Motion
AI-powered all-in-one work platform that automatically plans your day, projects, docs and meetings
By Motion · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Individuals and teams from 1 to 1,000+ who want tasks, projects, docs and calendar planned automatically
- Teams consolidating a task manager, project manager, calendar, docs and notetaker into one platform
- Managers who want project status, capacity and project ETA visibility without chasing updates
- Organisations standardising on an AI-first productivity stack with SOC 2 Type II assurance
Ideal size: 1–1,000+ people · Startup to mid-market teams consolidating work tools onto one AI platform
Not for
- Teams that want manual, spreadsheet-style planning with no automatic rescheduling
- Buyers requiring EU-only data residency or HIPAA / FedRAMP commitments
- Enterprises needing custom security questionnaires outside an active enterprise deal
- Buyers wanting a deeply customisable PM tool with on-premise deployment
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
1–3 days (2-minute setup, free trial)
~2 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$8,700/yr
Starts at $228 · Per seat, per month; annual billing saves 33%. Pro AI $19/seat/mo, Business AI $29/seat/mo
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Sold per seat, no published minimum; one person to 1,000+ users
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind Motion, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatPlan not stated
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Support aims to resolve questions within 24–48 hours; times vary with volume.
Self-serve help centre plus in-product support chat; Business AI plan adds priority support.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Motion sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Motion
- SavvyCal
- TripLog
- Canopy
- Docusign
- TalentLMS
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Motion. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Motion ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Vendor describes AI task planning and prioritisation, AI project creation and status updates, AI docs drafting and proofreading, AI meeting notes with action items, AI workflow building from SOPs, AI search and BI/ETA forecasting.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Never trains on your data
- Runs on
- OpenAI, Anthropic
- AI pricing
- Included in the plan
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Vendor's key
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Motion is an AI-first work platform combining tasks, projects, docs, calendar, meeting notes and scheduling. Its AI task planner and calendar assistant build and continuously re-optimise each person's day, while AI project management, workflow building and dashboards give managers capacity and project-ETA visibility. Motion serves individuals through 1,000-person teams, is self-serve with a free trial, prices plans at $19-$29 per seat per month, offers native Google and Microsoft integrations plus an API, and states SOC 2 Type II compliance.
Frequently asked questions
How long does it take to get Motion running for a team?
Motion is self-serve with a free trial and a two-minute onboarding path in its help centre, so individuals can be scheduled within minutes. Teams typically connect Google or Microsoft calendars and email, invite members, then tune permissions and AI credits on the Business AI plan. No implementation fee is published.
What does Motion cost, and are AI features extra?
Published plans are Pro AI at $19 per seat per month and Business AI at $29 per seat per month, with 33% off when billed annually. The vendor states that cutting-edge models from OpenAI, Anthropic and other labs are fully covered as part of the subscription, and each plan includes monthly AI credits (7,500 on Pro AI, 15,000 on Business AI).
Is Motion secure enough for enterprise data?
Motion states that NexusBird, Inc. (dba Motion) completed a SOC 2 Type II audit by Prescient Assurance, that data is encrypted in transit and at rest, and that it is hosted on Google Cloud in the United States. The security page states Motion does not train AI models on customer data and that its LLM providers do not train on customer inputs or outputs. Note that data is not stored in the EU and custom security questionnaires are only available during active enterprise discussions.
Does Motion replace our existing project management, docs and notetaking tools?
Motion positions itself as one platform covering tasks, projects, docs and wikis, meeting notes, calendar scheduling, workflows and dashboards, replacing several point tools. It lists native integrations with Google Calendar, Gmail, Outlook 365, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, Zoom, iCloud, Siri and Zapier, and states data can pass to HubSpot, Salesforce and Slack. A public API is available for custom connections.
What support channels does Motion offer?
Motion provides a self-serve help centre with AI-assisted search, email support and in-product support chat with human agents. Its contact page says the team aims to resolve questions within 24-48 hours, although handling times vary with volume. Priority support is listed as a feature of the Business AI plan.