
Figma
One collaborative canvas for design, code, and AI
By Figma, Inc. · 4.5/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Product design teams that want one shared canvas for design, prototyping, critique and handoff
- Organisations running multi-brand design systems across many products and teams
- Teams that need design-to-dev handoff, with Dev Mode, Code Connect and a VS Code extension
- Companies that want AI agents working inside the same design file as their designers
- Agencies and consultancies running client work end to end, from FigJam to Figma Make
Ideal size: 10–500 people · Scale-up or enterprise with a dedicated product design function
Not for
- Teams that only need static wireframes or simple diagramming
- Buyers who require on-premise or self-hosted deployment
- Solo users who need none of the multiplayer, library or dev tooling
- Organisations that cannot standardise on a browser-based, cloud-only tool
- Teams expecting to buy Figma products individually rather than by plan and seat
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
1–2 weeks on the free plan
~14 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$4,800/yr
Starts at $0 · Per seat, per month. Starter is free; Professional is billed monthly or annually; Organization and Enterprise are billed annually. No purchase of individual products.
Implementation Friction
1/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Full, Dev and Collab seats, no stated minimum. Professional $16/$12/$3 per month; Organization $55/$25/$5; Enterprise $90/$35/$5. Viewers and commenters are free on paid plans.
Add-on costs
- AI credits: additional team-shared credits, pay-as-you-go or by subscription
- Governance+ add-on for advanced access, sharing and compliance controls, Enterprise plan only
Company & support
Who is behind Figma, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2012 · 14 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumAll plans
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Figma Learn help centre and the Figma Community Forum are open to everyone; bugs and account issues are raised with the support team through a web form.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Figma sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Figma
- Asana
- Avaza
- Tettra
- Skedda
- Paymo
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Figma. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Figma ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Figma AI spans the on-canvas agent (chat, generate and remix designs, automate busywork), Figma Make prompt-to-prototype, Weave image/vector workflows, text tools and visual search. The homepage calls the canvas 'AI-native'. Enterprise adds AI credit allocation and an AI usage analytics API; ISO 42001 certification covers the AI management system.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Only if you opt in
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Billed by usage or credits
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Basic visibility
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Figma is a browser-based collaborative design platform used by product teams to design, prototype, hand off and now generate work with AI. Plans run from a free Starter tier to Enterprise, priced per seat, with a native MCP server, REST APIs and integrations with Slack, Notion, Jira and Google Workspace. Figma says 95% of the Fortune 500 use it. Certifications include SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001/27701 and ISO 42001, and Figma is FedRAMP authorised.
Frequently asked questions
What does Figma cost for a mid-sized product team?
Figma prices per seat. Starter is free; Professional is $16/mo for a Full seat, $12 for a Dev seat and $3 for a Collab seat, billed monthly or annually; Organization is $55/$25/$5 and Enterprise $90/$35/$5, both billed annually. A 25-person Professional team on Full seats works out at roughly $4,800 a year. Viewers and commenters are free on paid plans, so stakeholders do not need seats. Extra AI credits and the Enterprise-only Governance+ add-on are charged on top.
How quickly can a team reach first value?
Faster than most enterprise software. The Starter tier is free and self-serve, so a team can be designing in a browser the same day, and most organisations reach steady production use within one to two weeks before layering on shared libraries, Dev Mode and admin controls. There is no mandatory implementation fee, and Figma states no minimum seat count.
Is Figma suitable for regulated or government buyers?
Figmas security page lists SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 3 reports, ISO 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701 and ISO 42001 certification, C5, TISAX, the EU Cloud Code of Conduct and FedRAMP authorisation. In-product controls include SAML SSO with SCIM provisioning, activity logs, link access controls, domain capture and optional EU file hosting. IP allowlisting, network restrictions and enforced 2FA sit in the Enterprise Governance+ add-on.
What AI does Figma include, and how is it billed?
AI runs through the products: an on-canvas agent for generating and remixing designs, Figma Make for prompt-to-prototype and code, Weave workflows for imagery, plus image editing, text tools and visual search. Every seat includes a monthly AI credit allotment, for example 3,000 credits on a Professional Full seat, and teams can buy additional shared credits pay-as-you-go or by subscription. The agent is free during beta.
Can Figma connect to our AI agents and internal tooling?
Yes. Figma ships its own MCP server so AI agents can read, reference and act on design context, plus featured and custom MCP connectors for the Figma agent and Make. There are REST APIs, a variables API, Library Analytics and AI usage APIs, webhooks, plugins and widgets, and integrations with Slack, Notion, Jira and Google Workspace.
Does Figma train AI models on our content?
Figma's privacy policy says Customer Content is used to train AI models only if 'Content Training' is toggled on within your administrative user settings, and that Figma prohibits AI service providers from using inputs and outputs to train or fine-tune models. Admins manage the setting, and ISO 42001 certification covers the AI management system.