrations need no code. Developers who want programmatic control can use HeyGen's REST API with an X-Api-Key header; HeyGen for Developers offers production APIs for Video Agent, video generation, translation and lipsync models. Note that MCP usage is metered in the same credits as the web app.