
Thinkific
Learning commerce platform to create, sell, and scale courses, communities, and memberships
By Thinkific Labs Inc. · HQ Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada · 4.5/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Experts and creators turning subject-matter expertise into courses, memberships, and digital products
- Academies and training organizations that want courses, community, and commerce in one platform
- B2B and SaaS companies running customer, partner, and reseller education programs on Thinkific Plus
- Teams that need to launch and sell online learning without developers or a separate payment stack
Ideal size: 2-500 (Plus for larger programs) people · Scale-up, academy, or enterprise education team with a dedicated learning owner
Not for
- Organizations standardizing on Microsoft Entra ID for SSO; Entra ID requires a third-party connector
- Programs that require xAPI or CMI5 content packages; Thinkific supports SCORM only
- Buyers looking for a free plan; Thinkific offers a 30-day trial instead
- Regulated employee-compliance programs needing HIPAA, FedRAMP, ISO 27001, or CMMC coverage
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Median 64 days to launch (Plus)
~64 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$1,968/yr
Starts at $480 · Tiered site subscription billed monthly or annually (annual saves 25%); Thinkific Plus is flat-rate custom pricing with no per-learner or setup fees
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Admin seats: 1 (Basic), 2 (Start), 6 (Grow); 10,000 students included on standard plans; Plus custom with 10,000+ seats
Add-on costs
- Branded Mobile App $199/mo (included on select Plus plans)
Company & support
Who is behind Thinkific, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2012 · 14 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
How you get support
- PhonePlan not stated
- EmailAll plans
- Live chatAll plans
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumPlan not stated
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Grow: priority chat, 'reach a human in minutes, not days'; Plus includes an SLA with 99.5% uptime.
Basic and Start include email and chat; Grow adds phone and priority chat; Plus adds a Dedicated Customer Success Team. Comprehensive knowledge base and Thinkific Academy are listed across plans.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Thinkific sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Thinkific
- LearnWorlds
- Better Proposals
- Airmeet
- Dropbox Sign
- BigTime
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Thinkific. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Thinkific ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Thinker is the AI teaching assistant, GA on Thinkific Plus since Feb 2026; it answers learner questions only from the organization's own content, with no open-internet grounding and no manual training. Native authoring adds an AI Course Outline Generator and AI Quiz Generator; analytics dashboards include AI-generated summaries.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Never trains on your data
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Not recorded
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Thinkific is a learning commerce platform that combines course delivery, community, memberships, and native checkout in one branded system. Founded in 2012 and headquartered in Vancouver, Canada, it serves 35,000+ businesses across 100+ countries and publishes standard plans from $40/month billed annually, with Thinkific Plus as a flat-rate enterprise tier for customer, partner, and reseller education. Buyers value the no-developer setup, SCORM support, SOC 2 Type II posture, and configurable AI tools; Plus customers report a median 64-day launch.
Frequently asked questions
How long does it take to get live on Thinkific?
Thinkific Plus customers go live in a median of 64 days, with a dedicated launch specialist, 1:1 onboarding, and migration support; Thinkific charges no setup fees. Self-serve Basic, Start, and Grow plans are designed to launch without developers, and every account starts with a 30-day free trial.
What does Thinkific cost?
Basic is $54/mo, Start $109/mo, and Grow $219/mo billed monthly, or $40, $82, and $164 respectively billed annually (25% saving). Thinkific Plus uses flat-rate custom pricing with no per-learner fees and no setup fees. Payment processing is 2.9% via Thinkific Payments; third-party gateways add a per-plan fee.
Is Thinkific secure and compliant enough for enterprise review?
Thinkific states SOC 2 Type II compliance, TLS 1.2+ encryption in transit, AES-256 at rest, quarterly third-party penetration tests, and GDPR/CCPA-aligned data handling with a DPA. Plus adds SSO via OpenID Connect and a 99.5% uptime SLA. No HIPAA, FedRAMP, ISO 27001, or CMMC claims appear in the vendor's security documentation.
What AI does Thinkific actually ship?
Thinker, an AI teaching assistant, is generally available on Thinkific Plus and answers learner questions only from the organization's own content, with no open-internet grounding. Native authoring adds an AI Course Outline Generator and quiz generator, and dashboards include AI-generated summaries. Thinkific states AI interaction data is not used to train AI models.
Can Thinkific replace our internal LMS?
It fits externally facing education (customer, partner, and reseller training), where Plus adds multi-tenant Environments, white-label branding, SCORM imports, SSO, CRM integration, and advanced analytics. It is not positioned for internal employee compliance training, does not support xAPI or CMI5 packages, and relies on third-party tools for Microsoft Entra ID sign-in.
How does Thinkific fit our existing stack?
Thinkific Plus integrates natively with Salesforce and HubSpot, offers a REST API with webhooks from Grow upward, and connects to Zapier, Mailchimp, ConvertKit, Google Analytics, and QuickBooks through its App Store. SSO uses OpenID Connect with Okta, Auth0, JumpCloud, AWS Directory Service, and Amazon Cognito; Microsoft Entra ID needs a third-party connector.