Skip to main content
ThoughtSpot, Inc. logo
Ops EfficiencyFounded 2012 · 14 yrs

ThoughtSpot

Governed agentic analytics that puts trusted AI answers and agents wherever work happens.

By ThoughtSpot, Inc. · HQ Sunnyvale, US · 4.5/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Data and analytics leaders who need governed metrics behind every self-service answer
  • Product teams embedding analytics and AI agents into customer-facing apps via API and SDK
  • Enterprises consolidating BI on one semantic layer across Snowflake, Databricks and Redshift
  • Business teams that want natural-language answers without waiting for new reports

Ideal size: 50–1,000+ users people · Data-mature enterprise with a cloud warehouse and metric governance

Not for

  • Very small teams wanting a cheap standalone dashboard tool
  • Buyers who need published, fully transparent per-seat list pricing without a sales cycle
  • Organisations that cannot invest in semantic-layer modelling before rollout
  • Firms needing FedRAMP authorisation, which the Trust Center does not claim

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

2–4 weeks after modelling

~30 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$30,000/yr

Starts at $300 · Per-user subscription billed annually (Developer from ~$25/user/month); usage-based credits from $0.10 per credit on Usage plans; Pro from ~$50/user/month; Enterprise custom.

Implementation Friction

3/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.5

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Free Developer: up to 10 users; paid Developer: 5–50 users; Pro: up to 1,000 users and 250M rows; Enterprise: unlimited users and data.

Add-on costs

  • Embedded analytics for internal enterprise applications (API and SDK)
  • Model Context Protocol (MCP) Server
  • Data prep, mashups and modelling (Analyst Studio)
  • Advanced SQL, R and Python analysis (Analyst Studio)
  • In-memory data cache (Analyst Studio or Spotcache)
  • Unlimited Spotter

Company & support

Who is behind ThoughtSpot, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2012 · 14 yrs in business
Headquarters
Sunnyvale, US

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumPlan not stated
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
1-hour SLA on Enterprise Support

The pricing page advertises Enterprise Support with a 1-hour SLA. Documentation, Support Center and Community links appear in the site footer; no support phone line, support email address, or 24/7 commitment is stated on the pages reviewed.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where ThoughtSpot sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$8k/yr$14k/yr$21k/yr$68k/yr$220k/yr11d21d30d39d48dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyThoughtSpotGoodDataHexMendixPropelPerk

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

ThoughtSpot is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • ThoughtSpot
  • GoodData
  • Hex
  • Mendix
  • Propel
  • Perk
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including ThoughtSpot. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNative
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What ThoughtSpot ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Copilot / assistantAgentic workflowsAI searchAnomaly detection

Spotter, the vendor's conversational AI analyst, is presented as central to the platform, alongside conversational, data-modelling, dashboard and coding agents, natural-language search, automated change analysis, anomaly detection and AI highlights. Sources do not document per-action AI logging, named model providers, or a product-level statement on training with customer data.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Included in the plan

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Either
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 ISO 27001 GDPR HIPAA FedRAMP — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

ThoughtSpot is an agentic analytics platform from ThoughtSpot, Inc. (founded 2012, Sunnyvale, CA). A governed semantic layer powers AI answers, Liveboards and embedded analytics, with Spotter agents adding conversational search, automated change analysis and anomaly alerts. Plans start near $25 per user per month billed annually, with unlimited LLM tokens on Pro and Enterprise and custom enterprise pricing. The Trust Center lists SOC 1/2/3, ISO 27001, CSA Star, HIPAA and GDPR. MCP server and embedded analytics are add-ons.

Frequently asked questions

What does ThoughtSpot cost?

Public plans start as low as $25 per user per month billed annually on the Developer plan, with a usage-based option from $0.10 per credit; the Pro tier is listed from about $50 per user per month billed annually. A free Developer tier covers up to 10 users and 25M rows. Enterprise pricing is custom, tailored to users, data and deployment. ThoughtSpot states it does not meter or charge for LLM tokens, though if you use your own LLM provider that provider's fees may apply. Embedded analytics, the MCP server, Analyst Studio, Spotcache and Unlimited Spotter are add-ons.

How quickly can we get value from ThoughtSpot?

ThoughtSpot does not publish a time-to-value figure. First value realistically lands in the order of weeks, because the governed semantic layer — business logic, joins, calendars, calculations and security — is defined before teams ask their first question. The vendor frames that governance as what makes later self-service answers fast and trustworthy. Budget a modelling phase before rollout, and note that enterprise capabilities such as MCP and embedded analytics are add-ons requiring additional setup.

Does ThoughtSpot support MCP and AI agents?

Yes. The pricing page lists a Model Context Protocol (MCP) Server as an add-on and MCP Connectors for full business context, and describes a semantic layer built for agents plus agents for conversational analytics, data modelling, dashboards and coding. Spotter is the vendor's conversational AI analyst. Because MCP is an add-on rather than part of every plan, confirm which tier includes it during contracting.

What compliance certifications does ThoughtSpot hold?

The ThoughtSpot Trust Center lists SOC 1, SOC 2, SOC 3, ISO 27001, CSA Star, HIPAA, GDPR, EU-US DPF, Swiss-US DPF, the UK extension to the EU-US DPF and CCPA. FedRAMP and ISO 42001 are not claimed, and no certified individual AI governance credential is stated. Buyers in regulated sectors should validate scope, sub-processors and any business associate agreement directly with the vendor.

Can we embed ThoughtSpot analytics in our own product?

Yes. ThoughtSpot offers REST-based APIs and a Visual Embed SDK, with dynamic embeddable AI dashboards and visualisations, custom styles and themes, embedded single sign-on via SAML, OAuth and OIDC, and multi-tenant-by-organisation support. Embedded analytics for internal enterprise applications is listed as an add-on, and a separate Enterprise plan supports building or embedding agentic AI analytics for multi-tenant applications at scale.

Do we need to bring our own LLM provider?

No. Pro and Enterprise plans include unlimited LLM tokens, and ThoughtSpot states it does not meter or charge for LLM tokens — platform use is governed by your subscription. The feature list also shows flexible LLM selection, and the pricing page notes that if you use your own LLM provider, that provider's fees may apply. Both bundled and bring-your-own arrangements therefore appear to be supported.

ThoughtSpot Review: TTV, TCO & Best Fit (2–4 weeks after modelling to value) | Value-Position