Skip to main content
Obsidian Security logo
Risk & ComplianceEstablished · 8 yrs on market

Obsidian Security

Real-time visibility, governance and runtime controls for AI agents and third-party SaaS risk.

By Obsidian Security · HQ Palo Alto, US · 4.2/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Security and identity teams governing AI agents, non-human identities and connected SaaS apps
  • CISOs who need to uncover shadow AI, unsanctioned apps and unreviewed agent integrations
  • Enterprises running 40+ tier-one SaaS apps with a SOC drowning in alert noise
  • Teams that want runtime guardrails and enforcement, not just posture dashboards

Ideal size: 500–10,000+ employees people · Enterprise security org with an established SaaS governance program

Not for

  • Small businesses without a dedicated security or identity team
  • Buyers looking only for endpoint, email or network security
  • Teams wanting a stand-alone GRC or compliance-only tool
  • Organisations unwilling to connect third-party apps by API for continuous monitoring

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

2–4 weeks

~30 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$50,000/yr

Starts at $0 · Modular subscription: a free tier for up to 1,000 users, then paid Foundations and Advanced modules quoted annually.

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.2

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Free up to 1K users; paid tiers quoted by user count

Add-on costs

  • Detection, Proactive Defense and Incident Response modules are quoted separately from the Foundations tier.

Company & support

Who is behind Obsidian Security, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Palo Alto, US

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailPlan not stated
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsNot listed
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Support email ([email protected]) is the only published support channel; no support hours or response SLA are stated.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Obsidian Security sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$3k/yr$6k/yr$15k/yr$32k/yr$69k/yr0d15d30d32d34dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyObsidian SecuritySumsubAkeylessContrast SecuritySonrai SecurityVeza

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

Obsidian Security is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Obsidian Security
  • Sumsub
  • Akeyless
  • Contrast Security
  • Sonrai Security
  • Veza
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Obsidian Security. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceIntegration
AWSIntegration
SnowflakeIntegration
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackIntegration

AI & MCP readiness

What Obsidian Security ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
AI governance tooling

Sources describe AI agent discovery, AI security posture management, agent access optimisation, runtime guardrails and detection of sensitive data exposure in prompts and agent actions.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Not recorded

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 ISO 27001 GDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Obsidian Security is an enterprise SaaS and AI security platform. It discovers shadow apps, AI agents and third-party integrations, governs identity, privilege and ownership, and enforces runtime guardrails across the applications that run the business. Sold as modular tiers with a free entry plan, it targets Fortune 1000 security teams: customers report 60–70% of daily security activity sourced from the tool and 85% less manual SaaS security work. SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001 and ISO 27701 certified; ISO 42001 is still in progress.

Frequently asked questions

What does Obsidian Security actually secure?

Third-party and SaaS applications, the human and non-human identities that connect to them, and the AI agents acting inside them. Obsidian discovers unsanctioned apps, shadow AI and agent integrations, governs privilege, ownership and last activity, and adds runtime guardrails plus threat detection for account takeover, token compromise, insider risk and sensitive data exposure.

How is Obsidian priced?

There is a free tier for up to 1,000 users covering app-sprawl discovery and spear-phishing detection with no manual tuning. Paid Foundations and Advanced modules (discovery, governance, detection, proactive defense and incident response) are quoted annually per organisation. No list price is published, so budget for an enterprise security contract plus any modules added later.

How long does implementation take?

The vendor markets a free tier that starts in minutes, and customers describe the platform as plug-and-play with integrations and threat detections available out of the box. Realistically, plan a few weeks to connect core SaaS applications and tune detections, with coverage extending over time without added complexity.

Which compliance certifications does Obsidian hold?

The trust page cites SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, ISO 27701 and IRAP attestations or certifications, with 99.99% twelve-month availability. ISO 42001 is listed as coming soon, so treat AI management certification as not yet in place.

Can Obsidian govern AI agents as well as SaaS apps?

Yes. The platform covers AI agent discovery, AI security posture management, agent access optimisation, runtime guardrails and detection of sensitive data exposure in prompts and agent actions, plus announced integrations such as Claude's Compliance API.

Where is customer data hosted?

AWS US West 2 (Oregon), EU Central 1 (Frankfurt) and AP Southeast 2 (Sydney), plus a data centre in Saudi Arabia, supporting data sovereignty requirements for global organisations.