Laserfiche
Intelligent content management and process automation platform for secure, AI-assisted document workflows
By Laserfiche · HQ Long Beach, United States · 4.7/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Regulated organizations (government, financial services, healthcare, education) that need auditable document management and records retention
- Teams automating document-heavy processes such as invoice processing, contract review and HR onboarding with low-code workflows
- Mid-size and large organizations consolidating content from many repositories into one governed system
- Departments that need Microsoft 365 collaboration alongside a controlled content repository
Ideal size: 25–500+ users people · Mid-market or public-sector organization with formal records, audit or compliance obligations
Not for
- Very small teams wanting a free or low-cost document store — Professional starts at five users and $875/user/year
- Buyers who only need a lightweight task tool and have no records, retention or audit requirements
- Companies that cannot fund professional services or a phased implementation
- Anyone looking for an EHR, ERP, MES or student information system
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
3–6 months (phased rollout)
~90 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$55,750/yr
Starts at $4,375 · Per user, billed annually: Professional $875/user/yr (5-user min), Business $1,115/user/yr (25-user min), Business+ $500/user/yr (500-user min)
Implementation Friction
3/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
5 users (Professional), 25 users (Business), 500 users (Business+); Cloud Starter and self-hosted Laserfiche 12 quoted separately
Add-on costs
- Enterprise Security add-on (multi-region failover, four-hour snapshots, FIPS 140-3 modules) for Business tier
- Vault WORM storage, Advanced Audit Trail, Records Management, Sandbox and Participant Users sold as add-ons on select tiers
- Additional API calls available for purchase beyond plan allowances
- DocuSign, Salesforce and SDK integrations are add-ons on some plans
- Instructor-led training is a paid add-on on all tiers; professional services and implementation fees are excluded from listed pricing
Company & support
Who is behind Laserfiche, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 1976 · 50 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Long Beach, United States
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatPlan not stated
- Support portal / ticketsAll plans
- Community forumAll plans
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Premium support: within 4 business hours; Basic support: within 24 business hours
Basic support is standard for every Laserfiche system; Premium adds faster response, fast-track escalation and direct chat for authorized contacts. 24/7 online technical support is via the support site and Laserfiche Answers forums.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Laserfiche sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Laserfiche
- ABBYY
- Absorb LMS
- Fyle
- Perk
- Cribl
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Laserfiche. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Laserfiche ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Laserfiche AI includes AI Agents (natural-language, multi-step task automation), Smart Fields (extraction, classification and tagging), Smart Chat (repository Q&A) and Document Summarization. Each plan bundles an annual AI Units allowance (1k / 50k / 250k by tier).
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Never trains on your data
- Runs on
- OpenAI
- AI pricing
- Included in the plan
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Vendor's key
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Laserfiche is an enterprise content management platform from a vendor founded in 1976 and headquartered in Long Beach, California. It combines document management, low-code workflow automation, e-forms and records management with AI features such as AI Agents, Smart Fields extraction and Smart Chat. Pricing starts at $875 per user per year with a five-user minimum on the Professional tier, and references are strongest in regulated government, financial services, healthcare and education.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Laserfiche cost per user per year?
Laserfiche Cloud is sold per user with annual billing. The Professional tier is $875/user/year with a five-user minimum, Business is $1,115/user/year with a 25-user minimum, and Business+ is $500/user/year with a 500-user minimum. Cloud Starter and self-hosted Laserfiche 12 are quoted separately. Listed pricing excludes professional services and implementation fees, and several capabilities (Enterprise Security, Vault, extra API calls) are paid add-ons.
How long does it take to get value from Laserfiche?
Laserfiche does not publish a time-to-first-value figure. Its pricing FAQ states that professional services may be offered at additional cost to support deployment and a fast return on investment. Budget for a phased rollout: pilot one department or process with prebuilt templates from the Laserfiche Solution Marketplace, validate automations in the sandbox (Business+), then scale repositories and records policies.
Does Laserfiche train AI models on our content?
No, according to Laserfiche's Trust and Compliance page: the vendor states it does not use customer data to train any internal or external AI models, and that AI data is encrypted at rest (AES-256) and in transit. It says it collects only de-identified usage data. The same page notes that OpenAI may store prompts and responses temporarily for up to 30 days to deliver the service and detect abuse.
Which security certifications and frameworks does Laserfiche cover?
The Trust and Compliance page lists SOC 2 Type 2 Plus, ISO/IEC 27001:2022 for its ISMS, HIPAA covered by its SOC 2 Type 2 Plus report, CJIS-ready controls, DoD 5015.2-based records management, SEC Rule 17a-4 WORM support, NIST 800-53 alignment and a completed HECVAT questionnaire. GovRAMP Verified is listed as pending. FedRAMP, ISO 42001 and IAPP AIGP certifications are not stated there.
What support is included and how fast is it?
Every new Laserfiche customer gets the Basic support plan, which includes support-site access, the Laserfiche Answers community forum, online learning resources and webinars, with a stated 24-business-hour response time. Premium support adds a four-business-hour response target, fast-track escalation and direct chat for authorized contacts. Instructor-led training is a paid add-on on all tiers.
Can we integrate Laserfiche with our stack, and is there an MCP server?
Yes to APIs: Laserfiche Cloud plans include RESTful API call allowances (50k/month on Professional, 150k on Business, 500k on Business+), with extra calls purchasable, plus an SDK, Boomi, DocuSign, Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics 365 and Redtail integrations and direct database connections. Native Microsoft 365 integration covers Teams, Outlook, Word, Excel and PowerPoint. No Model Context Protocol server is mentioned in Laserfiche's published materials.