Skip to main content
BigTime Software logo
Revenue VelocityFounded 2002 · 24 yrs

BigTime

Finance-first professional services automation that keeps margin visible from quote to cash

By BigTime Software · HQ Chicago, US · 4.5/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Professional services firms (consulting, IT services, accounting, AEC, legal, GovCon) that need time, billing and project margin in one system.
  • QuickBooks Online or Desktop users who want project, billing and expense data to sync without manual re-entry.
  • Firms losing billable revenue to unbilled WIP, slow month-end close and long DSO.
  • Services organisations of roughly 5-500+ users that want margin and utilisation visible in real time.
  • GovCon contractors that need DCAA-style time and expense tracking with invoice-ready data.

Ideal size: 10-500+ people · Growing services firm with a finance lead and repeatable project delivery

Not for

  • Product, retail or manufacturing businesses that do not bill clients by time and materials.
  • Teams looking only for a cheap standalone timesheet app.
  • Enterprises wanting to replace a full ERP or general ledger; BigTime integrates with, but does not replace, the GL.
  • Firms unwilling to change quoting, rate card or billing processes during implementation.

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

~47 days to go-live; 30-90 days adoption

~47 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$2,400/yr

Starts at $240 · Per user, per month. Essentials from $20/user/month; Advanced, Premier and Enterprise quoted. Modules such as Quotes, Resource Management and Data Hub priced separately.

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.5

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Essentials, Advanced, Premier and Enterprise; minimum seat counts not published.

Add-on costs

  • BigTime Quotes - optional module, standalone option available
  • BigTime Resource Management - optional module with Resourcing Agent, standalone option available
  • BigTime Data Hub - optional analytics and BI module
  • DCAA compliance shown as a paid add-on (+) on the Advanced tier

Company & support

Who is behind BigTime, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2002 · 24 yrs in business
Headquarters
Chicago, US

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailPaid plans
  • Live chatPaid plans
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumEnterprise only
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerPlan not stated
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
24/7
Response time
Not stated

Vendor advertises 24/7 email and chat support and a dedicated implementation consultant, plus a 99.99% uptime SLA. The Projector e3 community is for Enterprise PSA users.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where BigTime sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$390/yr$930/yr$2k/yr$5k/yr$10k/yr6d10d14d15dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyBigTimeProposifySmartleadChaserSnov.ioFreshBooks

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

BigTime is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • BigTime
  • Proposify
  • Smartlead
  • Chaser
  • Snov.io
  • FreshBooks
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including BigTime. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceIntegration
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotIntegration
Google WorkspaceIntegration
Microsoft 365Integration
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What BigTime ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Copilot / assistantAgentic workflowsPredictive analytics

AI Assistant answers how-to questions in-product. Resourcing Agent and AI demand matching use machine learning to match staff to projects. Time, Expense, Insights and Analytics agents are listed as coming soon; Data Hub feeds BI tools.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Included in the plan

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

BigTime is a finance-first professional services automation (PSA) platform for services firms of roughly 5-500+ users. It connects quoting, resourcing, time and expense, billing and payments so margin, WIP and utilisation stay visible from quote to cash. Native QuickBooks (Online and Desktop) integration, an in-house implementation team, and AI features including an AI Assistant and machine-learning demand matching. Vendor cites 3,000+ firms and an average of 47 days from contract to go-live.

Frequently asked questions

How long does BigTime take to implement?

The vendor states an average of 47 days from contract to go-live, with full team adoption within 30-90 days. Implementation is delivered by BigTime's in-house team, which configures billing logic, rate cards and GL mapping before the first hour is tracked.

How much does BigTime cost?

BigTime Essentials starts at $20 per user per month; Advanced, Premier and Enterprise are quoted. Quotes, Resource Management and Data Hub are separate modules, and annual list pricing per user is not published, so total cost depends on seat count and modules selected.

Does BigTime integrate with QuickBooks?

Yes. BigTime states it is the only PSA natively integrated with both QuickBooks Desktop and Online, with around 2,000 active QuickBooks integrations covering roughly 75% of customers. Sage Intacct, Xero, NetSuite, Dynamics, HubSpot and Salesforce are also supported, some only with Enterprise PSA.

What AI does BigTime include?

The AI Assistant answers how-to questions in-product, while a Resourcing Agent and AI demand matching use machine learning to recommend staff by skills, availability and utilisation. Time, Expense, Insights and Analytics agents are listed as coming soon. AI is included in plan pricing; the underlying model provider is not named.

Is BigTime suitable for government contracting?

DCAA compliance is listed as a paid add-on on the Advanced plan, and BigTime cites GovCon customers such as Ardalyst. No SOC 2, ISO 27001 or FedRAMP claim appears on the pages reviewed.

What support is included?

Vendor advertising covers 24/7 email and chat support, a knowledge base with release notes, a dedicated implementation consultant and a 99.99% uptime SLA. Enterprise PSA users also get the Projector e3 community.