Skip to main content
Donut Technologies Inc. logo
Ops EfficiencyNew to marketNewest entrant

Donut

Employee experience platform that automates onboarding, intros and recognition inside Slack and Microsoft Teams.

By Donut Technologies Inc. · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • People and HR teams running new-hire onboarding and 30/60/90-day programs inside Slack or Microsoft Teams
  • Distributed or remote companies that want to scale cross-team introductions and connection
  • Organizations building peer-to-peer recognition and shoutouts tied to company values
  • Teams already standardized on Slack or Microsoft Teams that want lightweight, low-lift people programs

Ideal size: 50–2,000 employees people · Scale-up with a dedicated People Ops or Employee Experience function

Not for

  • Companies whose primary collaboration tool is neither Slack nor Microsoft Teams
  • Buyers looking for a full HRIS, performance-management or payroll suite
  • Organizations that need on-premise deployment or self-hosted data control
  • Enterprises that require a completed security questionnaire on Standard or Premium plans instead of Enterprise

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

Under a week on the free plan

~1 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$1,428/yr

Starts at $888 · Usage-based, billed monthly or annually by the number of active users in Donut channels and automations

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.0

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Free plan; Standard from $74/month; Premium from $119/month; Enterprise is a flat annual fee paid upfront

Add-on costs

  • None

Company & support

Who is behind Donut, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

The site navigation links a Support area and resource library; the pricing FAQ points to terms of service, privacy policy and DPA for data-access and security documentation.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Donut sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$220/yr$2k/yr$4k/yr$6k/yr$8k/yr0d2d9d16dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyDonutLevelSavvyCalSlabSiitCheckly

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

Donut is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Donut
  • Level
  • SavvyCal
  • Slab
  • Siit
  • Checkly
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Donut. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceIntegration
Microsoft 365Native
SAPNot supported
SlackNative

AI & MCP readiness

What Donut ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Agentic workflows

Homepage markets an AI agent that launches new-hire onboarding workflows and AI-powered smart-match introductions in Slack/Teams. The privacy policy states AI processing for Indigo sends user activity data to third-party model providers and that LLM observability tools may store inputs and outputs.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
OpenAI, Anthropic
AI pricing
Not recorded

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Donut is an employee experience platform that runs inside Slack and Microsoft Teams. It automates new-hire onboarding Journeys, AI-matched introductions, watercooler prompts and peer recognition, and syncs with 50+ HRIS platforms plus Greenhouse. More than 20,000 teams use it and 64,000+ teams have added it to Slack. Pricing is usage-based: a Free plan, Standard from $74/month and Premium from $119/month billed annually; Enterprise is a flat annual fee, and security reviews are limited to Enterprise plans.

Frequently asked questions

How does Donut's pricing work?

Donut is usage-based and priced on active users in Donut channels and automations. Standard starts at $74 USD per month billed annually and Premium at $119 USD per month billed annually. A Free plan is available indefinitely, and a 14-day trial covers Standard and Premium. Enterprise plans are an annual flat fee paid upfront by ACH or wire transfer.

What does Donut integrate with?

Donut runs natively in Slack and Microsoft Teams, and connects to Google Calendar and Microsoft calendars, Zoom, Google Meet, FigJam, more than 50 HRIS platforms, and the Greenhouse ATS for new-hire start dates and manager data. Over 64,000 teams have added Donut to Slack.

Can we complete a security review before buying?

Donut points buyers to its terms of service, privacy policy and DPA, and states it cannot complete security reviews or questionnaires for Standard or Premium subscriptions — security reviews are available with Enterprise plans. No SOC 2, ISO 27001 or similar certification is claimed on the pages reviewed.

Does Donut use AI, and is our data used to train models?

Yes, Donut markets AI features: an AI agent for onboarding workflows and AI-powered smart-match introductions. Its privacy policy says inputs from integrated services are sent to third-party language model providers, currently Anthropic and OpenAI, and that LLM observability tools such as Langfuse or LangSmith may store inputs and outputs. The policy does not state whether customer data is used to train models.

How long does it take to get value?

Setup is a Slack or Microsoft Teams app install. The Free plan can run intros, watercooler prompts and celebrations right away, and prebuilt Journeys cover onboarding, mentorship and training, so most teams see first value within days. Broader rollout depends on HRIS data sync and channel configuration.

Who is Donut best for?

HR and People teams at distributed or remote companies already working in Slack or Microsoft Teams that want to automate onboarding, introductions and recognition without a heavy platform rollout. Companies on other collaboration stacks, or those needing a full HRIS or performance-management suite, should look elsewhere.