Skip to main content
Aurora Solar logo
Revenue VelocityFounded 2013 · 13 yrs

Aurora Solar

Physics-based 3D solar design, proposals, financing, contracts and permit-ready plan sets in one platform.

By Aurora Solar · HQ San Francisco, US · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Residential solar installers that need accurate 3D design, proposals and permitting in one platform
  • Sales-led solar teams running high appointment volumes that need designs and proposals in under 30 minutes
  • National dealers and multi-region organizations needing team permissions, dealer configurations and APIs
  • Companies trying to cut change orders with LIDAR, drone mapping and bankable shade reports

Ideal size: 3–500 users people · Scaling residential solar sales organization with a defined design and sales process

Not for

  • Utility-scale or commercial-only EPCs; the platform is built around residential design and sales
  • Very small crews looking for a free or low-cost design tool
  • Teams unwilling to accept per-user licences and a one-year commitment on annual Basic/Premium plans
  • Businesses outside solar and home electrification that need general CAD or field-service software

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

2–4 weeks

~21 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$26,400/yr

Starts at $1,620 · Per-user subscription billed monthly or annually (annual saves ~15%). Basic, Premium and custom Enterprise pricing.

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.0

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Basic and Premium include 1 user; extra licences purchased in-app. Enterprise includes unlimited users.

Add-on costs

  • On-demand site models (Standard), from $9.99 each
  • Expedited on-demand site models — Enterprise add-on
  • Plan sets, including storage — Enterprise add-on
  • Engineering stamps — Enterprise add-on
  • Premium support — Enterprise add-on
  • Personalized launch and training plan — Enterprise add-on
  • Technical consultation — Enterprise add-on
  • Proposal template customization — Enterprise add-on
  • Design API — Enterprise add-on
  • Nearmap high-definition imagery — add-on

Company & support

Who is behind Aurora Solar, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2013 · 13 yrs in business
Headquarters
San Francisco, US

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailPlan not stated
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Support email is [email protected]. Self-serve how-to guides sit in the Help Center, and Aurora Academy provides training courses. Premium support, a personalized launch and training plan and technical consultation are Enterprise add-ons.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Aurora Solar sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$24/yr$3k/yr$10k/yr$41k/yr0d4d17d24d33dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyAurora SolarMarketSharpBuilder PrimeSitelineRoofSnapBilld

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

Aurora Solar is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Aurora Solar
  • MarketSharp
  • Builder Prime
  • Siteline
  • RoofSnap
  • Billd
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Aurora Solar. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Aurora Solar ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Agentic workflows

Aurora ships AI SmartRoof, a computer-vision pipeline that generates 3D roof models and detects obstructions from aerial imagery, plus AI-assisted site models, automated panel placement, stringing and fire-pathway placement, and Lead Capture AI for web leads. No reviewed source names an AI model provider, customer-supplied model keys, or AI usage logging or export.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Trains on your data
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Included in the plan

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedCMMC — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Aurora Solar is a residential solar design, sales and delivery platform. Physics-based 3D modelling, LIDAR, drone mapping and AI-assisted site models produce accurate designs, interactive proposals, financing quotes, signed contracts and permit-ready plan sets. Per-user plans start at $1,620/year (Basic) or $2,640/year (Premium); Enterprise adds unlimited users, APIs and volume discounts. More than 7,000 solar organizations have designed 20M+ projects. Buyers should weigh per-seat cost, annual commitments and residential-only scope.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Aurora Solar cost?

Basic is $159 per user per month billed monthly, or $1,620 per user per year ($135/month, saving $288). Premium is $259 per user per month, or $2,640 per user per year ($220/month, saving $468). Both include one user and 50 projects per month, with extra licences bought in the app. Enterprise is custom-priced per project with unlimited users, APIs and volume-based credit discounts. Monthly plans carry no minimum commitment; annual Basic and Premium plans carry a one-year commitment.

How long until my team gets value from Aurora?

Basic and Premium are self-serve, so a rep can build a 3D design and a tablet-friendly proposal in days; customers report proposal times dropping from 1–2 hours to about 20 minutes. Onboarding is supported by the Help Center, Aurora Academy videos and customer support. A personalized launch and training plan is an Enterprise add-on. Most teams should plan two to four weeks to standardize processes across the team.

Is Aurora AI included in the plan price?

AI-assisted site models (Aurora AI) appear as a feature of the Premium and Enterprise plans rather than a separately priced line item on the pricing page, and are not listed on Basic. Automated panel placement, stringing and fire-pathway placement are part of the AI-powered design and automation feature set. Aurora does not publish whether customers may supply their own model keys, and no AI model provider is named on the pages reviewed.

What does Aurora integrate with?

Aurora advertises pre-built integrations with leading CRMs, financing platforms and field operations tools, plus financing partners including Goodleap, Dividend and Mosaic. Enterprise plans add a Sync API, Webhooks, partner apps and a Design API (add-on). Single sign-on is supported on Enterprise. Aurora does not name Salesforce, HubSpot, AWS, Snowflake, Slack or Microsoft 365 integrations on the pages reviewed.

What support does Aurora offer?

Support email is [email protected]. Self-serve help includes on-demand training videos and documentation in the Help Center, plus Aurora Academy courses on solar industry knowledge and Aurora products. Customer support is listed as a plan feature; premium support, a personalized launch and training plan, and technical consultation are Enterprise add-ons. Aurora does not publish support hours or a response-time SLA.