Trello
Flexible visual work management: boards, lists and cards that let any team plan, track and finish work.
By Atlassian · HQ Sydney, Australia · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Small and mid-size teams that want a visual, low-ceremony way to track tasks and projects
- Non-technical departments organising workflows without admin or developer help
- Teams that need fast adoption: sign up, create a board, and start working
- Lightweight project tracking alongside Jira, Slack and Microsoft Teams
Ideal size: 2-200 people · Any size; best for lightweight, fast-moving, non-regulated workflows
Not for
- Programmes needing strict dependency, resource and portfolio planning
- Organisations that require on-premises or self-hosted deployment (Trello is cloud-only)
- Heavy document control, regulated record-keeping or formal stage-gate governance
- Teams needing rich native reporting without Power-Ups or paid views
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Under 30 days
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$6,000/yr
Starts at $0 · Free tier ($0); Standard $5 per user/month and Premium $10 per user/month billed annually; Enterprise $17.50 per user/month billed annually.
Implementation Friction
1/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Free covers up to 10 collaborators per Workspace; paid plans are billed per Workspace member.
Add-on costs
- Atlassian Guard (SAML SSO, enforced 2FA) is a separate subscription from $4/month/user
- Some partner Power-Ups require an additional subscription fee
Company & support
Who is behind Trello, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2014 · 12 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Sydney, Australia
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumPlan not stated
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
24/7 Enterprise Admin support is included with the Enterprise plan; hours for Free, Standard and Premium are not stated. Developer documentation and community forums serve Power-Up builders.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Trello sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Trello
- 360Learning
- Smartsheet
- Resource Guru
- Docusign
- MRPeasy
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Trello. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What Trello ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Standard and above include AI summaries for card descriptions and comments, AI-generated boards, AI-assisted board organisation (checklists, due dates, card merging) and AI-powered quick capture from email, Slack and Teams.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Trains on your data
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Included in the plan
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Trello is Atlassian's cloud-only visual work management tool: boards, lists and cards for tasks, projects and resource hubs. It is famously low-friction, free for individuals and small teams, with paid tiers from $5 per user per month and AI features from Standard up. Vendor data says 75% of organisations see value within 30 days and 81% chose it for ease of use. It suits lightweight, cross-functional tracking rather than heavy dependency or portfolio planning, and deepens via 200+ Power-Ups and an official MCP server.
Frequently asked questions
How quickly can a team get value from Trello?
Trello is self-serve: users sign up, create a board and start working the same day, so implementation friction is minimal. Trello's own TechValidate survey reports that 75% of organisations see value within 30 days, which is a reasonable planning assumption for a pilot.
What does Trello cost for a 50-person team?
The Free plan covers up to 10 collaborators per Workspace. Standard is $5 per user/month billed annually ($60/user/year) and Premium is $10 per user/month billed annually, so a 50-person team on Premium is roughly $6,000 per year, before optional Atlassian Guard at $4/month/user and any paid partner Power-Ups.
Does Trello offer an MCP server for AI assistants?
Yes. Trello publishes an official MCP server at mcp.trello.com/v1 with listings for ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor and GitHub. MCP access is on by default for Premium and Enterprise, Enterprise admins can restrict AI read/write access, destructive deletes are not supported, and usage draws on your AI client's own token limits.
Is Trello suitable for enterprise and regulated environments?
Trello is SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001 and ISO/IEC 27018 certified and states GDPR compliance, with encryption in transit and at rest, weekly vulnerability scans and annual penetration tests. Enterprise adds SSO, organisation-wide permissions and 24/7 Enterprise Admin support. It is not HIPAA or FedRAMP certified in the sources reviewed.
Can we run Trello on-premises?
No. Trello states it is proudly a cloud-only product, accessed via web, desktop and mobile apps. Organisations with hard data-residency or air-gapped requirements should plan accordingly rather than expect a self-hosted option.
How does Trello handle AI and customer data?
AI features (summaries, AI-generated boards, AI-assisted organisation, AI quick capture) are included from the Standard plan up. Trello's privacy policy states that customer information is used to develop and improve the services, including machine learning and AI model training; the policy excerpt provided does not describe an opt-out for that training use.