Skip to main content
Upheal, Inc. logo
Ops EfficiencyEstablished · 4 yrs on market

Upheal

AI-native EHR for therapists: progress notes in under 60 seconds, plus scheduling, billing, telehealth and compliance.

By Upheal, Inc. · HQ Miami, US · 4.6/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Solo therapists and counselors who want AI progress notes generated in under 60 seconds
  • Group practices with 2-20+ clinicians standardizing documentation across the team
  • Insurance-based behavioral health practices needing claims, ERA and eligibility checks in one platform
  • Practices that want to replace a legacy EHR without a long, expensive migration

Ideal size: 1-20+ clinicians people · Private or group behavioral health practice moving off a legacy EHR

Not for

  • Hospitals and health systems needing deep inpatient or acute-care EHR integration
  • Clinical specialties outside mental health, such as dentistry or primary care
  • Organizations that require FedRAMP or other public-sector procurement certifications
  • Practices that must keep all session recordings and records on-premises

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

Under a day; notes in 60 seconds

~1 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$828/yr

Starts at $0 · $1 per completed session, capped at $69 per month per provider; free plan available; usage billed monthly with no minimum spend

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.6

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

No per-provider seat fee; one account per provider (accounts cannot be shared); volume discounts on enterprise

Add-on costs

  • AI Assistant Pro +$39/mo for unlimited AI Assistant usage
  • Card processing 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction
  • Insurance claim submission $0.30; eligibility check $0.15

Company & support

Who is behind Upheal, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Miami, US

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailPlan not stated
  • Live chatPlan not stated
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Pricing page lists chat and email support plus priority support on higher plans; the support centre holds help articles and guides. Enterprise adds a dedicated customer success manager and an optional service-level agreement.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Upheal sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$720/yr$1k/yr$2k/yr$3k/yr$7k/yr1d2d3d16d73dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyUphealtab32Canvas MedicalFireflies.aiDrChronoFreed

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

Upheal is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Upheal
  • tab32
  • Canvas Medical
  • Fireflies.ai
  • DrChrono
  • Freed
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Upheal. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceIntegration
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Upheal ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI-native
Copilot / assistantDocument processingNLP automation

AI drafts clinical notes in under 60 seconds from video, audio, text or uploads, and learns the clinician's writing style. It generates insurance-ready treatment plans and client summaries plus an AI compliance checker, and the AI Assistant answers practice questions and handles session prep, scheduling and billing tasks. Migration from other EHRs is AI-assisted.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Included in the plan

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedCMMC — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Upheal is an AI-native EHR for mental health professionals. It drafts therapy progress notes in under 60 seconds, generates insurance-ready treatment plans and client summaries, and adds an AI Assistant for session prep, scheduling and billing questions. Beyond documentation it offers scheduling with Google Calendar sync, a client portal, HIPAA-compliant telehealth, payments, insurance billing and AI-assisted migration from other EHRs. Pricing is $1 per completed session capped at $69/month per provider, with a free plan and a $39/month AI Assistant Pro tier.

Frequently asked questions

How is Upheal priced for a group practice?

Upheal charges $1 per completed session, capped at $69 per month per provider, billed monthly with no minimum spend and no per-provider seat fee. A free plan remains available after the 30-day trial, and unlimited AI Assistant usage is +$39/month (AI Assistant Pro). Card payments cost 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction; insurance billing is $0.30 per claim submission and $0.15 per eligibility check.

Is Upheal HIPAA compliant, and will you sign a BAA?

Yes. Upheal states it is 100% HIPAA compliant, with data encrypted in transit and at rest, and provides a Business Associate Agreement for every account. The vendor also states SOC 2 Type II certification, PHIPA, PIPEDA and GDPR/DPA compliance, and says its infrastructure is continuously externally tested.

How long does migrating from SimplePractice or TherapyNotes take?

Upheal's AI-powered migration imports clients, notes and data from SimplePractice, TherapyNotes, Sessions Health or any other EHR. You export your data, drop it in, and the AI Assistant recreates records step by step; PDF forms and templates can also be recreated. Upheal says most therapists are running before their next session, self-serve migration is free, and the support team can walk you through the first import.

Does Upheal replace our existing EHR or only write notes?

It can do either. Upheal works alongside all EHRs for AI notes, or can replace your EHR with scheduling, a client portal, practice forms, HIPAA-compliant telehealth, payments, superbills and insurance billing (claims, ERA and eligibility checks) in one platform.

Can we stop our session data being used to train AI models?

Upheal's privacy page states it never uses your sessions to train its platform without explicit permission from you and your clients. The pricing page adds that session audio is deleted by default once notes are generated, and that you can opt out of AI model training at any time.