
Hive
An AI workspace that plans, assigns, follows up and reports on top of project management, CRM and finance.
By Hive · HQ New York City, US · 4.6/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Marketing, creative and agency teams that want projects, proofing, approvals and reporting in one workspace
- PMOs and operations teams automating intake, assignment and follow-up with the Buzz AI assistant
- Mid-market organisations standardising cross-department work at roughly $5–$12 per user per month
- Education, healthcare and non-profit teams that need a low-cost, fast-to-start workspace
- Teams replacing Trello, Asana, Basecamp or Smartsheet that want guided imports, templates and forms
Ideal size: 10–500 people · Scale-up or mid-market team standardising cross-department work
Not for
- Engineering-led organisations needing deep agile backlog, sprint and CI/CD workflows
- Regulated buyers requiring FedRAMP, HIPAA or CMMC attestations, or on-premise deployment
- Teams that want a minimal Kanban board with no admin or automation overhead
- Enterprises expecting deep native SAP/ERP connections rather than API or Zapier work
- Buyers who need estimating, drawings or clinical/student systems of record
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Under 2 weeks (self-serve signup)
~7 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$7,200/yr
Starts at $60 · Per seat, billed monthly or yearly (yearly saves 33%). Free $0; Starter $5/user/month; Teams $12/user/month; Enterprise custom quoted.
Implementation Friction
1/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Free and Starter: up to 10 workspace members (Starter up to 10 projects); Teams: unlimited members; 14-day full-feature trial.
Add-on costs
- Flexible add-ons at +$5 each per user/month (CRM, Finance, Proofing & approvals, Timesheets, Team resourcing, Advanced Dashboards)
- SSO, enterprise security & control add-on (+$5)
- External users add-on for collaborating with clients and partners
Company & support
Who is behind Hive, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2015 · 11 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- New York City, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteEnterprise only
- Hours
- Business hours
- Response time
- Not stated
Support requests for account, billing, plan and technical issues are submitted through contact forms, alongside a help centre, Hive University and video tutorials. Enterprise adds a dedicated Customer Success Manager, unlimited onboarding and access to Professional Services.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Hive sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Hive
- TeamGantt
- MeisterTask
- Zoom Workplace
- Skedda
- Knack
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Hive. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Hive ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Buzz is Hive's in-workspace assistant: it plans and assigns work, follows up, summarises work data and powers automated workflow steps. AI Proofing reviews documents and creative proofs before approval. Hive markets the product as an AI workspace rebuilt for the AI era, with monthly AI credit allowances per plan.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Never trains on your data
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Billed by usage or credits
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Hive is an AI-forward work management platform: projects, tasks, automations, proofing, time tracking, CRM and finance in one workspace. Buzz, its in-workspace assistant, plans and assigns work, summarises data and powers AI Proofing for document review. Per-seat pricing starts free, then $5 and $12 per user per month, with SSO, dedicated success management and professional services on Enterprise. Hive reports SOC 2 certification and ISO 27001 accreditation and states workspace data is never used to train AI models.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Hive cost for a 50-person team?
List pricing is per seat: Free ($0), Starter ($5 per user per month) and Teams ($12 per user per month), with annual billing saving 33% and Enterprise quoted on request. Fifty users on Teams at list price is roughly $7,200 per year. Add-ons such as CRM, Finance, Proofing & approvals, Timesheets, Team resourcing, Advanced Dashboards, SSO and External users cost $5 each per user per month, so real spend is usually above the base plan.
How long does it take to get value from Hive?
Signup is self-serve with no credit card, and Hive runs a 14-day trial that unlocks the full feature set regardless of plan. Templates plus importers for Trello, Asana, Basecamp, Smartsheet, CSV and JSON let teams move existing work across quickly, so a first project is typically live within days. Enterprise adds unlimited onboarding and access to professional services for larger, multi-department rollouts.
Does Hive train AI models on our data?
Hive states on its site that workspace data is never used to train AI models and that conversations with its Buzz assistant are processed in real time and never stored by third-party LLM providers. That is a strong public commitment, but buyers with confidential material should still confirm it in the signed agreement and review AI Proofing data flows with their security team before uploading regulated documents.
What compliance certifications does Hive hold?
Hive's security page states that Hive is SOC 2 certified and that its hosting is ISO 27001 accredited. No HIPAA, FedRAMP, CMMC or ISO 42001 claims are published, so healthcare, defence and government buyers should not assume those are covered. Enterprise adds SSO, enhanced security and permission controls, and a dedicated customer success manager.
What does Hive integrate with?
Hive advertises 1,000+ integrations. Its page lists native connectors for Google Drive, Google Calendar, Microsoft OneDrive, Microsoft Teams, Outlook Calendar, Slack, Jira and Jira Data Center, GitHub, Dropbox, Box, QuickBooks, Zoom and Bynder, with HubSpot, Zendesk, Pipedrive, Freshdesk, Harvest and Marketo available through Zapier. A public API and documentation support custom integration work.
Who is Hive not a good fit for?
Hive is built for cross-functional work management, not software delivery: teams needing deep agile backlogs, sprints and CI/CD workflows may prefer Jira. It is also not an ERP, EHR, SIS, MES or estimating tool, and buyers in regulated sectors that require FedRAMP, HIPAA or CMMC attestations, or on-premise deployment, will need to look elsewhere.