
Basecamp
Basecamp is project management without all the nonsense. Rock solid and famously easy to use.
By 37signals · HQ Chicago, US · 4.2/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Small and mid-sized teams that want one simple place for messages, to-dos, files and schedules
- Agencies and client-service firms that need clients and contractors collaborating without training
- Organizations that prefer flat, all-inclusive pricing with unlimited users over per-seat billing
- Teams that want minimal admin: no implementation project, no per-user provisioning
Ideal size: 5–200 people · Small or mid-sized business, agency or non-profit; no dedicated PMO or IT admin
Not for
- Enterprise PMOs needing Gantt charts, resource levelling or portfolio planning
- Security teams that require a SOC 2 report or ISO 27001 certificate from the vendor
- Buyers who want vendor-built AI features inside the product rather than bring-your-own agents
- Highly regulated workloads needing HIPAA or FedRAMP coverage
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
1–2 weeks
~14 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$3,600/yr
Starts at $0 · Flat package pricing rather than per seat: a free plan plus paid packages, unlimited users from Studio up, billed annually, self-serve cancellation
Implementation Friction
1/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Free: 1 project, 5 users, 1 GB; Freelancer: 3 projects, 20 users, 5 GB; Studio and above: unlimited users, no per-user fees
Add-on costs
- Additional storage: 5 TB for $100/month on top of the 1 TB included with the Unlimited Edition
- Time tracking, reporting, backup and other add-ons come from third-party vendors listed on the integrations page
Company & support
Who is behind Basecamp, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 1999 · 27 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Chicago, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
24/7/365 human support is listed on Freelancer, Studio and Pro; the Unlimited Edition adds priority support, personalized onboarding and extra payment options. The free plan lists no support tier. Requests go through the help form on basecamp.com/support.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Basecamp sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Basecamp
- Paymo
- Loomly
- YouCanBookMe
- Joan
- Hive
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Basecamp. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No official MCP server. Reachable only by building one against their API.
AI & MCP readiness
What Basecamp ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
No AI features recorded for this product.
Basecamp ships no built-in AI features that process customer content (vendor privacy policy and Trust Center). AI access is bring-your-own: customers connect their own agents (Claude, Codex, Cursor) via the CLI, public API, SDKs and an agent skill. Official ChatGPT/Claude connectors are listed on every plan, with MCP support announced as coming soon.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Never trains on your data
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Included in the plan
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Custom build only
- Model key
- Not applicable
- AI usage audit
- Not applicable
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Basecamp is 37signals' deliberately simple project management tool: message boards, to-dos, card tables, docs and files, scheduling and group chat in one place. Pricing is flat — a free plan plus packages that include unlimited users from the Studio tier up — with no per-seat fees and no implementation fee, and clients can take part by email without a login. The vendor ships no built-in AI features that process customer content, offering instead a CLI, API and SDKs for customers' own AI agents.
Frequently asked questions
What does Basecamp cost for a 100-person team?
Basecamp does not charge per seat. Studio, Pro and the Unlimited Edition include unlimited users for one flat price, and the pricing FAQ cites the Unlimited Edition at $300/month total. There is also a free plan (one project, five users) and 30-day free trials on paid packages, with no credit card required to try.
Do you hold SOC 2 or ISO 27001 certifications?
No, and 37signals states this plainly: the Trust Center says the company does not hold a SOC 2 report or an ISO 27001 certificate and will not pretend otherwise. Instead it publishes a self-assessed CSA CAIQ v4.1, a HECVAT 4 for higher education, a PCI DSS SAQ A attestation and a VPAT. GDPR and UK GDPR terms, including Standard Contractual Clauses, sit in a DPA that applies automatically.
Does Basecamp train AI models on our content?
No. The privacy policy states that Basecamp products contain no built-in AI features that process your content, that your content is not used to train AI models, and that its AI providers are contractually barred from training on it. AI agent access is bring-your-own: customers connect their own agents through the CLI, API and SDKs under their own provider agreement.
How much implementation effort is required?
Very little. Sign-up is self-serve with no implementation fee and no mandatory professional services, and the vendor's pitch is that the software is easy enough to need little training. Clients can take part by replying to email. Paid plans include a learning library, and the Unlimited Edition adds personalized onboarding with a 37signals expert.
What support is included?
Freelancer, Studio and Pro include 24/7/365 human support, and the Unlimited Edition adds priority 24/7/365 support plus personalized onboarding. The free plan does not list a support tier. Support is staffed in-house rather than outsourced, and the Trust Center routes open questions to the right team by email.