
LinearB
Engineering productivity platform that measures AI impact on delivery, automates PR workflows and code review, and proves engineering ROI.
By LinearB, Inc. · HQ El Segundo, US · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Engineering organizations with 50+ developers that need to measure whether AI coding tools actually improve delivery speed, quality and team health
- Platform and DevOps leaders who want AI code review, PR routing and policy-based workflow automation in one platform
- Enterprises that must report DORA metrics, benchmarks, project forecasting and R&D cost capitalization to finance and the board
- Teams on GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket or Azure DevOps that want delivery data correlated across the whole SDLC
- Leaders who need audit-ready proof of engineering ROI and developer experience improvement
Ideal size: 50–500+ developers people · Scale-up or enterprise with an established SDLC and multiple engineering teams
Not for
- Small startups and teams under 50 developers, since the entry Essentials plan is built for 50+ developers
- Azure DevOps or Bitbucket on-prem users who need gitStream workflow automations, which are not supported there
- Teams looking for code hosting, CI/CD execution or issue tracking rather than measurement and automation on top of those tools
- Organizations unwilling to grant read access to their Git repositories
- Buyers who require monthly billing, since all LinearB subscriptions are annual
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
About 1 month (45-day free trial)
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$34,800/yr
Starts at $348 · Per contributor (developer) per month, billed annually: Essentials $29/user/mo, Enterprise $59/user/mo. No monthly billing.
Implementation Friction
3/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Essentials is built for 50+ developers (GitHub Cloud only); Enterprise for 100+ developers; unlimited viewer seats at no extra cost.
Add-on costs
- Additional AI credits beyond the bundled monthly allocation, starting at $0.015 per credit and sold in packs
- Premium onboarding, implementation and success-planning services (enterprise; ad hoc otherwise)
- Custom plans and volume discounts for large deployments
Company & support
Who is behind LinearB, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- El Segundo, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatPlan not stated
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerPlan not stated
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Vendor pages cite live chat support and a public help docs site; pricing references a customer success representative, an incident response SLA and 24/7 monitoring on Enterprise, which are security commitments rather than support SLAs.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where LinearB sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- LinearB
- Siit
- Dynatrace
- Absorb LMS
- ChartHop
- Miro
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including LinearB. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What LinearB ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Vendor pages list AI code review, AI PR enrichment, auto-PR descriptions, AI retros that summarize team retros in natural language, AI impact measurement, Monte Carlo project forecasting, and an MCP server for natural-language tool control.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Billed by usage or credits
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
LinearB is an engineering productivity platform for organizations with 50+ developers. It correlates data from Git, project management, CI/CD and AI coding tools to measure delivery, quality and AI impact, then automates code review, PR routing and workflows in Slack and Microsoft Teams. Pricing starts at $29 per user per month billed annually (Essentials, 50+ developers), including 1,000 monthly AI credits per user; Enterprise is $59 per user per month. A LinearB MCP server is included. LinearB claims SOC 2 Type II, ISO/IEC 27001 and GDPR compliance.
Frequently asked questions
How much does LinearB cost and how is it billed?
Essentials is $29 per user per month billed annually and is built for engineering teams with 50+ developers (GitHub Cloud only). Enterprise is $59 per user per month billed annually for teams with 100+ developers. All subscriptions are billed annually — LinearB does not offer monthly billing — and custom plans are available for large deployments. Each seat bundles monthly AI credits (1,000 on Essentials, 1,500 on Enterprise), and unlimited viewers can access the platform at no extra cost.
How do AI credits work and what happens if we exceed them?
Credits are the usage mechanism for LinearB automations and AI actions and are only consumed when a task such as an AI code review or workflow automation runs on a pull request. One automated pull request consumes 100 credits regardless of how many automations are applied. Credits reset on the first of each month, additional credits start at $0.015 each, and customers may exceed their allocation at no charge in any two months of a year up to 120% of the standard allocation.
How long does implementation take and is there a mandatory fee?
LinearB offers a 45-day free trial with no credit card or commitment, including AI actions, automation and the MCP server. No mandatory implementation fee is stated; onboarding follows goal-alignment kickoff, API and integration setup, team training, success-plan check-ins and quarterly impact reviews. Enterprise customers get premium onboarding and success planning, and ad hoc implementation services are available.
Which tools does LinearB integrate with?
LinearB connects to Git providers (GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps), project management (Jira, Azure Boards), CI/CD (Jenkins, CircleCI), communication (Slack, Microsoft Teams), incident management (PagerDuty) and a large catalog of AI coding tools including GitHub Copilot, Cursor, Claude, Codex and Gemini CLI. It also exposes a REST API and data export. Note that gitStream workflow automations are not supported on Azure DevOps and Bitbucket on-prem.
What security and compliance assurances does LinearB provide?
LinearB states it is externally verified against ISO/IEC 27001, SOC 2 Type II and GDPR, publishes evidence through its Trust Center, and participates in the EU-U.S., UK Extension and Swiss-U.S. Data Privacy Frameworks. Platform controls include SAML SSO (Okta, Azure AD, Jumpcloud, OneLogin), SCIM provisioning, multi-factor authentication, role-based access control, audit logs and an on-prem agent on Enterprise.
Does LinearB read or store our source code?
According to LinearB's security documentation, it uses Git metadata only. It performs a shallow clone of repositories purely to extract Git metadata, which is deleted immediately after processing, and all operations against customer Git are read-only. LinearB states that no code is scanned, analyzed or saved.