
Zoom Workplace
Bridge the gap between talking and doing with the AI-first work platform built for you.
By Zoom Communications, Inc. · HQ San Jose, United States · 4.4/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Organizations consolidating meetings, chat, phone, webinars and whiteboards onto one UCaaS platform
- Hybrid and distributed teams that need dependable video plus AI meeting summaries and note-taking
- Sales and customer-experience teams using AI for call summaries, coaching and follow-up drafting
- IT teams that require SSO/SAML, DLP, archiving APIs, regional data centers and admin controls
- SMBs that want a free Basic tier and per-user paid plans with no mandatory implementation fee
Ideal size: 10–10,000+ employees people · Any stage; strongest fit for scale-ups and enterprises consolidating communications
Not for
- Buyers looking to replace Microsoft 365 or Google Workspace end to end with a single productivity suite
- Organizations that require on-premises-only or air-gapped deployment for all workloads
- Teams whose primary need is a CRM, PSA or ERP rather than communication and collaboration
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
1–7 days self-serve
~7 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$22,000/yr
Starts at $0 · Per-user subscription billed monthly or annually; free Basic tier; paid plans from $14.16/user/month billed annually
Implementation Friction
1/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Licensed per host or user; each person who schedules meetings needs a license, participants join free
Add-on costs
- Enterprise add-ons: customer managed key, hybrid cloud and contact management network (priced on request)
- Zoom Compliance Manager is a paid option on Enterprise
- Large Meeting add-on raises participant capacity up to 1,000 (priced on request)
- AI Productivity Suite and ZoomMate are add-on licenses that include monthly AI credit allowances
Company & support
Who is behind Zoom Workplace, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2011 · 15 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- San Jose, United States
How you get support
- PhonePlan not stated
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatPaid plans
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumAll plans
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
Knowledge Base and Zoom Community are available on all plans; live chat support requires a subscription over $10/month and live phone support over $200/month. 24x7 live chat and phone support is listed for Zoom Phone on Enterprise. No response-time SLA is published.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Zoom Workplace sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Zoom Workplace
- Slack
- Mural
- Cal.com
- Knack
- Scribe
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Zoom Workplace. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What Zoom Workplace ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
AI Companion is described as a generative AI assistant built into Zoom Workplace. Paid plans list unlimited meeting summaries, AI note-taking, in-meeting questions, agentic search over Microsoft/Google sources, basic workflows, and AI writing and analysis in Canvas, Paper, Sheets and Slides. ZoomMate adds agentic task completion and 2,200 AI credits per user per month.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Included in the plan
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Zoom Workplace is Zoom Communications' AI-first collaboration platform, combining Meetings, Team Chat, Phone, Mail & Calendar, Whiteboard, Clips and the AI Productivity Suite in one subscription. Paid plans start at $14.16 per user/month billed annually, with a free Basic tier. AI Companion adds meeting summaries, note-taking, agentic search and AI document creation. It integrates with Microsoft 365, Google, Salesforce, HubSpot and ServiceNow, and holds SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR and HIPAA compliance programs.
Frequently asked questions
What does a Zoom Workplace license cost and what is included?
Basic is free: 40-minute meetings, 100 participants and limited AI. Pro is $14.16/user/month billed annually ($16.99 monthly); Business is $18.33/user/month billed annually ($21.99 monthly); Enterprise is quoted. Licenses are per host and participants join free. Chat, mail and calendar clients, whiteboard, clips and AI features are bundled into plans, while Large Meeting, Customer Managed Key, Hybrid Cloud and Zoom Compliance Manager are extras.
How quickly can we reach first value?
A team can sign up for free and host meetings the same day, and paid plans are self-serve. Broader rollouts add SSO/SAML, managed domains, device management and policy work, and Zoom Phone migrations (number porting, IVR, call queues) typically take weeks. Zoom publishes no mandatory implementation fee.
Which compliance certifications does Zoom hold?
The compliance page lists ISO 27001, ISO 27017/27018, ISO 27701, SOC 2 Type 2, SOC 2 + HITRUST, CSA STAR Level 2, PCI DSS, BSI C5 and several national schemes. Zoom for Government holds FedRAMP Moderate, and Zoom publishes HIPAA and GDPR guidance for customers. Certificates and attestations are available in the Trust Center.
Is the AI included or does it cost extra?
AI Companion features sit inside every plan, including free Basic (3 meeting summaries, 3 note-taking uses, 20 AI queries per month) and unlimited summaries, agentic search and workflows on Pro and above. The AI Productivity Suite and ZoomMate are separate add-on licenses that include monthly AI credit allowances of 1,000 and 2,200 credits per user, and Zoom states unlimited credits are currently offered on a promotional basis.
Can Zoom Workplace replace our phone system?
Zoom Phone is part of the platform and Enterprise adds a full-featured PBX: unlimited internal calling, metered or unlimited outbound calling, number porting and DIDs, auto attendants, ACD queues, call recording, voicemail transcription, emergency calling and 24x7 live chat and phone support. Lower plans offer VoIP calling rather than full PBX capability.