Pope Tech
Web accessibility testing, training and reporting platform powered by the WAVE engine
By Pope Tech · HQ Providence, US · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Higher-ed and K-12 teams managing website and Canvas LMS accessibility
- Organizations facing ADA Title II and WCAG compliance deadlines
- Marketing and web content teams needing unlimited-user scanning and reporting
- Agencies and resellers delivering accessibility services to clients
- Teams that want built-in training, manual-testing tracking and an AIM score
Ideal size: 5–500+ (unlimited users on paid plans) people · Any size; strong fit for regulated institutions or enterprises with an accessibility program
Not for
- Native mobile app accessibility testing (the platform covers websites and Canvas courses)
- Teams needing PDF, document and video remediation today — PDF scanning is still beta
- Buyers who want a fully self-serve enterprise checkout with public pricing at million-page scale
- Organizations not using Canvas that want LMS-native instructor tooling
- Companies wanting only automated scanning with no training or manual-testing workflow
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
1–2 weeks (free scan in minutes)
~14 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$2,700/yr
Starts at $300 · Per page tier, billed monthly or annually; unlimited users, websites, groups and rescans within the tier
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Free 25-page tier; paid page tiers from 50 to 500+ pages; unlimited users on all paid plans
Add-on costs
- PDF scanning optional add-on (Beta)
- Additional training seats beyond the 5 included in Professional
- Additional AIM Score assessments by WebAIM
- Additional self-paced document training seats
Company & support
Who is behind Pope Tech, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2014 · 12 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Providence, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailAll plans
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Free plan includes email support and the Help Center; Business Plus adds Zoom support and an annual accessibility consultation; Professional adds an Accessibility Help Desk and training.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Pope Tech sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Pope Tech
- Certemy
- Quaderno
- SEON
- Veriff
- Automox
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Pope Tech. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Pope Tech ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Pope Tech is a web accessibility platform powered by the WAVE testing engine. It combines automated scanning, guided manual testing, an AIM score, training and help-desk support, with unlimited users and rescans inside each page tier. A separate product embeds accessibility dashboards and instructor guidance directly inside Canvas LMS. There is a free 25-page plan; paid page tiers start at $25/mo billed annually. It sells chiefly to higher ed, government, banks, ecommerce teams and agencies managing WCAG and ADA Title II exposure.
Frequently asked questions
What does Pope Tech cost?
There is a free forever plan covering a 25-page tier, 2 users, 1 website and 1 group. Team page tiers start at $25/month for the 50-page tier billed annually ($30/month monthly), Business Plus starts at $225/month for the 500-page tier billed annually, and Professional starts at $400/month for the 500-page tier. All paid plans include unlimited users, websites, groups and rescans within the tier. Enterprise, custom, reseller and agency plans are quoted on request, and you can pay by credit card, ACH, check or wire.
How quickly can we get value from Pope Tech?
The vendor says you can get accessibility data in just a few minutes through a simple interface, and the free plan scans up to 25 pages each month with no credit card required. Business Plus includes onboarding assistance and training plus your first AIM score, which combines automated and manual testing results. In practice most teams are running scheduled scans and receiving monthly automated reports within the first couple of weeks.
Does Pope Tech integrate with our existing stack?
Pope Tech for Websites offers a developer API, JIRA, Asana and email task and ticketing, GitHub and Bitbucket CI/CD, single sign-on, bulk uploads, templates and regions, and a YouTube integration for caption detection. Scanning behind login is available from Business Plus upward, and multi-website and group dashboards come with all paid plans. Pope Tech for Courses is integrated directly inside Canvas LMS for course content.
What support and training is included?
The free plan includes email support and the Help Center knowledge base, and customers can raise a ticket inside the platform. Paid plans add group dashboards and reports. Business Plus adds Zoom support and an annual accessibility consultation. Professional adds an Accessibility Help Desk staffed by accessibility specialists, five training seats, a WebAIM four-hour training, four webinars or open office hours and an annual AIM Score by WebAIM.
Is Pope Tech a fit for ADA Title II compliance work?
Pope Tech positions accessibility as both a human right and a legal obligation, and runs a webinar on preparing for the ADA Title II new rule that begins taking effect in April 2026. The platform combines automated testing with guided, scheduled and tracked manual testing, and rolls both into an AIM score so teams can benchmark and show progress over time. It does not itself certify compliance, and PDF scanning plus video and document dashboards were still listed as beta or coming soon.